06/17 Abbott AMPS 305 +2 414 +5 373 --?

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 4.31.33 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-17 at 4.31.33 PM.png
    563.5 KB · Views: 131
I’m central standard, shoot at 8. 2.5 hrs from now. If I get an active cycle would I want to test every hour? Or every two hours? I get that every active cycle at this point is a hypo concern correct?
 
were you suggesting I drop the dose tonight because of the bounce?
Nope, just that SLGS says to start at 0.5 if on an all low carb diet. A bounce is not a reason to drop the dose. Bounces just happen. They annoy the humans, but are a very natural and common (might even say universal) thing that newly diagnosed cats do. It'd just telling you his body isn't used to normal blood sugar numbers right now. Once he sees more of them (with a good insulin dose), the bouncing will ease off.
 
If I get an active cycle would I want to test every hour? Or every two hours? I get that every active cycle at this point is a hypo concern correct?
Start with a +2 test. If it's quite a bit lower than the preshot, then for many cats that means a more active cycle that needs more monitoring. If higher, go to sleep. If about the same, then a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. I moved to every hour testing as things got close to 100, but also depending on the rate of dropping. Cats don't drop at a consistent rate, but it'll give you a general idea.
 
I’m central standard, shoot at 8. 2.5 hrs from now. If I get an active cycle would I want to test every hour? Or every two hours? I get that every active cycle at this point is a hypo concern correct?
Just sit tight and get the +2 and make decisions based upon that number.
 
Even though you don't like the half unit marking syringes ,until you get the ones I suggested , before drawing out the insulin get the plunger and go I up and down with it a few times to loosen it up. The 0.5 isn't hard to do. Are you going to get the ones I suggested?
49823063143_3437e9e997_o.jpg
 
Diane is right. Move the plunger up and down a few times to spread the lubricant around that is inside the syringe - before you insert it into the pen to draw the dose. Never draw insulin out of the pen and into the syringe and reinject it back into the syringe because of the lubricant. Any excess insulin should be expelled from the syringe into the trash, sink, paper towel, etc.
 
Diane is right. Move the plunger up and down a few times to spread the lubricant around that is inside the syringe - before you insert it into the pen to draw the dose. Never draw insulin out of the pen and into the syringe and reinject it back into the syringe because of the lubricant. Any excess insulin should be expelled from the syringe into the trash, sink, paper towel, etc.
Thanks Suzanne, couldn't think of the word lubricant :cat:
 
Diane is right. Move the plunger up and down a few times to spread the lubricant around that is inside the syringe - before you insert it into the pen to draw the dose. Never draw insulin out of the pen and into the syringe and reinject it back into the syringe because of the lubricant. Any excess insulin should be expelled from the syringe into the trash, sink, paper towel, etc.

Thanks everyone, I was napping. PMPS drop to 238, weird. Shot 30 min late at 8:30. T minus 1 hr and 15 minutes until +2. (:

Yes, I had watched the syringe videos off the sticky early on and tried moving the plunger up and down to spread the lubricant, etc. It was not helping with the BD syringes. Did a FDMB search and discovered that a lot of members have this issue with the BD syringes, BUT :smuggrin: I THINK i figured it out. What I did tonight was pull the plunger all the way back as usual and move back and forth, but here's the new trick: Then, push the plunger all the way in and twist it several times and move it just slightly up and down. This seems to lubricate the area between Zero and 1 much better. I was able to get .5 much easier this time and gave a true .5 shot. :bighug:
Maybe this will help someone with the BD syringes. It's still not perfect but much better than before.
 
Ok, just tested +2.
Abbott ate all his food in one go. I don't know how much this affects levels at +2 but thought I'd let you all know. I am not able to break up meals. It's to the point where I can't AMPS/PMPS without doing it while he is eating. He gets way too crazy at meal time and won't let me test or shoot unless he is gobbling down his din-din, total gavone :)

PMPS 238
+2 at 288

looks like bounce hasn't cleared?

The very first shot yesterday was in the scruff, last two shots were in the side of chest (shaved)
Possible that absorption could be slower here because ECID? It's supposed to be faster in abdomen area...
 
Last edited:
Waiting for this morning's preshot number. We will see. I hope you were able to catch up on some sleep last night. Take it while you can get it!
 
I did finally get some sleep. Hope you did too!
AMPS 372

did you see my questions about about absorption?
I think maybe I just won’t test today or maybe test at +3, and watch for any hypo symptoms. I could do a spot check at +3. I just don’t see what all the test data will be telling me here in the first week before I get a curve and before depot fills up.
 
I did finally get some sleep. Hope you did too!
AMPS 372

did you see my questions about about absorption?
I think maybe I just won’t test today or maybe test at +3, and watch for any hypo symptoms. I could do a spot check at +3. I just don’t see what all the test data will be telling me here in the first week before I get a curve and before depot fills up.
A spot check at +3 would be good. If it's still high you can wait a while before next test. I don't know that I'd give up on all testing until PMPS.

I always shot in the scruff. I do know a couple of people who swear by injecting the flank. A lot of it probably depends on what your cat will tolerate. Make sure that, wherever you do it that you can get a good amount of raised skin to shoot into that "tent" of skin.
 
Have you heard of anyone injecting in side of chest spot and not getting good absorption?

also let me know if you have any questions about the EZ complete. I can send over pics of the cooking and storing process also.
 
It's quite expected that bounces will take longer to clear when a cat first starts insulin.

As for absorption, I don't think that's the issue. It's bouncing. I shot below shoulders most of the time. A couple times I shot flank. I didn't notice a difference except that Neko didn't like it.

A small housekeeping note. Due to length of posts, we request 1 new post a day.
POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ
 
Have you heard of anyone injecting in side of chest spot and not getting good absorption?

also let me know if you have any questions about the EZ complete. I can send over pics of the cooking and storing process also.
I would like to know about how you cook the meat (the turkey?)
 
sure! I buy 3lb ground turkey 85%, total 9 lbs.
Then I halve that amount out into two big 4.8 qt glass baking dishes
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000JGDND6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20

add 1/2 cup water to each dish.
Bake in oven at 350 for about 20-30 min.
...actually more like 1 cup water per dish. basically you don't want it swimming in water but you want it bout half full.
you include the water or "drippings" when you store the portions. FFL is very clear about that.
https://www.foodfurlife.com/how-to-prepare-and-feed-ezcomplete-fur-cats.html#/
 
containers stack up nice in freezer. pic attached

that's a month's supply for two cats, fits on one shelf!

...other pic is one half of a 10lb smithfield pork loin, bit too much water in there, early pic.
..and pic of powder mixed in at feeding time
 

Attachments

  • Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.14.35 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.14.35 PM.png
    460 KB · Views: 130
  • Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.18.17 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.18.17 PM.png
    459 KB · Views: 144
  • Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.21.34 PM.png
    Screen Shot 2022-06-18 at 11.21.34 PM.png
    535.6 KB · Views: 137
Last edited:
Back
Top