? 05/03 Benny AMPS 499...+10 80 PMPS 209 dose question

Ben&Squirrel

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-2-benny-amps-454-pmps-498.262779/#post-2945186

Yet another dose question. Ben had a dose increase this morning to 1.0u. He went from 499 to 80 to 209 in one day. He ate a little in the afternoon, so unfortunately I can't say whether the nadir would have gone any lower.

His nadir was 80. Does this mean he should get a reduction...back to where he was yesterday?

I'm thinking about this part of the SLGS instructions: "A4.4. There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin."
I am not sure how he will respond to the insulin, given how his nadir is not consistent in range or time. He responded so strongly to the increase that I fear what he would do when I am asleep.

However, just not giving insulin after a single dose increase seems like a recipe for a bounce?

Ideas, @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom ?
 
Done. The 1u was fun while it lasted. :facepalm: Go back to it again in the morning, or stay at .75 for 7 days? Thank you once again!
 
Just for future reference, bounce breaking cycles have greater donward momentum and later nadirs. You want to slow him down by feeding a little food. Not sure if you fed him, but a little food at +7 and +8 and even +9 would have been good. The idea is to keep them at a good dose as long as you can by intervening with food.
 
Just for future reference, bounce breaking cycles have greater donward momentum and later nadirs. You want to slow him down by feeding a little food. Not sure if you fed him, but a little food at +7 and +8 and even +9 would have been good. The idea is to keep them at a good dose as long as you can by intervening with food.
I did feed him a little at +7 but wasn't sure I should have. He was hungry! So if I can keep him above the danger zone with food, it can keep him on the full dose of insulin? This makes total sense now; I wasn't sure it was okay to feed him with the snacks he has been getting. Will try to manage him more with food when he is dropping!
 
Back
Top