05/07 Kitty PMPS 115 +2 83 +3 76 +4 87

Corey & Kitty

Member Since 2022
Yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/05-06-kitty-pmps-97-1-104-2-92-4-93.262944/

So, I did a bit of a trial last night. I didn't encourage any eating of her +1.5 and +3.5 meals, and kept everything LC. It always alarms me when she isn't hungry because I'm so used to her being a hungry kitty and always wanting to eat everything. So now when she isn't hungry it makes me think something is wrong. Last night she only ate her usual 1/2 can of FF at shot time. I looked in her auto feeder this morning and she had not touched either of the +1.5 and +3.5 meals last night. I guess this is okay? It just seems like 1/2 can for a 12 hour period isn't enough, but she seems fine and her numbers looked good. She ate her whole preshot meal this morning, so I guess she just wasn't hungry last night.

So since she did fine last night without MC, can I conclude that I don't need to leave out MC for her currently at this dose, and within these BG ranges?

It also makes me uncomfortable when I check her BG at +10.5 and then I check 1.5 hours later at preshot and its lower. For example, this morning I checked at +10.5 and it was 112, and then at AMPS it was 103. I know this is likely meter variance, it just makes me think that she's dropping even before giving her shot, and I get concerned since I'm leaving for work. Also, is there any point to me checking her BG 45 minutes after a shot if that's all I can squeeze in before leaving for work?

Anyway, I think her numbers looked great yesterday and I'm excited to see more greens. I hope everyone has a nice day!
 
She's seeing such better numbers the decrease in appetite makes sense.

As for the MC, I would still leave it when you'll be gone, for now. What typically happens is they either slowly come down and gently earn a reduction OR it's just boom, I'm ready one day. The latter is why I'm saying still leave a little MC while gone.

I would not bother with the test no, it hasn't shown you anything so far other than a food bump because she doesn't onset that early.

If you know she already nadired, I would assume those test differences are meter variance. Lantus sometimes does have a double dip but it is NOT a second nadir. The more "concerning" part about dropping at shot time is if it's truly a late nadir, because for some cats that's a double whammy - nadir around shot time, only 1-3 hours of a rise, then new shot onsets and drops again. Not always the case, ECID
 
She definitely won't be as hungry in the better numbers. It's a good thing... but I KNOW how it feels... I like it when they eat. As long as she seems keen to eat what she is eating and is maintaining her weight, it's all good. Do you have a scale to weigh her (here I go... not everyone is as nutty as I am... or has as many cats.)
 
I am Suzanne. I use a digital baby scale and weigh mine at least once a week!

The so called drop in bg is not really a drop as Melissa said since it’s a few points it’s well within meter variance. When you are home and can monitor try lc when you were feeding mc and see what happens or even higher % lc.
 
So, I didn't give her any MC this morning when I left for work. Came home for a quick 15 minute break at +3.25 and she was at 61. Since I had to go back to work so quickly, I might have panicked a little bit and loaded her up with a bunch of MC. Between what I fed her and what I mixed in her feeder, it was a whole 3oz can of FF gravy lovers turkey (15%). At around +5.25 she's up to 77. I gave her another half a can of 15% MC. Should I drop down to 1.75 units tonight?
 
That’s way too much money. You can get a digital baby scale fir $40-50. I have a Salter baby/toddler and the health -o-meter is the same. I’m going to look on Amazon. Prices go up and down.
With SLGS she’s earned a reduction.
 
upload_2022-5-7_10-59-54.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-5-7_10-59-54.jpeg
    upload_2022-5-7_10-59-54.jpeg
    93.6 KB · Views: 114
So, I didn't give her any MC this morning when I left for work. Came home for a quick 15 minute break at +3.25 and she was at 61. Since I had to go back to work so quickly, I might have panicked a little bit and loaded her up with a bunch of MC. Between what I fed her and what I mixed in her feeder, it was a whole 3oz can of FF gravy lovers turkey (15%). At around +5.25 she's up to 77. I gave her another half a can of 15% MC. Should I drop down to 1.75 units tonight?
Well she picked the latter of the two options I mentioned! Lol she's looking so good
 
So, I didn't give her any MC this morning when I left for work. Came home for a quick 15 minute break at +3.25 and she was at 61. Since I had to go back to work so quickly, I might have panicked a little bit and loaded her up with a bunch of MC. Between what I fed her and what I mixed in her feeder, it was a whole 3oz can of FF gravy lovers turkey (15%). At around +5.25 she's up to 77. I gave her another half a can of 15% MC. Should I drop down to 1.75 units tonight?
Shouldn’t you reduce according to SLGS rules? She’s dropped under 90. But she also did that yesterday (I realize the numbers were borderline yesterday.)
 
Shouldn’t you reduce according to SLGS rules? She’s dropped under 90. But she also did that yesterday (I realize the numbers were borderline yesterday.)
I'm supposed to but I didn't want to do back to back reductions. The AM of 05/04 was the first day of a reduced dose and she technically earned another reduction that day, but @Bandit's Mom mentioned that back to back reductions often fail so I'm lowering the reduction point to 80. I know I'm not really supposed to do that but here we are. I'm thinking about switching to TR but I still have concerns about leaving her alone when she could drop under 50. From what I understand, a reduction with TR is only earned when under 50 (or in the greens for 7 days) so it seems like having a number under 50 is an inevitable thing and that scares me.

My local Walmart carries this scale for $49.97. It's made by Hubble.

Screenshot 2022-05-07 184841.png
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-05-07 184841.png
    Screenshot 2022-05-07 184841.png
    273.6 KB · Views: 194
Last edited:
Experienced members following SLGS who have the data to know how their kitty uses the insulin (onset, nadir, duration) and reaction to carbs can customize SLGS to better suit their cat. If 80 works as a better reduction value for you, then that's fine. Just note it in the signature something like "SLGS reductions at 80".
 
I'm supposed to but I didn't want to do back to back reductions. The AM of 05/04 was the first day of a reduced dose and she technically earned another reduction that day, but @Bandit's Mom mentioned that back to back reductions often fail so I'm lowering the reduction point to 80. I know I'm not really supposed to do that but here we are. I'm thinking about switching to TR but I still have concerns about leaving her alone when she could drop under 50. From what I understand, a reduction with TR is only earned when under 50 (or in the greens for 7 days) so it seems like having a number under 50 is an inevitable thing and that scares me.

My local Walmart carries this scale for $49.97. It's made by Hubble.

View attachment 64220
Yes. I kind of figured that it was the back to back reductions. They usually fail, that’s true.
 
Back
Top