05/10 Bambi AMPS 155, +3 47, +5 52, +7 108, PMPS 151, +7 170, AMPS 205

Caglar and Bambi

Member Since 2023
Previous thread

Morning everyone. Bambi had another drop below 50 so I reduced dose down to 0.1u.

I tried the drop method @Bandit's Mom mentioned in a previous post to measure the 0.1u. I counted 24-25 drops for 1u so 0.1u is around 2.5 drops. On a 0.5 ml syringe, this accounts to the plunger just below the 0 line on the syringe, barely touching it and I found it's easier to measure this way rather than ejecting 22 drops. It is an extremely small amount to measure precisely, but I guess it will make a difference compared to measuring 0.25u.
 
Congrats on another reduction! :-)

Here's what 0.1U is supposed to look like:
49822973598_f0540f7a37_w.jpg

49822973683_0559ae843a_o.jpg



You are right that it's very hard to measure such small doses accurately and consistently. When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters.
 
Thanks @Bandit's Mom. Yes, this is how I'm measuring too. Trouble is on a 3/10 cc syringe there are half unit markings, on a 0.5 ml there are only single unit markings. Eyeballing a 1/4 is pretty hard, 0.1u is even worse, but I got the hang of it by looking at the light that comes through between the plunger and the zero line.

Bit of a relief to know about the markings being off, I was a bit confused about this - I discovered that there are a few drops sometimes even when you align to the zero mark. I guess the only thing I can do is I bought a second brand which seems to have better markings and I'm using the same proportion each time. Will double-check the alignment to the zero line as you suggested before filling up the syringe.

Cheers.
 
Back
Top