05/15 - Small Kitty amps : 556 +3 284 +6 248 +9 495 pmps : 491 +2 328

Status
Not open for further replies.

Photorecon

Very Active Member
Good morning all,

I followed advised and rolled back to 2.25, probably a good and conservative decision.
There is so many variables that are intervening that adjustment must be on a per hope
basis. This science has lot's of exception but better stick with the rules.

I start to be used to heavy numbers but I guess they will one day get down.

One thing I was wondering is the amazing number I got yesterday night at +4 193 !!
This is close to what we might like more often. Any meaning of this results ?

Wish you all a very good day, think I'll go back to sleep, still tired from me
yesterday's misadventure.


Yesterday numbers at 2.5 : amps : 477 +3 328 +6 272 pmps : 518 +2 320 +4 193

Sébastien
 
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-477-3-328-6-272-pmps-518-2-320-4-193.157734/

Hi Sebastien, I linked yesterday's thread so people can see what transpired yesterday. I read through and Oh my goodness , you had a rough day. So glad that you are okay because it could have turned out really bad.

Glad that you went back to the 2.25 dose because as others have said also, you only want to increase by .25 when you are seeing yellow numbers. If you go to a higher increase, you could go past the right dose and that would not do SK any good. You have all ready gotten a nice drop from this dose. Will you be able to get some test in today so we can see how low this dose takes her? All test results will be helpful.
 
Hi Bobbie, Yes, yesterday was tricky. With the beautiful I took the bike to go to the Walmart
to get my Keto meter and right when I arrived fear of having a seizure started. I'm sure I made
one as I left without picking it up... As I was quite confused I took what I thought was the right
way to go to my second job. 3 hours of bicycle riding later I had made a full circle of the city
going through different streets and luckily arrived home safe.

I went to bed lat night at midnight last night, woke-up for feeding / shooting / testing and
went straight back to bed. A little test 3h later and I was back there. This 24h. was no luxury,
I could back to the bed again but that would mess up my sleeping schedule.


SK is eating a lot and it sounds that 2.25 is not doing a bad job, 248at +6. Hope pmps will
not be mad.

I'm testing every 3h until +3, will see the results.
 
Give this dose 3 days and then evaluate it. By then the depot will have equalized and you'll be able to see what the dose can do for SK's blood sugar.
 
Thanks for the clue Julie, hope it's going to improve because he's relining now (491).
I've just prepared a new batch of raw turkey cat food recipe and he's not touching it.
This thing takes some time to prepare, muse B50, torrine, meatbone, fish oil, eggs...
name it. Then you put everything together in a robot in hope they will like it.. and
first thing you see is that they take a look and move away.

Dr. Lisa A Peirson I took the recipe from said ti be careful that food like that
could make the insulin useless the very next day... it did nothing but waist of
ingredients so far.

Fancy Fiest is another story, Small Kitty must have eat 4 of the small cans today. I was
told by a member to feed wide during the high GL cycle. Must be good I guess.

Can't wait to see how it goes this week
 
I was told that when the sugar level is at it's highest point cats are very hungry and this is when they need
food, to give them what they're asking.

Lorsque le taux de sucre est le plus élevé, nourrir ton animal sans restriction
 
By the way Julie sounds you had a beautiful cat, licking everybody all the time. Mines are not like that, the only
person they are not afraid of is me, nobody can approach them. Even me, it's when they are willing to, when they don't it's my problem, they go their way.. :( They are outside right now and sounds they like it (restrained to the mezzanine). I'm really missing the the time when thy would run outside for the entire night and eat for good at the morning before sleep time.
 
Sébastien, transitioning to raw is a long process for most cats. Not only does it taste totally different from canned foods, the texture is a lot different and cats get used to texture and can really fight any change.

That's why you'll hear a lot of cats that will only eat kibble...or only like canned foods with chunks, shreads or sauces

Just keep most of the raw you made frozen and leave just a little in the refrigerator and start with just a TINY bit mixed in with his regular canned food. Go very slowly and gradually add a little more as he gets used to it
 
I think the advice isn't exactly right. When a cat's blood sugar is high it's true that they may need more food overall, but not at the moment the cat's blood sugar is high. Feeding them a lot at the time when their blood sugar is at its highest point is likely to make it go even higher.

Here is a thread where a vet, Dr. Lisa, discusses what's happening when a kitty's blood sugar is high and addresses the question of feeding as much as the cat wants.

With many cats, feeding very much after the cat's nadir (low point in the cycle) when the insulin's strength is waning, will cause the cat's blood sugar to rise steeply. If a cat is happy to graze (eat a bite at a time), then they may be able to eat freely, but if a cat eats a lot at once, then it may be helpful to give most of the food in the first few hours of each cycle.

We fed punkin at preshot (3oz) and again at +3 (1.5oz) and other than that, just plain chicken as treats or when he was really starving. This is an individual thing, but if SK is eating very much after +5 or +6, you may want to see if his blood sugar control improves if you move most of his food into those first few hours of the cycle. It may make a difference.

Punkin was a perfect cat - I miss him terribly. He was very loving, although the licking was a mixed thing! Being licked by a cat isn't always a great feeling! hahahaha but he was such a sweetie and we knew we were loved. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top