04/09 Ella PMPS 374 +2 331

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

It's fine to shoot the full 1.25u. The 374 is within the 20% of meter variance.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Remember, that you are going to feed her when you shoot, and the food will affect her BGs,
and the Lantus dose will not have it's onset until about 2 hours from now.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

ok so i shot the 1.25u...i'm hoping that's what you meant.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Great. I'm guessing you were talking to me :oops: I would feed her, and then get a +2 to start off with this evening.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Thanks ladies! I'm on edge over here. I shot at the same time I did this morning so I guess I can only shoot at 6:25am tomorrow?!

I stalled because I wanted eveyone to see the drop from +11 to PMPS.

Dyana, Thanks again for your dosing advice this morning.
I apologize if it seems like I'm doubting anyone...I'm just nervous. Today was the last day of my holidays and we don't fully know how Ella will react so leaving the house tomorrow will probably be stressful for me.

I want to thank EVERYONE who came to my condo to give me advice and moral support over this very important weekend. Ella is now lapping up her wet food and the numbers she's presenting with are similar and even better than when she was on dry and 3 u's. She even seems happier, playful and more loving:)

THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Dyana!!!! I was just confused when you said regular dose...cause the 1.25 was new to me! In my mind, the regular dose was 1u cause that's what she was on for most of the weekend!
You meant 1.25 u right?

I'm the one that should be :oops:
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Yes, 1.25 is the new regular dose, and the 1.00 this morning what what we call a BCS (one time temporarily reduced dose).
I will be here for you in the morning. I usually log on around 5:30 to 5:45am EST.
I'm sorry if I forget, so please remind me, do you have other cats in the house?
I have two cats, and when I am nervous, I leave out extra food, for just in case.
And, if I'm really nervous, then I will leave out some higher carb food, for the day.
Do you have an automatic feeder, and/or do you freeze some food to let thaw out during the day for lunch time for Ella?
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

We have four cats so I can't leave out food but i can isolate in the bedroom.
I don't have an auto feeder but i heard that i can just leave food out with an ice cube!?
I will make sure I log on when your there but my shooting time will be 6:20 so do I just give you my +11?
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Yes, your +11 will be good.
I have been doing this a long time, but I still try to get a +11 or so, to compare to my +12, so I (think I) know how the cycle will go for the day, when I am going to be at work all day long and not around to monitor.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

Tamara....

Good job! I'm glad Dyana and Sienne were here to help you. I'm working from home and was on a conference call. I'll check in for your +2 in case they need to get to bed. We'll just keep shuffling you back and forth :lol: But we're all on the same page and discuss things when we need to so don't worry.

I know you are frightened about leaving Ella tomorrow. Let's just take it a cycle at a time and see what she needs. It's good that you can isolate her with food there for her.

You're doing great. Take a deep breath and try to relax until the +2.
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 (big drop in 45 minutes) pls read!

thanks!

quick question: i did her pmps bg at 6:15 but didn't shoot until 6:40...is my pmps still 6:15pm?
 
Tamara

Sorry...gee..where did the time go!

Do you mean you tested at 6:15 but didnt shoot until 6:40 without retesting ? If that is the case, I would put your PMPS as 6:40 since that's when you shot.

Can you do a +4 or will you be in bed?
 
well i was planning on going to bed by 10:40pm but i can set an alarm.
I'm planning on moving my shot time to 6:25 tomorrow using the 15 minute change in dosing rule. I usaully feed 10-15 minutes after the bg reading so I'll be testing at 6:10am. Does that mean that my +11 is at 5:10am?
Just want to be sure i have the right data for Dyana
 
WOW...You and Ella are doing wonderfully!! :-D :-D :-D

celi & binks

YayCat.jpg
 
Hi Tamara,
Sorry to take so long to drop by Ella's condo today. You did fine and I know that all will be OK tomorrow when you go back to work.

Most of us test, feed, and shoot within 10 minutes or so. It is helpful to give the shot while the kitty is eating. Her head will be in her bowl and the food will occupy her. With the numbers you have been seeing, I would not be too concerned about Ella dropping too fast or too far. Dyana already mentioned that at AMPS you are not shooting the bg number you just recorded, you are anticipating where Ella's bgs will be in about 2 hours, because the insulin you shoot at AMPS will not begin to kick in until after +2. Generally you will see a rise in bg at +1 (the influence of the food combined with the fact that the insulin has not yet kicked in). Your +2 number should, in an "optimal" cycle, be about the same as AMPS. If it is lower, leave out some MC food as part of the food you leave for her. Get an "out the door" test and try not to worry. :smile:

I know that it is scary, but you have learned a lot about Ella this long weekend and it will be OK.

Get a good night's sleep. You've earned it!

Ella & Rusty
 
Thanks for your moral support and advice Ella!
What is MC food?

Thanks for the hip hip hooray celi and binks!
 
Tamara:

Ella is right....it's better to test/feed/shoot pretty close together. Any reason to test so much earlier than the rest of the process? The "+" times are the times lapsed since the last shot. It's confusing when you are making up for stalled time because, since you shot at 6:40 tonight, normally the +11 would be 5:40 tomorrow morning. In this case, I'd just call your +11 an hour before you shoot.

MC is medium carb food which is in the 10-15% range of calories from carbs.

See how much you're learning? :-D :-D
 
Re: 04/09 Ella PMPS 374 +2 331 +4 353

+4= 353

she ate at +1,+2,+3

ni ni~
 
I let her eat her whole meal before shooting to ensure her belly is full...makes me feel better about her leaving.
 
tamara, i'm just getting on today, but i want to say you're doing great. all of us were nervous at the beginning. it's ok.

so tomorrow when you get up, you might consider if you're going to feel better leaving her in a bedroom with a spare litter box and some food she can graze on. you don't have to, but we know you've got the 3 other cats and can't leave food our for her.

just consider which way are you going to be able to be sane at work?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top