05/08 Bayley amps 65 - pmps 266

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me and Bayley

Member Since 2009
What do I do? I can be around for morning - have hc food but will be out in the afternoon.... do I shoot? Do I give hc then shoot? I don't know what route to take - HELP
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Im bumping this cuz I need help and don't want to get lost....
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Can you delay shot and re test in 30 mins? (not feed either)

May still be looking at a reduced shot.

Seeing some nice numbers of late :-D
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

I am not much help. Since Bayley is acro I don't know. I will set out to learn what is suggested to be done in times like this -- right now I don't know. I'm sorry I couldn't help moe.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

It is more difficult with his acro as I know you can get sudden drops like this.

You've got to do what your most comfortable with. See if anyone from acro bunch around, but otherwise, delay till comfortable number and give a token dose if your not going to be around.
Ultimately safety is your priority. Even a .5u will put something in the shed.

If you are around a while, call on FB too and see if Jojo or someone is around.
I'll see if I can track anyone down for you.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Thank you ! I will try on high dose board but usually if there is a response it is days later - it is not as busy there as here :)

I already gave her a teeny snack after testing - I always give a treat for testing so i gave a little bite of hc - oops - sorry - it was before I got message not to feed but it was only a little - not even a teaspoon
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Hi Leslie - On a 65, I would BCS (by at least 1/2) or skip. I'm going to peek at ss and then come back.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Ok don't worry, but need to bear the HC in mind. Hopefully you know how carb sensitive Bayley is?

I'm not at home and can't seem to get on FB from this computer (keeps telling me my password is incorrect-Grrr)

I have emailed Heather/Boo as Boo was acro before the treatment.

I see you gave 5u on a 65 in Novemebr and similar agin in Feb and last week.

Do you have anything around 15% carbs?
How long will you be out for?

Hah ha heres Boo-she'll help :mrgreen:
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Wow! She's really coming down the dosing scale!

OK - you've done 1/2 doses before at these numbers and they looked better than skipping. Why don't you shoot about 2.5. Then, depending on her number when you leave, you can decide on whether you want to bump her with some HC. You might also want to decrease again tonight or tomorrow.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Excellent.

Glad you have Boo helping you. I have to go now as getting shouted at-good luck and catch you later :mrgreen:
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Thank you so much everyone - I am so lucky to have found this site - I honestly feel that my gorgeous creature may not have made it had I not found all of you - you have been 3000% more helpful than my vet ever was! I am going to test her again right now = I can do 2.5 - I shoot her with her breakfast though so I will need to feed her - that is my way to give a needle to a very distracted kitten ;-)
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Wow, look how fast the decreases are coming. This is so terrific! I think standard approach is stall, retest, wait for rise if you can. Looks like a good day to BCS, especially if she doesn't come up much. KB would bounce from that but it doesn't look like Bayley bounces as hard. Can you spread the snacks out for the day?
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

I have given 2.5 which is just a touch more than half her dose (she is currently getting 4.75 - I can't believe that! Smallest dose in over a year!). I tested again and she was 106 but I had given her a hc treat in my mini panic before getting rational advice - haha. I will test her again in a little bit .

I have one more question = should I just jump back to regular dose again tonight? This is where I was unclear - I think the answer is go back to regular dose unless she has another green ps is that right?
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

D asked if I could explain my reasoning a bit for learning purposes. I think Carolyn is probably the most experienced (and Carolynn/Fletcher has gone OTJ several times so she also has a lot of experience), but here's what I was thinking:

I haven't had my coffee yet, so it might sound jumbled... :smile:

I guess I base my decisions off what Boo did, and I had to base those decisions off looking at other acro ss.

"Acro beans don't need green" - the pancreas works fine so there is no healing to be done. It's okay to hit greens, but the goal is to keep them under renal threshhold. Blue with a touch of green is better than yellow with a touch of blue.

Acros seem to have flatter curves; they don't seem to bounce as much or as hard. I almost never stalled because I had a very, very tight schedule and couldn't get off. Therefore, I always forget about the stall and retest part because I didn't do it. However, I never quite understood why that was helpful if you were past nadir and were going to feed anyway, which would bump the numbers up.

I looked at Bayley's ss this morning and noticed that Bayley did pretty good on 1/2 doses at these numbers; when Leslie skipped a shot, she went into the pinks. If she was going to be home until nadir, I think she could have shot the full dose (although it still would have been acceptable to BCS it), but since she had to leave, she needed to be safe.

Since Bayley's PS was a fairly low number, and since she's on her way down the dosing scale, it would probably be appropriate to decrease the dose, even though she didn't hit 50. However, she'll probably need to make the decision tonight - if Bayley is back in the yellows, she might want to keep the dose. I don't think there are any rules on this (except a 50 always get a decrease); when Boo was going down, I simply had to rely on other acro ss.

It would be wonderful if other acros would chime in here. I don't want to go uncorrected if I'm wrong.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Leslie -

I'm just learning about acro kitties so if one of the more experienced people come by, listen to them! I think you will need to see what Bayley's numbers tell you today before you decide on what to shoot tonight. It's my understanding, though, that if Bayley's acro is going into an inactive phase, you may need to decrease by more than 0.25u to keep her in the blues. You might want to get some additional spot checks in when you're home today just to make sure Bayley isn't staying too low. If you can also get a check in later in the cycle, it will help to figure out your PM shot.
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Dont know anything but just came by to wish Bayley well & what a nice green number!!!
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Bayley is pretty dramatic, isn't she? When she goes green, she goes very green and does it at PS time. Things are changing and it's hard to keep up. Tonight's number will probably give us some information that will help next time, by seeing whether the BCS was enough or not.

Gooooo Bayley!
 
Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!

Hi,

I'm guessing your still out-hope it's a good update :mrgreen:

I've been hunting and this is the site that Patti was involved in. I know nothing about it, but may be worth a look. It's specific for Acro.

You could also pm Patti/Merlin and Carolyn/Fletcher and see if they can give you some guidance on various scenarios you may come up with.

Good luck :mrgreen:
 
you could knock the dose down a little bit, maybe to 4.5? I'm not sure, you might be better off holding the 4.75, but you can always go back up if the reduction doesn't work.
 
Hi Leslie! I'm just stopping in to say hello. I don't know much about acro cat so I can't really can't chirp in here. However, I can say that Bailey is looking good!
 
Went with 4.5 - I will be home tonight - I'll keep you updated
Thanks to all again. You - once again- were sooo helpful ! :mrgreen:

Hi Deb - great to see you :) and I am happy with my girlie too - she is such a little trooper :) Love her so much!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top