06/24 Furball, AMPS=230, PMPS=375

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73729

I think I remember reading somewhere that sometimes a cat will bounce if the dose is too high and that high numbers from bounces can cause confusion making one think the dose needs to be increased. Looking at Furball's data for the last couple of weeks, I am wondering if that could be the case with her. With the SLGS Protocol, a nadir of below 90 calls for a dose decrease. Furball has hit that a couple of times recently, but I have not decreased due to her high bounces. Does anyone have an information that will help me figure this out? Thanks.

I decreased Furball's dose to 0.75 this morning because she hit 63 last night. I don't know if she needs the decrease or she should stay on the one unit. The new vet said the 1 unit is fine, but she also said keeping a cat in the 200s is good. She seemed to understand how Lantus works, but isn't trying for OTJ.
 
Re: 06/24 Furball, AMPS=230 Dose Questions

A bounce doesn't indicate that a dose is too high. There are forums on FDMB who do interpret bounces that way but to be honest, I don't see it when I look at a SS and it's not my experience that subsequently lowering the dose in the presence of a bounce results in numbers improving. What a bounce tells you is that either the cat's BG numbers dropped quickly or the numbers dropped into lower ranges than the cat is used to. As a result, the liver panics. Increasing or decreasing is based on what the protocol specifies.

Given SLGS, giving Furball a reduction makes sense. Like with any protocol, just be attentive to the numbers and if it looks like the reduction isn't holding, return to your last good dose.
 
I am going to keep Furball on the 0.75 units for a couple of days and see how she does. If it doesn't work, I'll go back to the 1.0 units. Thanks for the advice Sienne.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top