Re: 05/08 Bayley amps 65 - Dose Help needed!!!
D asked if I could explain my reasoning a bit for learning purposes. I think Carolyn is probably the most experienced (and Carolynn/Fletcher has gone OTJ several times so she also has a lot of experience), but here's what I was thinking:
I haven't had my coffee yet, so it might sound jumbled... :smile:
I guess I base my decisions off what Boo did, and I had to base those decisions off looking at other acro ss.
"Acro beans don't need green" - the pancreas works fine so there is no healing to be done. It's okay to hit greens, but the goal is to keep them under renal threshhold. Blue with a touch of green is better than yellow with a touch of blue.
Acros seem to have flatter curves; they don't seem to bounce as much or as hard. I almost never stalled because I had a very, very tight schedule and couldn't get off. Therefore, I always forget about the stall and retest part because I didn't do it. However, I never quite understood why that was helpful if you were past nadir and were going to feed anyway, which would bump the numbers up.
I looked at Bayley's ss this morning and noticed that Bayley did pretty good on 1/2 doses at these numbers; when Leslie skipped a shot, she went into the pinks. If she was going to be home until nadir, I think she could have shot the full dose (although it still would have been acceptable to BCS it), but since she had to leave, she needed to be safe.
Since Bayley's PS was a fairly low number, and since she's on her way down the dosing scale, it would probably be appropriate to decrease the dose, even though she didn't hit 50. However, she'll probably need to make the decision tonight - if Bayley is back in the yellows, she might want to keep the dose. I don't think there are any rules on this (except a 50 always get a decrease); when Boo was going down, I simply had to rely on other acro ss.
It would be wonderful if other acros would chime in here. I don't want to go uncorrected if I'm wrong.