06/09 Kitty PMPS 85 +1 85 +2 67 +3 64 +4 67

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Last thread (06/04): https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-04-kitty-amps-101.264149/

Hi everyone,

I haven't posted in several days because things have been pretty uneventful. However, tonight I had something interesting happen.

I checked her BG at +11 and it was 101, then at PMPS it was 85. Here's what I think happened. Her feeder gives her a small snack at +8 which has been helping to lower her preshot numbers when she eats it. Sometimes she eats it right away or by +8.5, or other times she doesn't eat it at all. The feeder is set to close at +10, so she has from +8 to +10 to eat that snack. Tonight I noticed she waited to eat the snack until around +9.5, just before it was set to close. I don't think she's ever eaten that snack that late. So what I think happened was that the food gave her a bump and didn't stimulate her pancreas until after I took the +11 BG reading, and then by PMPS her pancreas had kicked in to lower the food bump from that small snack which she ate at +9.5.

I know I've read not to shoot a dropping number, but I figured this is what happened and it would be okay, so I gave the full dose. I'm going to keep an eye on her BG over the next few hours. Do you think I am correct in what happened and was it okay for me to give the full dose in this scenario?
 
It looks like she hit nadir early today, that's the more important piece (not shooting a number that's possibly heading into nadir). If it were me I probably would have waited maybe 10 mins and retested but no harm no foul. Chances are it's just meter variance between the two.
 
I know I've read not to shoot a dropping number
Actually, that's one of those myths that should go away, especially for people with any experience. Start reading post 6 here: Protocols: Myths Debunked

It's also possible what you saw was a Lantus double dip, where they do a small downward curve after the main one but not as low. Perfectly fine to shoot then. And look at how great this PM cycle is. :D
 
Actually, that's one of those myths that should go away, especially for people with any experience.
Okay thanks, maybe that was something that I carried over from when she was on Novolin N. Does this mean I can stop the BG test at +10 to +11 since I was getting that number for the purpose of determining whether she was dropping/rising/staying flat before shot time?
 
Back
Top