Corey & Kitty
Member Since 2022
Last thread (06/04): https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-04-kitty-amps-101.264149/
Hi everyone,
I haven't posted in several days because things have been pretty uneventful. However, tonight I had something interesting happen.
I checked her BG at +11 and it was 101, then at PMPS it was 85. Here's what I think happened. Her feeder gives her a small snack at +8 which has been helping to lower her preshot numbers when she eats it. Sometimes she eats it right away or by +8.5, or other times she doesn't eat it at all. The feeder is set to close at +10, so she has from +8 to +10 to eat that snack. Tonight I noticed she waited to eat the snack until around +9.5, just before it was set to close. I don't think she's ever eaten that snack that late. So what I think happened was that the food gave her a bump and didn't stimulate her pancreas until after I took the +11 BG reading, and then by PMPS her pancreas had kicked in to lower the food bump from that small snack which she ate at +9.5.
I know I've read not to shoot a dropping number, but I figured this is what happened and it would be okay, so I gave the full dose. I'm going to keep an eye on her BG over the next few hours. Do you think I am correct in what happened and was it okay for me to give the full dose in this scenario?
Hi everyone,
I haven't posted in several days because things have been pretty uneventful. However, tonight I had something interesting happen.
I checked her BG at +11 and it was 101, then at PMPS it was 85. Here's what I think happened. Her feeder gives her a small snack at +8 which has been helping to lower her preshot numbers when she eats it. Sometimes she eats it right away or by +8.5, or other times she doesn't eat it at all. The feeder is set to close at +10, so she has from +8 to +10 to eat that snack. Tonight I noticed she waited to eat the snack until around +9.5, just before it was set to close. I don't think she's ever eaten that snack that late. So what I think happened was that the food gave her a bump and didn't stimulate her pancreas until after I took the +11 BG reading, and then by PMPS her pancreas had kicked in to lower the food bump from that small snack which she ate at +9.5.
I know I've read not to shoot a dropping number, but I figured this is what happened and it would be okay, so I gave the full dose. I'm going to keep an eye on her BG over the next few hours. Do you think I am correct in what happened and was it okay for me to give the full dose in this scenario?
