05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's BGs

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tininha & Juno

Member Since 2014
Hello everyone!

Today my Juno's reading at AMPS was 79 and I didn't give him the shot since I went to work. I was too afraid to shoot so low since I couldn't monitor him during the afternoon. Now I just got home and tested him and, for my big surprise, his BG is at 86, 7 hours after the first reading. I am so confused with his BG readings and I really don't know what to do. Typically, at this point his numbers would be so high without the morning shot, just how it happened 4 days ago. Should I give him the shot? Should I reduce his dose? He has been doing quite well with the 1.25u, but I'm afraid to shoot when his numbers are in the green range and I cannot monitor him.

Tomorrow I'm also going to travel with Juno and I also don't know if I should give him the morning shot. What do you advise? The trip will take around 9 hours in total.

I hope some of you can give me some advice on this.

Many thanks!
Cristina
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

I wouldn't give him a shot now. Juno is in nice safe normal numbers. He isn't going high and shooting now would totally screw up your schedule. Test and post an hour before shot time this evening and ask for advice if he is still low.

Have you ever traveled w/ him before? Most cats won't eat in the car or when upset. If you have a concern about him eating I'd re-evaluate in the morning. Again get an early test to see just where he is headed. If Juno is bouncing by then and you have enough time to get his food into him, it would be safe to shoot. But if he is still lower than usual and you aren't sure about getting him to eat, you might want to skip again. It really depends an where his numbers are.
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Thank you Ann! In the end I decided to give him the shot. Here it was already 6:30pm when I gave him the shot, so it won't mess that much with my schedule, just with my sleep :shock: . I guessed it could go up at any time as he was for so many hours on the green range :smile: . It has been almost 2 hours after the shot, and he is now at 105. So I guess it was not that bad of a prediction ;-)

I travelled before with Juno, and he is so upset that never eats anything. He is too stressed to eat anything. I will take some water with me and some treats so that he won't be with an empty stomach for so long. I will see how his numbers are in the morning, and then I'll decide whether or not to give him the shot. Probably they will go up again tomorrow since I skipped today's morning shot...
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Good shooting!!

Juno is looking great so far today! Sometimes they just throw out a crazy number when we aren't expecting it just to keep us guessing I think!

The other option for tomorrow (is if he's high enough in the morning), would be to give a BCS just to give him some insulin instead of going completely without. Some cats (like China) seem to get lower numbers under stress! It's not the "norm" for most cats, but as you know, ECID!

Are you able to test while you're traveling? (like if you're going by car, stopping to test) That would be important to know before advising you what to do while you're traveling.

Whatever you decide to do, good luck with your trip, and I hope Juno continues to give you those good numbers!
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Great day for Juno! If you are finding you are having to skip a lot because he's giving you too low numbers for your comfort, one option is to cut the dose back a bit, say to 1.0U. However, he has been doing really well on that 1.25 when you can monitor so I'd stay there if you can.

I've taken Neko on 9 hour car trips, for 3 days in a row. I always stopped the car and tried to get a test a bit before nadir so I could see where she was going. And I've also had to give her some high and medium carb gravy because I was surprised by a number in the 60's. If you do give Juno insulin, consider where you will be able to pull over and test. One time I ended up on a stretch of road where all the pullouts had been closed and there was no where to stop for hours, another stretch of road had a huge line up due to a fire on the road so I had to use an alternate pullout. The other thing you might want to take along with you is a syringe, so you can get either syrup or high carb gravy into him if he does test low.

When Dyana travels by air with JD she can't test, so she skips the shot before hand.
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

hi Christina - he's sure looking great today. I see even at pm+6 he's at 97.

If you're at all able to test while you're traveling, i'd lean towards giving some insulin. since your past experience is that he won't eat much, can you feed and shoot him before you leave? as long as you get some food in him, i'd want to give most (maybe 1u?) of the regular shot - just because he's really doing well right now. today looks like a breakthrough for him.

can you take food along that is extra tempting? something like tuna or lunchmeat, freeze dried food - anything that is safe to eat and that you know Juno likes?

however, if you can't test and can't be sure he'll eat when you do shoot, err on the side of caution. he'll get back on track when you get back home.
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Hi Chris! Hi Wendy! Hi Julie!

Thank you so much for your messages and feedback. I am sorry for the late reply, but I have been away from the FDMB the whole week. Right now I'm writing this post on the train and heading home with Juno. He meowed during the whole flight, but now he is finally getting some sleep.

Since we had to travel by plane and train, testing was out of question. As I expected he didn't eat anything during the trip and I had to force him drinking some water with a syringe... I thought that would be very likely and I didn't give him any insulin before travelling. It could be too risky without testing.

Typically, his values get too high due to his stress. You can see the 425 on 14th May after our arrival, but then he started having great values 3 days after the trip, and he has remained with impressively good values for at least 3 days. (My boyfriend did the testing and the shooting for two days and my little "sweet" Juno bite and scratched him like a small lion. His hands and arms are full of Juno's marks nailbite_smile) Since he dropped below 50 on the 17th May, I decreased the dose to 1u, but his values remained so good that I was a bit unsure what dose to give him. I started giving him 0.75u, but I skipped a few shots, and still his values were quite good. Today morning, before the trip, his values were 105, but later in the day they will be probably too high, but there's hope for remission, I think! :-D

Have a great day everyone!
Cristina
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

It sounds like Juno's pancreas is healing very well. Here's to a good remission! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Hi Janet!

I really hope so. I'm crossing my fingers, toes and everything else, and doing the best that I can. We just arrived home and his BG is at 175 without the morning shot and after 10 hours of travelling. :-D
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Hi Cristina - welcome home!

Am I reading the spreadsheet right - was it on 5/18 - the day after the 49 - that you gave him dry kibble because you were going to be gone? I'm just wanting to make sure that comment was on that day, because YIKES - those numbers look amazing for having eaten any dry food.

You want to progressively move to shooting lower numbers. As you shoot lower, his numbers will flatten out even more, giving his pancreas an opportunity to heal. It looks like you've shot a 77 and an 86 in the past. Now that you're home, if you can continue shooting low like that, i think Juno will do well.

It's also worth noting that Juno didn't bounce from the 49, which tells us that his body is accepting these numbers as being normal. That's great!

I'm feeling sorry for your boyfriend, but it's nice to know that Juno's feeling feisty! :lol:
 
Re: 05/13 Juno AMPS 79 +7 86: Getting confused with Juno's B

Hi Julie!

Thank you! Juno is doing great. Now that I'm back home I think I better reduce to 0.5u twice a day. Otherwise I'm only able to shoot once a day if he keeps having these great numbers.

Am I reading the spreadsheet right - was it on 5/18 - the day after the 49 - that you gave him dry kibble because you were going to be gone? I'm just wanting to make sure that comment was on that day, because YIKES - those numbers look amazing for having eaten any dry food.
That's right! The comment was on that day. I was going to be away from home and the only food in high carbs I had was dry food, and still his values looked amazing the whole day. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top