05/26 Trey +1 77 +2 83 +4 94 ??Dose AMPS??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

I only have a minute because I have to get my own gang's dinner going....are you able to stall - not feed and retest in half an hour to see if Trey is heading up? I see you haven't shot quite this low before, so that would be the first thing I would consider doing. Remember that if you do stall, it does affect your morning schedule, too, because you have to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot tonight, so take that into consideration as well.

You could also shoot a reduced dose and stay on schedule, or you could skip. No matter what you shoot, you do want to monitor closely this evening since this would be a new lowest shot for you guys!
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

Hi Kath.

I haven't posted on your condo before, and I am not a dosing expert, but I saw your question and wanted to just check in. I'm sure someone with more experience will be along shortly. I see you haven't experienced a number this low pre-shot before. Have you read the sticky on shooting low numbers? I'd recommend it.

Can you stall and test again after 20 minutes to see if he comes up? Just remember, if you do, whatever time you shoot will be your new shot time and your next shot should be 12 hours later (although if you only have to stall 20 minutes, that's not too far off for some cats). If you do shoot, you'll want to test early and often to keep him from going too low.

If no one comes along to give you advice, here's what I'd do: Test again in 20 minutes (don't feed). If he's coming up, you can shoot. If he is the same or going down, you can stall some more, or you can skip the shot, or you can give a BCS of a reduced amount. Remember, I'm not an advice-giver, but I didn't want you to feel like you had no one looking in on you. Hopefully someone else will see your post. You might want to go back to your initial condo and click the ? icon, maybe add Shoot? in front of the ???? in your subject line to get attention.

Good luck, I'll be looking in later to see how things are going.
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

It looks like it's been a half hour since you posted. Have you tested again?

I also have to run out the door, but will wait a bit for your reply.
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ???? advice

Trey got his food so I am waiting 15 minutes will test and take it from there ...thinking I will reduce maybe so looking at 6:15 to test and shot
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

You know the food is most likely going to raise his BGs anyway. Normally, if we are going to stall to see if he is going up or down or staying the same, we don't feed so you aren't just seeing a food spike. If you are going to do a reduced dose, I would just make it a BCS (one time reduced dose), unless he earns a dosecrease tonight that is.
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

What does the +5.5 mean in your +11 column today and on the 24th? Are you saying 5:30pm maybe?
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

At least 25-30 minutes since he has eaten so gone down to 63 guess I am stalling for sure
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

I have to go. Your choices are to keep stalling (without feeding) to see if he goes up enough to where you are comfortable shooting, to shoot the full dose, to shoot a reduced dose, or to skip. If it were me and I had supplies and was going to be home tonight to monitor and test, I would either do the full dose or the BCS. You however, have never shot a green before, so I understand if you are nervous, and you might want to keep stalling if your shot time schedule is flexible enough. That would mean test again in 30 minutes (without feeding) to see where he is. I hopefully, will be back in 45 minutes.
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

If you can test at +1 and +2, and have all the supplies you need, I'd probably go ahead and shoot the regular dose..As long as you can move your schedule back in the morning to 12 hours since the time you shoot tonight

As long as you have the supplies you need if he goes too low, and can test often, you're always going to be "in control" of his blood glucose numbers although sometimes it might be more work than others to keep them above 50.

You can also do a BCS shot of less than the 1.5 if you're more comfortable doing that, but he's showing such good progress, I'd want to give him at least some insulin tonight--As long as you can move your schedule back in the morning to 12 hours since the time you shoot tonight

Or you can skip and let the depot drain a little, and then get back on your normal shot schedule in the morning.

It's really up to you at this point! Let us know what you decide!
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 ????

Hi Chris I am going to test at 7 which is an hour late but he did eat at his regular time so I will give him his dose depending on his numbers then thank you so much
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 63 PMPS 73

So after Trey ate 1 1/2 hours ago he is at 73 so gave him 1.25u instead of 1.5 ... will be giving him his shot at 7 am instead of 6am nailbite_smile nailbite_smile @-)
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 63 73

Good shooting!!

I know it's really scary those first few times you shoot low, especially when they've always been higher! You see them go from 350 to 150 in one cycle and can't help but think people are crazy when they tell you to shoot a low number....just seems wrong, doesn't it? Like if they can drop 200 points in one cycle, why wouldn't they drop 200 the next? But it doesn't work that way

When you shoot those lower numbers, they tend to be flatter cycles, so you might see a swing of 20 points in a cycle instead of 200

I'd go ahead and get at least a +1 and +2 and see what he has planned for tonight though!
 
Re: Trey PMPS 66 63 73

If the 66 was at +12 and the 63 at +12.5 and the 73 was at +13, then it would be correct to change your First Subject Line to
05/26 Trey +12 66, +12.5 63, PMPS 73 Normally, we don't want people to have two condos in one day as questions answers and concerns and support can get confused, but things happen.

I would start this cycles testing with a +1 and a +2 and a +3. You did a good job.

Tomorrow, if you want to get his shot schedule back to 6:00am and 6:00pm, you can shoot earlier by 15 minutes every cycle, or by 30 minutes once per day.
 
Re: 05/26 Trey +12 66, +12.5 63, PMPS 73 +1 77

OK did +1 and 77 excited and scary at the same time but feel better that I did only do 1.25u he is coming up very slow so I will not be surprise to see him start coming down again....Hugs and thank you so much for being here ...will get a +2 one poke at a time nailbite_smile :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 05/26 Trey +12 66, +12.5 63, PMPS 73 +1 77

At +2, try to feed him a small meal. Hopefully, that will keep him on a surf board. You do not want to feed him too much, as you may need his hunger later and you don't want his tummy to be too full.
 
Re: 05/26 Trey PMPS 73 +1 77 +2 83

good job, kath! you change the game when you shoot low! it can reduce the entire range of numbers and really flatten out the cycle. I'd test again in another hour (+3).

Cartridges are essentially the same as the pen. Some people have had them last as long as 6 months if they're kept refrigerated and don't get contaminated (develop threads or floaters or become opaque.) If the insulin is getting old-ish and you see numbers trending up, then it might be losing potency, but many people can get months out of each pen/cartridge/vial.
 
Re: 05/26 PMPS 73 +1 77 +2 83 +4 94 ? dose

+4 94 had a small meal and so think he is ok so we will be off to dream land very soon.....so special my boy is .....he understands mama only pokes his ear because it will make him feel better. o:-) cat_pet_icon I-) Thanks for all your help ....will check out here on dose for morning......only got 1.25 tonight so should I stick with that or go back to 1.5 in the morning Hugs healing green light to all furry ones ....
 
Trey had a great day today! I'd go back to 1.5U. You want to keep Trey's momentum going and have him keep seeing those healing greens. We normally don't reduce unless we see under 50 for newly diagnosed kitties and for long term diabetics the rule is once under 40 or 3 times under 50, or alternatively, one week in normal numbers.
 
I'd go back to 1.5u also, kath, assuming someone's going to be able to monitor, of course. you want these long flat cycles under 120! that healing time for Trey's pancreas. Trey's looking great!
 
You did a great job today, Kath. Shooting such low numbers is really scary, but isn't the feeling great when you see them surf safely like that? Each time you are faced with a situation like this, you will learn and you'll be more confident when Trey throws you a curve ball the next time. And trust me, he will! I hope his morning numbers are low but a little less intimidating.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top