06/11 Kitty PMPS 74 +3.5 67

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Last thread (06/09): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-09-kitty-pmps-85-1-85-2-67-3-64-4-67.264393/

One FD observation. Kitty has been in largely normal numbers for a week. With TR, you can reduce the dose if a cat's numbers are mostly below 120 for a week.

@Sienne and Gabby (GA) I didn't want to take over the other thread, so I quoted you here. Doesn't the protocol state that its below 100 for a week, not 120? Here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-low-go-slow-slgs-tight-regulation-tr.210110/

Under reducing the dose, it states:
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
 
We've generally considered 50 - 120 normal range. If you want to hold off, that's fine. However, if you're not already doing so, I would suggest giving Kitty a snack at around +8 or +9. A timed feeder might be useful. If you look at Kitty's cycles, it's largely the AMPS that is over 100 (and some of the late PM tests). Those numbers drop by +2. It is likely that food is stimulating Kitty's pancreas to produce insulin so a snack prior to +10 may help to bring the AMPS number down.
 
The AMPS values are frequently the last to fall into line. It's called "dawn phenomenon." In order to prepare for the stress of the day, the body releases stress hormones (corticosteroids) and, as a result, BG levels rise. Given that you've done some testing late in the PM cycle, you can see the rise in numbers from late in the cycle to AMPS and then numbers are coming down.
 
Back
Top