04/08, Nestle, AMPS 59

Looks like you gave full dose?

I'd say that was nadir and he should be on his way up, likely into a bounce if history repeats. Hopefully he does ok while you're gone, can always leave out HC and such
 
Looks like you gave full dose?

I'd say that was nadir and he should be on his way up, likely into a bounce if history repeats. Hopefully he does ok while you're gone, can always leave out HC and such

He ate but I haven't given him his shot yet
Waiting for advice
 
As I mentioned over on Facebook, you have a lot of wiggle room between skipping a dose and giving a full 3u. You've shot low before, although not this low, but you don't want the depot to empty completely. At this point you know his response well enough that I think you could probably give a partial dose instead of skipping, if you're too nervous to get the full dose (which I understand).
 
An hour after eating he's at 97.

I feel a little nervous shooting a full dose only cause I won't be here. Otherwise I wouldn't have an issue.

I also feel he's made so much progress and I would hate to see it go to waste if I skip today.

I think a partial dose would be a way to go for me just need to know whether to do half a dose or a third? Please help
 
At this point it's going to have to be what you're most comfortable with. His number is rising, but he also had food and it's not rising fast, so if you wanted to be cautious, maybe 0.5 to 1u. That way he's not skipping completely but you're not going to be chewing your nails off for the 7 hours while you're at work. And you can always leave food down.
As time goes on you're going to be more comfortable with giving full doses at lower numbers, but I certainly understand that since you can't be home, you don't want anything to happen.
 
Even if you shoot a token dose, the first part of.the cycle.will. play out like if you had shot the full dose. If you are not comfortable shooting the full dose, shoot 1.5U which is half.
 
Do you use an auto feeder? If notice you might want to start freezing some food that you would leave out so there would be thawed food in an hour or so after you leave. Good for future surprises as we know there will be more.
 
Do you use an auto feeder? If notice you might want to start freezing some food that you would leave out so there would be thawed food in an hour or so after you leave. Good for future surprises as we know there will be more.

I do have a couple of auto feeders (I have another cat - non diabetic) so I could set it up for today and leave them extra food.
Nestle is not very mobile at the moment so the only thing I'd be worried about is him not being able to get to it. But he used to be very food motivated so if I leave it close to where he is maybe he'd go to it.
 
I do have a couple of auto feeders (I have another cat - non diabetic) so I could set it up for today and leave them extra food.
Nestle is not very mobile at the moment so the only thing I'd be worried about is him not being able to get to it. But he used to be very food motivated so if I leave it close to where he is maybe he'd go to it.
It’s worth a try but you won’t know which cat ate the food. You can try setting it up and see what happens when you are home to know for sure though.
 
It’s worth a try but you won’t know which cat ate the food. You can try setting it up and see what happens when you are home to know for sure though.

That is true enough. However my other cat Peanut doesn't eat as much and he always has food leftover in his bowl.
 
Back
Top