carfurby (GA)
Member since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=73729
I think I remember reading somewhere that sometimes a cat will bounce if the dose is too high and that high numbers from bounces can cause confusion making one think the dose needs to be increased. Looking at Furball's data for the last couple of weeks, I am wondering if that could be the case with her. With the SLGS Protocol, a nadir of below 90 calls for a dose decrease. Furball has hit that a couple of times recently, but I have not decreased due to her high bounces. Does anyone have an information that will help me figure this out? Thanks.
I decreased Furball's dose to 0.75 this morning because she hit 63 last night. I don't know if she needs the decrease or she should stay on the one unit. The new vet said the 1 unit is fine, but she also said keeping a cat in the 200s is good. She seemed to understand how Lantus works, but isn't trying for OTJ.
I think I remember reading somewhere that sometimes a cat will bounce if the dose is too high and that high numbers from bounces can cause confusion making one think the dose needs to be increased. Looking at Furball's data for the last couple of weeks, I am wondering if that could be the case with her. With the SLGS Protocol, a nadir of below 90 calls for a dose decrease. Furball has hit that a couple of times recently, but I have not decreased due to her high bounces. Does anyone have an information that will help me figure this out? Thanks.
I decreased Furball's dose to 0.75 this morning because she hit 63 last night. I don't know if she needs the decrease or she should stay on the one unit. The new vet said the 1 unit is fine, but she also said keeping a cat in the 200s is good. She seemed to understand how Lantus works, but isn't trying for OTJ.