05/27 Merlin PMPS 24.4(439), 21.7(391)@+1,17.0(306)@+2,17.9(322)@+3

John and I made this worksheet that I can share on Google sheets as a blank, if that would be helpful to anyone. I find it easier to write the actual times in human terms first, and then translate it into the spreadsheet.
upload_2022-5-27_14-11-14.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-27_14-11-14.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-27_14-11-14.jpeg
    50.6 KB · Views: 337
I would like to see him go down some, too.

Your challenge for the next few cycles- assuming things stay pretty consistent- is to perhaps feed a little less or a little less frequently. Whatever works. Are you feeling a little better about things now? See how you are in control.
 
I would like to see him go down some, too.

Your challenge for the next few cycles- assuming things stay pretty consistent- is to perhaps feed a little less or a little less frequently. Whatever works. Are you feeling a little better about things now? See how you are in control.
Yes. I am feeling a whole lot better. But I think its to do with the teensy size dose. It feels doable now. Plus the feeding must help a lot. Will we try not feeding so often tonight, you think? Or will we keep it kind of the same for tonight?
 
I had a handwritten list last night of all the BG readings and which meter they were coming from, etc. much easier for me to see what was going on and what we needed to do. Of course, I wrote mine into US units so I could apprehend it at a glance.
 
I would like to see him go down some, too.

Your challenge for the next few cycles- assuming things stay pretty consistent- is to perhaps feed a little less or a little less frequently. Whatever works. Are you feeling a little better about things now? See how you are in control.
I agree. Let’s see where this cycle goes and then, next time, if you are feeling confident, you might like to feed maybe just under a teaspoon each time (as you did this cycle) and see how that goes. There is no rush but the sooner he gets into lower BGs the better.
 
I am surprised. Maybe he will drop next test a bit more.
I think for the next cycle I would try some lower carb food. I think the carbs were 8.5% this cycle.
I would try some around 3 or 4% carbs and see if we can extend the duration of the insulin.
So should I feed him some LC now or wait til after next test?
 
It will be challenging feeding him lower carb so often. I cant find an lc pate in the grocery stores. All the lc foods we have are chunky and he just likes to lick the jelly off. I tried to change them into pates in the food processor, but he and the other two cats practically ran away from that. I need to shop in more pet stores.
 
It will be challenging feeding him lower carb so often. I cant find an lc pate in the grocery stores. All the lc foods we have are chunky and he just likes to lick the jelly off. I tried to change them into pates in the food processor, but he and the other two cats practically ran away from that. I need to shop in more pet stores.
They don’t sell the Fancy Feast classic pates there?
 
They don’t sell the Fancy Feast classic pates there?
No!! When we moved here, I had the WORST time finding an equivalent to FF. My weegie tortie was starving herself because there was no FF and the food here is so yucky. I finally discovered Purina Gourmet which has THE SAME WHITE CAT on the label, and she loved that…for a while. But the flavors are limited and its more cuby. She tolerated it (mostly licking up the gravy) and then they changed the recipe when they changed the label on the box. Same words, diffent label, different flavor. Merlin and Opal were willing to be more flexible, but Ooona has been on a hunger strike since then. She will have a bit of Savoury Cake (also Purina) and some of these Gourmet Petit things with the white cat, but she misses her FF. They all do. All those lovely flavors. Merlin and Opal take turns being picky. It was challenging BEFORE diabetes. Now it’s even worse because, apparently, LC foods are even less yummy. And either cuby or shreddy or chunky. Ya cant win with this ‘foreign food.’
 
No!! When we moved here, I had the WORST time finding an equivalent to FF. My weegie tortie was starving herself because there was no FF and the food here is so yucky. I finally discovered Purina Gourmet which has THE SAME WHITE CAT on the label, and she loved that…for a while. But the flavors are limited and its more cuby. She tolerated it (mostly licking up the gravy) and then they changed the recipe when they changed the label on the box. Same words, diffent label, different flavor. Merlin and Opal were willing to be more flexible, but Ooona has been on a hunger strike since then. She will have a bit of Savoury Cake (also Purina) and some of these Gourmet Petit things with the white cat, but she misses her FF. They all do. All those lovely flavors. Merlin and Opal take turns being picky. It was challenging BEFORE diabetes. Now it’s even worse because, apparently, LC foods are even less yummy. And either cuby or shreddy or chunky. Ya cant win with this ‘foreign food.’
Oh, that’s bad. I hope Ooona isn’t losing weight.
 
But he’s good for now. You should take a nap before evening if you can (just so you can enjoy your evening). Pub forecast is looking good.
Ok. I will get a nap in. No need to test for a while? Will you be here for the 10:30 PM cycle? When’s an optimal time to give him some food… I know not for at least 2 hours before 10:30. So, maybe 6ish?
 
Also, should I write in the last Libre test on the SS even though it was on the half hour, or test in 10 mins and write that in?
 
We probably shortened the duration of the insulin by feeding that much.
I think we did. However, we actually didn’t feed him that much if you look at the chart Jill has. He had 4 teaspoons of low carb which was 8% carbs so we could lower the carb content and lessen the volume next time. Feeding the curve is always a challenge to get it right, but we have learned a lot this cycle I think.
The depot has also reduced with the lesser dose. I think the 0.25 units will be an OK dose for him.
 
Back
Top