05/06 Cheech AMPS 326

CheechMama

Member Since 2026
Previous Posts

Hello all! Happy Wednesday — Cheech is on extra baby status today. I think she knows I am not feeling the best and let me sleep through the night with her wakeup being 6 am on the dot for her breakfast!!

I am thinking we will have to do another curve soon and potentially up her dose. I know we are on SLGS but I feel like we are on extra SLGS with our curves and increases on a 2 week schedule instead of 1😩

Folks who have been at this longer than me — how long did it take for your kitty to see greens and blues? I feel like we are failing her with how long it is taking her to be regulated 😭
 
Do your curves after 7 days so if she needs an increase you can give it and get her to better BG.
She’s so sweet. You’re not failing her. It takes time to get there.
Just follow the protocol and you will see improvement 😻
 
Agreed with Staci!

Her numbers look similar to what Pookey’s were when we started in 2024. Switching to the ReliON, getting rid of dry food, and then going to TR I think all contributed to getting to blues and greens faster.

But the cats are all so different and all have their own path that they’re on. So don’t get discouraged or any of that. You’re doing great.
 
Agreed with Staci!

Her numbers look similar to what Pookey’s were when we started in 2024. Switching to the ReliON, getting rid of dry food, and then going to TR I think all contributed to getting to blues and greens faster.

But the cats are all so different and all have their own path that they’re on. So don’t get discouraged or any of that. You’re doing great.
Do your curves after 7 days so if she needs an increase you can give it and get her to better BG.
She’s so sweet. You’re not failing her. It takes time to get there.
Just follow the protocol and you will see improvement 😻
Thank you both for the kind words and reassurance.

Thankfully she has responded well to being wet food only, and she is food motivated which is a blessing that she is eating. She is so small it’s hard to see how we are creeping up in dosage for her. I know it’s just like humans, but selfishly I’m hoping we can get her regulated sooner so she can feel better ❤️‍🩹

I’m also trying my best to listen to her vet…who is increasingly less responsive. Feels somehow wrong to not wait for her instructions and go rouge on dosage. Not that I don’t trust what everyone is saying here, but more so I am such a staunch rule follower!!

Anyways, very long winded way to say thank you and I hope everyone knows how thankful I am for this forum.
 
If she is eating wet/canned food only, AND if you can grab some more tests in the a.m. and p.m. (the preshot and at least two others each cycle) you could transition her to TR and take dose increases more frequently.

How is she doing otherwise? The five ps:
1) Peeing,
2) purring,
3) pooping,
4) playing,
5) preening?

The whole thing with the vet not being responsive...grrr. And that's why this group is so valuable! How can vets monitor each of their diabetic animals as closely as we all know they need to be monitored in terms of dose increases/decreases?
 
If she is eating wet/canned food only, AND if you can grab some more tests in the a.m. and p.m. (the preshot and at least two others each cycle) you could transition her to TR and take dose increases more frequently.

How is she doing otherwise? The five ps:
1) Peeing,
2) purring,
3) pooping,
4) playing,
5) preening?

The whole thing with the vet not being responsive...grrr. And that's why this group is so valuable! How can vets monitor each of their diabetic animals as closely as we all know they need to be monitored in terms of dose increases/decreases?
5p’s are all present! She is a very happy girl, safe for when her baby brother bothers her.

I work from home, I can get on a tighter testing regimen. It also feels daunting, she has not been the happiest with me getting her blood to test, and I feel bad doing it more frequently. I distract her with a churu, and have gotten it quick enough that it’s about 1 tsp of churu per test instead of a whole tube. I know it’s for her ultimate good, but I also feel really bad. Sounds silly when I type it out!

You’re totally right to all of it! Helps to hear it from others.

I’ll do some reading on the TR sticky 🤗
 
Last edited:
Back
Top