06/06 Jax PMPS 125 (12 HR Curve)

Nick&Jax

Member
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/06-01-jax-pmps-166-2-118.290688/


Hello everyone! This is Jax’s first 12 hr glucose curve since I dropped to 1.5u.
I gotta say I’m pretty impressed at his numbers throughout the day today. Hopefully everything is looking good from your guys eyes as well. As you can see tonight with his PMPS being 125, I decided to only give him 1u. I added a couple high carb treats after his shot just incase. And will be testing one more time before bed. Did I make the right decision there?
Now as far as SLGS goes, this data means I need to decrease the dose? Or am I moving too fast? And to 1.25u or to 1u? Not sure how to measure 1.25u on the syringe but I can do the research and make sure I do it correctly.

Also, Jax was eating a whopping 1 cup of kibble a day. And he’s slowed down quite a bit. I don’t have exact measurements on how much he eats a day but it isn’t 1 cup anymore. He still eats and goes to the bathroom like normal. But not as much as he was before. Is this something I should worry about? Once again a bunch of newbie questions.
Hope everyone is having a fantastic day/evening!
 
Is he still eating the DM kibble or has he been fully transitioned to Dr. Elsey's? We've seen cats go into remission once HC kibble is removed. Paws crossed! :-)

With SLGS, every drop below 90 is a reduction in dose by 0.25U. Here's a pic of how to measure 0.25U. That would be half way between a full unit and half unit mark.
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



Excessive hunger, thirst and urination are symptoms of high blood sugar. Once a cat starts spending more time in lower numbers, you will see a reduction in the symptoms, so it's normal and not anything to worry about!
 
Is he still eating the DM kibble or has he been fully transitioned to Dr. Elsey's? We've seen cats go into remission once HC kibble is removed. Paws crossed! :)

With SLGS, every drop below 90 is a reduction in dose by 0.25U. Here's a pic of how to measure 0.25U. That would be half way between a full unit and half unit mark.
49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



Excessive hunger, thirst and urination are symptoms of high blood sugar. Once a cat starts spending more time in lower numbers, you will see a reduction in the symptoms, so it's normal and not anything to worry about!


Oh man reading all of that makes me feel so much better.
And he is still transitioning to the Dr Elseys kibble. But it is 75% Dr Elseys and 25% Purina DM. So nearing the end of the transition.
Oh my gosh paws crossed for sure! That would be amazing. I’ve even noticed a difference in his attitude and well being. He’s been more chipper and he’s back to having his random zoomies around the house.
Which always makes me happy hearing him run around and play. He hasn’t done that in weeks. Well months now.

Thank you so much for that picture. That helps so much. So if every drop below 90 means a decrease, does that mean even if it is one single test or even a AMPS/PMPS is below 90 I should drop it again? Should I have lowered it to 1.25u sooner?

And that makes so much sense. All those months he was eating that much he had such high numbers and I probably didn’t even realize it.

Thank you again!
 
So if every drop below 90 means a decrease, does that mean even if it is one single test or even a AMPS/PMPS is below 90 I should drop it again? Should I have lowered it to 1.25u sooner?
Yes. If he drops below 90 in a cycle (whether that is mid-cycle or at preshot), you would reduce the dose by 0.25U from the next cycle.
 
Yes. If he drops below 90 in a cycle (whether that is mid-cycle or at preshot), you would reduce the dose by 0.25U from the next cycle.


Okay I will remember that. Thank you! And then I would keep it at that dose? Or do I increase .25u when he’s above 90? Just slightly confused. It’s taking me a minute to catch on but I will!
 
Yes. you hold the dose for a week unless he drops below 90 and earns a reduction in which case you would reduce again.
Feel free to ask as many questions as you want. FD is confusing!
 
Yes. you hold the dose for a week unless he drops below 90 and earns a reduction in which case you would reduce again.
Feel free to ask as many questions as you want. FD is confusing!


Perfect! That makes complete sense. I will start him on 1.25u in the morning and go from there.
Thank you again!
 
Stay with 1U. I see he dropped to 64 last night. I think he might go lower in dosing with the removal of kibble.


Oops. I just saw this. And I gave him 1.25 this morning with his AMPS of 122. I should have checked here before giving his dose. But I will correct that on next cycle tonight and will go back to 1u. Thank you for letting me know!
 
Back
Top