05/17 Dude AMPS HI, +7 463, PMPS 355, +3 271

jmichaelp

Member Since 2024
AMPS is HI (600+). This food is supposed to be low carb. I gave him 0.5 unit, going to stick with that & see... The vet gave me a free consult,said he'd increase the dosage to 1 unit & leave it there until something changes over time.

All I know is that I'm failing. I had it going well a couple of days ago, it gave me joy to see him up & about so much. I was so happy he ate Dr. Elsey's cleanprotein on his own yesterday & so heartily. It was pretty even eating until I gave him Elura. I don't know if it's okay to graze like that, I read different things. Maybe I should go back to syringe-feeding.

https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...0-3-424-7-177-pmps-191-2-5-330-8-5-hi.290067/
 
Grazing is fine. Jumping to 1.0 when .50 drops the bg to 84 is dangerous. I’m glad you at least didn’t listen to that and shot .50. Cats often drop lower at night so the high numbers may be the result of that. For the safety of your cat it’s good you got some tests at last night because we can see that the high this morning is from the blue last night. It’s a bounce. Did he eat less than two hours before that test? If so it could also be food influenced.
 
Grazing is fine. Jumping to 1.0 when .50 drops the bg to 84 is dangerous. I’m glad you at least didn’t listen to that and shot .50. Cats often drop lower at night so the high numbers may be the result of that. For the safety of your cat it’s good you got some tests at last night because we can see that the high this morning is from the blue last night. It’s a bounce. Did he eat less than two hours before that test? If so it could also be food influenced.
This is what he ate. I just gave him a little when I gave the insulin in the hope he'd go eat on his own.
upload_2024-5-17_14-30-14.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-5-17_14-30-14.png
    upload_2024-5-17_14-30-14.png
    19.6 KB · Views: 132
At least he has come down a little at +7/463. Hopefully he pulls through this & I can get him back to how he was acting at the end of last weekend through mid-week.
 
Back
Top