05/16 Kitty PMPS 104 +2 82 +3 72 +4 69

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-15-kitty-pmps-138-2-111-3-81-4-64-5-65.263314/

Kitty seems to be feeling well today, although she got upset with me for cleaning her bum. Her fur is a little longer back there and when she pees I think it gets wet, and then I notice sometimes she sits down in the litter after she pees and so she ends up with clumps of litter stuck in her fur. They seem to clean off easily with a warm washcloth, but she does not like it.

I still don't understand how others get their cat's preshot numbers lower. She seems to still be having large drops, going from mid blues to mid greens. It doesn't seem like there's room for any increase to get the preshot numbers lower. Is this just something that happens over time? It seems like she had flatter cycles at higher doses when she was in the blues, she had several flat blue cycles.
 
I actually think there were too many reductions too fast due to following SLGS. I think she needs an increase to 1.25 but see what happens today and tonight with that big drop at +2 she’s clearing a bounce. Maybe she will flatten out tonight.
 
Are you feeding a little at +1 ? Big drops can lead to a bounce as well as going too low.
No, I'm not feeding anything at +1, she probably wouldn't eat it when I'm not home, its too close to the preshot meal, she eats the preshot meal and then goes to nap, I was feeding at +1.5 and +3.5 but she was not eating consistently at those times so I figured the +1.5 meal wasn't long enough from the preshot meal and she wasn't hungry yet so I started feeding a bit later, combining those two meals into one meal only at +2.5. See this thread, #8 and #9: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-14-kitty-pmps-129-2-82-3-64-4-73.263277/
It's difficult to get her to eat consistently from the feeder. Yesterday she ate as soon as it opened at +2.5 for both AM and PM cycles, but this morning she wasn't interested until I placed her in front of it at +3, at which point she ate. She just doesn't want to get up from her naps sometimes to go eat, or just simply isn't hungry.

Also, how much is "a little" at +1? He appetite seems to have decreased since diagnosis so I don't want her to get too full early on and then not want to eat around onset/nadir.
 
I already don't feed her all that much at preshot. She gets 1.5 portions of Sheba pate at preshot.
Alternatively what about feeding a little higher lc at preshot?
I'm going to try this for tonight's preshot meal. I want her cycles to be flatter before I consider increasing the dose, even if it means temporarily having flatter blue cycles and then increase slowly until she has flatter greens. According to the cat food database, the Sheba pates she eats now are 3% carb. I've been searching my local store's websites to see what they have in stock and comparing it to the cat food database. The only higher LC foods I can find in stock are in the 5-6% range. I would have liked to shoot for 7% but I can't find anything in the 7-10% range. Is 5-6% enough of an increase or do you have any ideas for other foods that are typically stocked nationally?
 
Everyone seems to be having trouble finding cat food. Have you checked Chewy.com? I’m not up on cat food these days as I feed raw.
 
Everyone seems to be having trouble finding cat food. Have you checked Chewy.com? I’m not up on cat food these days as I feed raw.
I haven't checked Chewy yet, but I'm still not sure what percentage of LC I'm looking for. I can find some 5 - 6% locally, is that high enough compared to the 3% she's been eating? Or do I need to look for something in the 7 - 9% range?

The FF she used to eat never went higher than 4.9%
 
You can also add a little mc to the lc. It’s going to be trial and error. Try the 5-6% first.

Okay, so I went to three different stores in town. The only 5-6% I could find is Friskies Pate, which according to the cat food database are slightly lower in protein and slightly higher if fat than her current food. I don't really like that but I'm willing to try it to see if it helps. I'm open to anyone's suggestions for higher carb LC foods that I can order online, preferably not too expensive because I'm already approaching my budget's ceiling for cat food. The 6% pates are all seafood, which I try not to feed her every day, the other 5% varieties I found are poultry. They all have meat by-products listed as the first or second ingredients which I'm not a huge fan of but its worth a shot for now to see if she has flatter cycles.
 
I’d try the higher carb at preshot and see what happens at +2. If dropping a lot you could feed it again. It’s still lc.
 
@tiffmaxee tagging you since you were following my thread today.

So preshot is at a nicer number tonight. Maybe she's settling into this dose now? Maybe I should skip the MC with tonight's preshot meal and see if she has a flatter cycle tonight?
 
Alright, I fed her usual preshot meal. Now regarding the auto feeder, should I keep her other meal at +2.5 or should I give it a little earlier, say maybe at +1.75? It just seems like before when I was setting the auto feeder for +1.5 sometimes she wouldn't touch it until +3. That's why I thought withholding it until +2.5 was better because the noise of the feeder would catch her attention at a later time when she is more hungry.
 
Back
Top