04/05/2024 | Lord Fuzzy Bottom

Min and Lord Fuzzy Bottom

Member Since 2024
Fuzzy is a new diagnosis. He had/has DKA and just recently got out of the hospital.
I checked his urine this morning and no ketones present. Last night there was a tiny amount. I am including ketones findings in his spreadsheet.

I am having issues giving injections. This is the second time I don't know if he got it all. When I withdraw the pen and stroke his fur, my gloved hand gets damp. Not a lot, just a little. This morning it was the thumb pad was damp. I shaved his fur to ensure I wasn't having a fur stick and the needle was entering. I am tenting the skin - I thought plenty of skin, but maybe not? I don't know, does the pen dribble on the way out?
I know the vet told me there would always be a droplet at the tip at the end- which there is. But this seems larger than a small tiny droplet.

Yes, I am aware his levels are reading high. I am working on getting them normal. Today is the first day I did a pre-shot test. I was told by someone else that I need to invest in some syringes that have .25 units so I can draw straight from the pen and be able to adjust his dosing as needed.

My thing is though, if I'm not getting it all in and I attempt to adjust it and then get it all in and it really messes him up- then what. I need to make sure I am doing this right. So I'm asking, does the pen leave dampness on the fur afterwards, or does it leak out of the skin after injection?
 
Welcome to LLB. May I ask why you are wearing gloves? It might be easier without them and gloves are not needed. Did your vet use them? Just a thought.

Are you planning to follow one of our dosing methods or your vet?
The gloves- I have a fear of medications and chemicals. Sounds crazy but I've been that way since an allergic reaction to some meds a doc gave me. So when I have to handle meds or chemicals, I glove up. Or if there is potential that I get it on me, I glove up. I've been this way since 2003. It really sucks but otherwise I go into a full blown panic attack- which no one around me needs. I have been fighting to keep those at bay giving Fuzzy his meds.

I don't really know about the dosing methods. I don't really know what type of dosing method the vet has him on. From what I gather the methods are low and slow and tight- am I correct? If so, I THINK he would be more on a tight method. Again, I have zero clue. I was just told to give him 3 units every 12 hours and watch for Vomiting, Lethargy when normal, high urine output, high water intake, acting drunk, and wobbling. And if he doesn't eat- don't give him insulin.
I told the vet I wanted to monitor his levels myself at home and they told me right now- for like the first week- it will be high. Ideal numbers are between 70-170. If he reads 70, don't give insulin and don't give honey. And since I am monitoring at home, check 1x a day about 4-6 hours after insulin. This is the exact instructions I was given for Insulin- no images, no demonstrations really.
" Insulin Instructions:
a. make sure we have eaten at least 15 minutes before giving insulin.
b. give insulin in either hip or shoulder underneath the skin- rotate areas each time
c. if he does not eat- DO NOT GIVE INSULIN
d. keep insulin in fridge
e. roll between hands for 10 seconds before injection
f. monitor drinking input and urine output
g. if for what ever reason we are unsure if we got the full dose, DO NOT redose
h. if we do not eat we do not give insulin. Better to run high for a short time versus ever running low.
i. try and give insulin 12 hours apart each time. May do 2 hours early or late every once in awhile when absolutely needed"

I have decided, I am going to preshot test and test at the 5 hour mark as well as monitor his urine. He is supposed to return to the vet on the 4th for a curve test. Like, this is all I know right now. Everything else I am learning from this site. I am trying to do what is right but it is really scary. I don't want to disobey the vet- but they didn't tell me very much and it doesn't make sense to not monitor- but I don't know.
 
With DKA at diagnosis skipping is dangerous especially with the high bg and not always eating well. Bron is really knowledgeable about this so listen to her advice.
 
There might be some tips in there to help with shooting techniques: Testing and Shooting Tips. I've heard of some people practising on used syringes filled with water by injecting an orange.

The smell of glargine/Lantus is really strong - you will know if that's the liquid you got on your gloves.

There are no syringes with 0.25 units markings - we wish though! You have syringes with half unit markings. More on syringes in this post:
Insulin Care & Syringe Info: Proper Handling, Drawing, Fine Dosing
 
Guess what I just learned?! I believe I HAVE been injecting Fuzzy right, I just didn't know you are supposed to hold the needle in and count to 10. So it was pretty much still leaking out I believe after giving it to him, which means he hasn't been getting a full dose- which would be why his numbers keep reading high. I am going to hold it in this evening and see if it makes a difference. I checked his urine again this afternoon and it was negative.
with his urine being negative, does that mean he is no longer in DKA?
 
Ketones being negative is good. That's just part of the story of DKA - he is very recent DKA so we still have to be cautious for a while yet.

We don't hold the needles in for 10 seconds. Just put it in, inject, remove needle. Cats will squirm if you hold it in that long.
 
Worried about him tonight. He doesn't really want to eat anything. He is 'asking' for food, but isn't wanting anything I'm giving him. He did lick the juice from a fancy feast gravys (yes, I know that is for his hypo kit- but I'm trying to get him to eat anything right now). his next dose of insulin is in an hour. How long does it take for it to start taking effect once you've given a dose?

Like, he isn't peeing a lot, but he is drinking plenty of water. Not like he was when we took him to the vet, but it seems like a lot. More than the other cats. I was giving him deli turkey and deli ham and he is turning those down now. I even tried canned tuna in water and then pureed it with a little warm water and still nothing. I even tried a spoonful of plain greek yogurt and nothing. I can't give him another appetite stimulant because I gave him one this morning. It just seems like he is going back to how he was when we took him in and I don't know what to do.
 
Ok, gave him his insulin. I counted to 5 after pressing the button. There was no dampness on his fur this time so he got his entire dose. I tried preshot testing him and the machine errored out 3x. I tried jabbing both back paw pads and his ear, got a drop of blood from each and the machine beeped, but it kept erroring out. I stopped because I didn't want to traumatize him more than needed. He wasn't taking the turkey I made for him to nibble on while I did his testing so my husband was having to help secure him for me. Here is hoping in a few hours he will start feeling better.
 
I'm not an expert and Gravy was diagnosed just a few months ago. But we have the same meter (Relion premier) and sometimes I would go thru 10 test strips to get her reading. Most frustrating when there is blood but can't get reading. A few things I did:
Use petroleum jelly (just a little) where you are going to prick.
You want the blood to touch the very bottom of test strip. Sometimes I would hit the side instead.
Most frustrating is when I would get blood on strip but it wouldn't read. Usually I can grab another test strip, put it in meter, and dip it in blood from the test strip that just gave me error.
I hope that helps.
 
Just to double check, are you using the needles that attach to a Lantus pen or are you using syringes? It sound like you may be using the pen if you're "pressing a button." If you're using the pen, we'd really suggest you use a syringe. The pens do not dispense a dose of insulin that's less than 1.0u. Increasing in that large of an amount works for humans but is a problem for cats. When you have a chance to review the information on dosing methods, you'll note that we increase or decrease doses in 0.25u increments which is why it's recommended to use syringes that are marked in 0.5 amounts.

I'm going to respond to the information that your vet provided:

a. make sure we have eaten at least 15 minutes before giving insulin. - This really isn't necessary with Lantus/glargine. It does not start acting immediately. It takes about 2 hours for onset to occur in most cats. Most of the Lantus users test, feed, and shoot all within a few minutes.

b. give insulin in either hip or shoulder underneath the skin- rotate areas each time - I treated my cat's diabetes for 6.5 years. I gave a shot in roughly the same place. She got really annoyed if I tried to give her a shot anywhere but in the scruff. It's fine to rotate the shot placement but it's not necessary.

c. if he does not eat- DO NOT GIVE INSULIN. That's sort of accurate. You have a cat that has recently recovered from DKA. Getting insulin into your cat will help to prevent the DKA from recurring. Not eating in a cat that is recovering from DKA is a warning sign. Please test for ketones. Please make sure your cat is eating about 1.5 times the amount he normally eats.

d. keep insulin in fridge - This is accurate. I'd suggest keeping your insulin in a place where it doesn't get bounced around and the temperature is consistent. The door of the refrigerator is the least good place to store your insulin.

e. roll between hands for 10 seconds before injection - this is bad information. Lantus is a solution. Some of the other insulin that is prescribed for cats are not in solution and do need to be rolled. Do not roll Lantus. Agitating Lantus may cause crystals to form and you've then ruined your insulin.

f. monitor drinking input and urine output - This is a good idea.

g. if for what ever reason we are unsure if we got the full dose, DO NOT redose. This is absolutely good information. You never know exactly how much insulin went into your cat. Even if you poke through both sides of the skin and you see the insulin fly across the room, do not give more insulin. You risk overdosing your cat.

h. if we do not eat we do not give insulin. Better to run high for a short time versus ever running low. Again, this may be a balancing act with a cat that's recovering from DKA. If you have a question about whether to shoot, please post and ask for help. Also, what your vet considers low and what we consider "low" may differ. As an example, we consider normal blood glucose range as 50 - 120.

i. try and give insulin 12 hours apart each time. May do 2 hours early or late every once in awhile when absolutely needed. NO. Lantus is different than most other insulin. It is s depot type of insulin. It likes consistency both with dose and shot time. Shooting early acts like a dose increase; shooting late acts like a dose reduction. It also will throw your schedule off since you need to very gradually move the shot time back to your preferred time. (In other words, if you shoot an hour late today, you shouldn't shoot an hour early at the next shot time.) The most flexibility you have is 30 min.

Please take some time to read the sticky notes at the top of this board. They will provide you with a wealth of information about Lantus and its use. Also, please ask questions. The members here are very generous with their time and knowledge. We're here to help.
 
Good news!!! We are FINALLY getting numbers instead of reading HI!!!
His AMPS is 576! so I guess me leaving the needle in for a count of 5 helped make sure he got it all.

I do want to move to using syringes eventually. Right now, I am making do with what I have and monitoring things. Again, I think I wasn't giving him the entire amount of insulin because I would push button and as soon as it hits 0, I would pull out. I would find wet spots on his fur after that.

Ok, time to go shoot him I just needed to share the news.
 
Fuzzy update:
His BG went back up after the test where I seen numbers. I've been noticing he has started seeming like he was getting dehydrated. As well as he would ask for food and maybe sniff it or lick/nibble it and walk away. Last night, I couldn't get a BG reading on him because the meter kept erroring out. I gave him his insulin.... except my glove was damp again. And then I stuck myself while trying to recap the needle to discard. This morning, he turned his nose up at ham, raw food, and drank the juice from a Tiki Cat can. I did some googling and people were saying it sounds like he is nauseated. So, I contacted the vet and told them everything. LOVE the spreadsheet because I just hit print on it and took it with me so the vet could see that he has had only one single reading below 600 and all of my notes.
He has gained 1 pound since last week- which is real good. They are going to give him a checkup, fluids and such if needed. I did tell them he gets his insulin at 10am and 10pm, with a bg test right before and 5 hours after morning stick. But I'm still worried about him. Hopefully I will get some good news today. I really really need it right now.
 
Vet called and said his BG was over 700. they gave him some fast acting insulin and got him down to 150 something. They are keeping him tonight to see if they can get him 'leveled' out or something so i can take over.
 
Still at the vet...
since this post was link to my asking question post I'm just going to respond over here instead of over there.

Sorry, I didn't link the other post. I figured this was just a separate type of post since I was asking a question.
He is still at the vet and SHOULD be coming home today. He was on 2 types of insulin at the same time- the fast acting AND the Glargine.
I asked how long it would take to 'level themselves out' and was told about 3 days worth of doses. I was supposed to watch them give him his insulin yesterday but they gave it right before I got to the vet unfortunately. I did get to see him afterwards and while petting him, my hand became covered in insulin. The head vet said this was not normal and she would personally give him his insulin this morning. The vet who is taking care of Fuzzy called me this morning and told me it is normal for some insulin to leak out after withdrawing the needle and it has been accounted for and he is getting his full dose. They upped him to 4 units/dose and yesterday he was only on the Glargine. His blood glucose was like 650 something this morning and by the time they called it was down in the 400s. So that is real good.

I'm glad that they are also having the 'leakage' after injection as it lets me know I'm not a complete screw up. I'm not going to lie, while all of your posts are super informative, it really stresses me out because I THINK they would be right but I'm so scared to disobey the vet and screw something up big time. Like, I have people telling me left and right get syringes, adjust doses, and so on. And YES, I think it makes sense. But the vet is telling me other things. And I remember someone wanting me to ask how many diabetic cats they have saved or treated... don't remember- it is vague. But they have done a fair amount and even have an in house diabetic cat who is living a decent life.

I think for right now, I am going to follow the vet's instructions, get his numbers down to normal (hopefully) and by then I should be more accustomed to giving insulin and not be so scared I will screw up and kill my cat, and then I think we can go into using a syringe and giving tiny doses and such. While yes, I do think adjusting tiny doses can help a great deal, I believe this group has given me enough knowledge so far to make it through the beginning with the preshot tests and testing for ketones. Which he was passing ketones even though the strips were saying none. I am still going to keep those up because he doesn't need insulin if he is too low. Once we get numbers right, I will use the information provided here and talk with the vet so everyone can be on the same page. I truly do thank you for advice on syringes and everything else, but please understand, I am a complete newb here and this is super overwhelming just trying to manage what the vet told me... now add in everything from this site.
I will keep updating on fuzz because this site is a wealth of really good info and as I learn more perhaps what I learn can help others or there may be an emergency time that I need serious advice from here. Anyhow, I'm still super exhausted worrying so I am going to go rest my brain. Sorry about the rambling.
 
I hope you have luck with the vet, I here poor 5 and none of them knew how to treat my cat I decided to stay on the forum and not listen to any more vets ....
 
Fuzzy is back home! I showed up yesterday to the vet and video taped EXACTLY how they give him the insulin so I can copy it exactly- which I did this morning. Everything went really well. He is pretty much done with my garbage unfortunately. I was unable to get a read on his AMPS. The machine kept erroring out and I tried everything I could think of, warm compresses, massaging his little paw pads, tried the ear- nothing. I think it is I'm just not getting a large enough droplet of blood. I don't know. I am watching him closely right now and will try again shortly. He is up to 4 units at a time- (don't know if I mentioned that earlier or not) and I'm not screwing up like last time when I first got him home and adjusting his schedule by hours. Which looking back on things now- might be why his numbers were super high. They had him on about a 5am-5pm schedule. No one told me not to adjust it VERY slowly and the first night I waited until 10pm to give him his insulin. I told the tech (not the same one who gave me instructions the first time) and she told me that if I choose to move his schedule, do it very slowly like in increments of 15 minutes a day. For now though, I will get up at 5am to give him his shot. I want to see some normal numbers for a change.
For once in the last few weeks, I finally feel a little bit of relief.
Hope you all have a good day.
 
I'm so happy to hear FB is back home with you again. I'm sure he'll be happier there too.

If you don't like the Relion Confirm - I used mine happily for 5 years, there are lots of other options out there. Unfortunately the choices with the smaller blood drop requirement are few. It's always a good idea to have a second back up meter anyway, just in case. You don't need to put the AMPS numbers in your signature. The signature shouldn't contain items that change day to day.

It's more important that you adjust his schedule by 15 minute a shot, or 1/2 hour once per day, when you are moving the dose times closer together. If you are moving it later, it's not as critical if you move it a little faster. This post might help: Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

A huge favour to ask of you. Our convention on this forum, due to the large number of kitties here, is to start a new thread for every new day we post, instead of just adding onto th existing one which can make it very long. You can include a link to the previous post for continuity. POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ These guidelines are what we found worked so we can help you and won't miss your updates.
 
A huge favour to ask of you. Our convention on this forum, due to the large number of kitties here, is to start a new thread for every new day we post, instead of just adding onto th existing one which can make it very long. You can include a link to the previous post for continuity. POSTING GUIDELINES PLEASE READ These guidelines are what we found worked so we can help you and won't miss your updates.
I am sorry, I missed that part about 1 new convo a day. I thought it was just change the title each day when it has been updated. I apologize and will start doing that.
 
Fuzzy is a new diagnosis. He had/has DKA and just recently got out of the hospital.
I checked his urine this morning and no ketones present. Last night there was a tiny amount. I am including ketones findings in his spreadsheet.

I am having issues giving injections. This is the second time I don't know if he got it all. When I withdraw the pen and stroke his fur, my gloved hand gets damp. Not a lot, just a little. This morning it was the thumb pad was damp. I shaved his fur to ensure I wasn't having a fur stick and the needle was entering. I am tenting the skin - I thought plenty of skin, but maybe not? I don't know, does the pen dribble on the way out?
I know the vet told me there would always be a droplet at the tip at the end- which there is. But this seems larger than a small tiny droplet.

Yes, I am aware his levels are reading high. I am working on getting them normal. Today is the first day I did a pre-shot test. I was told by someone else that I need to invest in some syringes that have .25 units so I can draw straight from the pen and be able to adjust his dosing as needed.

My thing is though, if I'm not getting it all in and I attempt to adjust it and then get it all in and it really messes him up- then what. I need to make sure I am doing this right. So I'm asking, does the pen leave dampness on the fur afterwards, or does it leak out of the skin after injection?

I see your talking about a spreadsheet. That's good. Keep detailed logs if EVERYTHING. Any changes. Anything you think is "different". Any time he vomits, even if it seems "normal", like it's a big hairball. If he pees outside the box. If he just seems more tired or more active than normal. Its hard to see patterns in individual ponts but several times we figured out problems with Elmer by plotting the detailed data we kept and spotting patterns. For example, he was throwing up a lot. We tried taking him off medications for a week at a time and adding them back and we couldn't really see a difference. But then I plotted it and I could see one of the medications he was on made the instances of vomiting jump up two to three times. When we had taken him off it, it dropped, when put him back on it, it jumped up again. When we took him off it again, it dropped again. There was no doubt.


I suggest getting an infant scale. Make sure it reads to at least 0.01lb or about 1/6 of an ounce. Many only read to 0.1lb which is 1.6 oz (and probably reads on the scale more like +/-2 or 3 when you take into account the accuracy of the scale) which is not quite enough.(I guess it would be ok if it was what you had). I had one that would only read to a tenth of a lb, but it would also read in an XlbsYoz mode that went to a 10th of an oz (0.1oz) so that was ok. It was slightly annoying though because the vet always measured in hundredths of a lb. It's hard to get a good weight reading on a cat by for example holding it on the adult scale and subtracting your weight so I always felt the baby scale was one of my most important tools for monitoring his health Weigh him frequently and record it in your log. Sudden weight loss or gain is usually the first sign things are going sideways and you can intervene before he's at deaths door. We found that it was virtually impossible to detect a weight gain of less than a lb just by looking at him or picking him up. (Or having him jump on your face when your asleep). Unless he lost a pound or a pound and a half we couldn't tell without weighing him. He was 12lbs, so for a 6lb cat, those numbers would be less,as would the acceptable range. The doctor told us to keep him between a 12 and 13 lbs, and we constantly monitored and adjusted his diet. His calories were strictly controlled and we monitored bot what he was given and what he failed to eat so we knew exactly how much he consumed. What I did figure out exactly how much food he needed to maintain weight. That was in his log book. (We used an actual book) When he had food put down, if he ate it all, that's great. If he didn't and done had to be thrown away, we put it in a container and weighed it and put that in the log book. If we could we'd try to get him to eat that much fresh food that day so he got what he was supposed to. That not only helped him keep his weight in the optimal range, which important for diabetics, but gave us detailed information when something went wrong to help the doctor figure it out. For example, if he's losing weight, or gaining weight, is it because he's not eating all his food, or eating more food, or is he eating the same amount and losing or gaining which can point to specific issues.

I dont know much about the pen, I always used a syringe. What insulin is he on? I used 30u syringes with half unit markings. If you use syringes be careful to READ the packaging and create a habit where you don't just take a syringe out and use it, but every time take the syringe out and LOOK at it and READ the markings and do a mental check list to make sure it's 30u with half unit markings.

Also be aware that sone syringes have slightly screwed up markings. The ones I got at Walmart had an extra half unit at the bottom. So for example, if you drew it up to the one unit mark and dispense it all, you really have dispensed a unit and a half. Its not a problem if you always use those syringes, except you might start the initial dosage a bit higher than you expected but since your carefully monitoring blood sugar when you start or change doses you shouldn't have any issues. The problem is if you get a different syringe. Either it could have that extra half when you don't expect it or not face it when your used to dispensing it on top of what you're reading. In fact I didn't have a microgram balance available so I can't even really say it's an actual half. I found this out when I bought syringes at Sam's club because they were a few dollars cheaper instead of Walmart where I normally bought them. The Walmart ones had the half extra and I never noticed it or thought about it because it was what I always used, but the Sam's club ones did not. (Another advantage of ALL WAYS going through that mental check list of reading the size and looking to make sure it has the correct and expected half unit markings.)

Also, one time the pharmacist gave me the WRONG syringes and I didn't notice until after his shot. Fortunately he was really high that morning and it was ok and he just came down to 78. But we monitored him closely all morning.


In case he goes hypo keep a 2ml plastic syringe around (I'll send you some) filled with high fructose corn syrup (like karo syrup). Presumably you've curved him, so you know how long it takes to hit the minimum ("nadir"). Check an hour before that. If hes in the 80s to 90s check again in half hour. Then another half. You'll learn how things look after a while and it will be less stressful. If he starts going into the low 70s give him a mL of corn syrup orally (oddly, I've red cars can't taste sweet) and then check again in 15 minutes. If he's still going down give him another ml and check again in 15 minutes. If he's STILL going down give him 2ml and get him to the hospital immediately. (My plan was that I'd bring the meter and check him again the parking lot then, if it's coming back up check every 15 minutes for an hour or so sitting in the parking lot. But I never had to do it. In the rare case that the first didn't fix him right up, he second dose of corn syrup always worked for me.

Also be aware that your situation might be a bit different than mine, depending on what insulin your giving. I was using Relion NPH insulin from Walmart. The gold standard now is Lantis or it's bio similar equivalents like Semglee. Back when I started treating el er, Vetsulin was off the story temporarily and Lantis was so hideously expensive that I simply was not an option. The situation is much better now. But NPH was working for him so we just stayed with it. But it has a rather short time of action. Id give him his shot at 7am and he'd nadir about 11:30am. So if you have a longer acting insulin I suspect all of this is stretched out. Also be aware that smaller doses will affect the time to nadir of sone insulins. But I only have direct experience with the NPH.


One problem I occasionally had with the injections is poking right through and losing the insulin shot out the other side. That is expecially likely to happen if you have the longer needle. (Which may be relevant to pens as well as syringes) I'd just pull up some skin on his neck into a little tent. Make a dent with my finger, the poke the needle all the way in until the syringe body was against him, and depress the plunger down and hold it for a half second. To load the insulin in the needle, id first prep the bottle by rolling it like you have to do with nph. Then pull the plunger back to a the mark I was going to inject, put the plunger into the bottle and invert it so the bottle is upside down. Then depress the plunger fully and finally draw out the insulin into the syringe a half a mil or so past the line indicating the desired dose. If there were air bubbles, Id depress the plunger and draw it out again. Then approach the line from the plunger side of the syringe. I could gave chose the other direction, but that could draw a bubble or cavitate so I always adjusted to the final dose by expelling insulin not drawing it in. In general I never like the idea of dispensing back into a container, but it's a sterile syringe, and the product has a fairly short shelf life and I never had an issue. Then if there was a drop on the end of the needle I would flick the plastic with my finger to knock it off. I followed the procedure religiously and taught others who had to give him the insulin the exact same technique. The technique isn't actually as important as the consistency. They would often feel it was frustrating and like I was over reacting to ti y variations in how they did it. But I used to work in an analytical lab where we used precision 5,10,25,50 and 109uL syringes to dispense analytical standards. We would have to check the calibration of our syringes every six months out accuracy dispensing was tested during training and our results were constantly evaluated with blind samples tests by a QC chemist. So I have a lot of experience with using and evaluating precision syringes and my takeaway was, 1)the accuracy of a syringe goes down the smaller amount you dispense because the error is mostly related to the distance yot off the mark, and 2) even if you getting poor precision (the amount might range 20% high or 20% low for example) consistent technique will still typically get you a high precision (a highly repeatable result, for example your could have poor accuracy, at 20% high, but good precision because it's always 20% high.) In the case of insulin the precision is more important than the accuracy, because you end up dialing in the dose. To a large extent you don't really care HOW MUCH your giving so long as it's the same amount that works each time. Presumably drawing it out of a pen cartridge with a syringe would be similar to a bottle.
 
Still at the vet...
since this post was link to my asking question post I'm just going to respond over here instead of over there.

Sorry, I didn't link the other post. I figured this was just a separate type of post since I was asking a question.
He is still at the vet and SHOULD be coming home today. He was on 2 types of insulin at the same time- the fast acting AND the Glargine.
I asked how long it would take to 'level themselves out' and was told about 3 days worth of doses. I was supposed to watch them give him his insulin yesterday but they gave it right before I got to the vet unfortunately. I did get to see him afterwards and while petting him, my hand became covered in insulin. The head vet said this was not normal and she would personally give him his insulin this morning. The vet who is taking care of Fuzzy called me this morning and told me it is normal for some insulin to leak out after withdrawing the needle and it has been accounted for and he is getting his full dose. They upped him to 4 units/dose and yesterday he was only on the Glargine. His blood glucose was like 650 something this morning and by the time they called it was down in the 400s. So that is real good.

I'm glad that they are also having the 'leakage' after injection as it lets me know I'm not a complete screw up. I'm not going to lie, while all of your posts are super informative, it really stresses me out because I THINK they would be right but I'm so scared to disobey the vet and screw something up big time. Like, I have people telling me left and right get syringes, adjust doses, and so on. And YES, I think it makes sense. But the vet is telling me other things. And I remember someone wanting me to ask how many diabetic cats they have saved or treated... don't remember- it is vague. But they have done a fair amount and even have an in house diabetic cat who is living a decent life.

I think for right now, I am going to follow the vet's instructions, get his numbers down to normal (hopefully) and by then I should be more accustomed to giving insulin and not be so scared I will screw up and kill my cat, and then I think we can go into using a syringe and giving tiny doses and such. While yes, I do think adjusting tiny doses can help a great deal, I believe this group has given me enough knowledge so far to make it through the beginning with the preshot tests and testing for ketones. Which he was passing ketones even though the strips were saying none. I am still going to keep those up because he doesn't need insulin if he is too low. Once we get numbers right, I will use the information provided here and talk with the vet so everyone can be on the same page. I truly do thank you for advice on syringes and everything else, but please understand, I am a complete newb here and this is super overwhelming just trying to manage what the vet told me... now add in everything from this site.
I will keep updating on fuzz because this site is a wealth of really good info and as I learn more perhaps what I learn can help others or there may be an emergency time that I need serious advice from here. Anyhow, I'm still super exhausted worrying so I am going to go rest my brain. Sorry about the rambling.
I agree. RIght now, follow the vets instructions. Too many cooks in the soup and all. Most important monitor him and get him to the vet if things are trending wrong. I think the advice applies that if you can't trust your lawyer/doctor/vet/roofer/auto mechanic, you need to go find one you do trust. (That being said, some people have limited options.)


I'll double down on my previous comment about injection technique. Strive for consistency in how you do it. If you do exactly the same thing every time you came lect exactly the same result. Right or wrong, some lost or not, if he gets the same insulin every time, thats good enough.

What kind of gloves are you using? I cant imagine using gloves for that, because it would just get in my way, but that's neither here nor there. You need the gloves. The important thing is your taking care of your fuzz ball. Your a good cat mom. (Unlike someone I knew who was going on about her cat being sick, so she took him to the vet and they gave her meds. But she wouldn't give them to the car because he didn't want to take them. I told her to suck it up and wrap the car in a towel and if you get bit you get bit because the cat needed its meds. I even offered to show her how. (And probably even get bit) She didn't do it and the cat died. Then she trying to get sympathy about losing her cat. I told her, i have sympathy for your cat, but not you.)


So just keep in mind. Your doing the things you need to do and taking care of your baby like you should. And hopefully he'll get like Elmer and it will come under control and he'll be feeling good again.

So the question then is, what kind of gloves will work best. I suggest going to harbor freight and trying their thin (3 mil I think). Try to get a size that will stretch snugly over your hands. The down side is they can tear if your not careful putting them on. But a good neoprene glove is pretty stretch. Working in labs I think ice work virtually every kind they make. Something like that would be the most comfortable abd give you those most feeling of what your doing. The vinyl gloves from the pharmacy are garbage. Latex gloves should get avoided. They have some uses (although neoprene is better, just 5x the cost) but for the most part, they just risk allergies. Even if your not alergic now , you can be one alergic later do it's best to skip them.
 
Last edited:
I actually have a scale I use for postage which can work I believe. I never thought about the weighing, but that makes complete sense. That is also a brillant idea with weighing the food before eating and after eating to know how much was eaten. I've just been trying to eyeball it and right now the vet doesn't have him on any diet- they want him to eat whatever he will eat because he is recovering from the DKA.

He is on Glargine (the name brand is Lantus but we are on generic version) it is a pen that is given 2x/day. If/when we move to syringes, believe me I will be checking everything constantly- and double checking.
We haven't done the curve yet. He has an appointment on the 11th for the curve. I have gotten him some canned gravy meals for 'just in case' and have those put away. I have read about cats going hypo and it sounds so scary. There was a link to a new diagnosee and I think the lady gave too much insulin to her cat and sat up with the baby all night giving gravy catfood and such to keep the glucose levels up.

I'm not drawing the insulin out of the pen just yet. I am going with what the vet is instructing me to do so we can get his levels steady and make sure he is in the clear from the DKA. When he is, then I will discuss micro adjustments and using syringes with the pens.
I actually do trust this vet- they are a good drive away but it is because I didn't care for the ones close by where I live.
My gloves- they aren't Needlestick gloves. They are plain old nitrate gloves. It is because I had an allergic reaction to medication about 20 years ago and it has made me terrified of medications and chemicals. So when I am doing anything that runs the chance of getting anything on me, I wear gloves to give myself a bit of extra protection. I have already stuck myself with one of Fuzzy's used needles. I was trying to put the cap back on and the needle pierced the plastic cap and got my thumb. I freaked out big time. I have now adopted a new way to cap off my used needles by scooping the cap up from a flat surface. But the gloves aren't protection from needlesticks, it is just a layer of protection to calm my mind. Even if I didn't have the gloves and got the insulin on me- which I have already- I wouldn't let my fear get in the way of taking care of him. Logically, I know I am ok. My fear is an illogical bit that I will recover from shortly. So, I just take a deep breath to calm myself and take care of him. Then when he is safe, I have my mini freakout- play some beat saber or fortnite and I'm good to go again. I know it sounds silly being scared of medication, but I can't really control it, I've been trying. Ive gotten loads better over the last 20 years where I'm not having panic attacks constantly. Its just something I deal with and I'm not letting it get in the way of Fuzzy's care. I had thought about getting needlestick gloves, but they would be rather bulky and I don't feel like I would have as much control while wearing them as I do the plain nitrile gloves. I would much rather have good control so there is less of a chance of hurting Fuz.
I too am hoping we can get this under control. He is being a real trooper and putting up with my testing and nonsense. He even seems to know when it is time for his insulin as he starts coming to me shortly before his shot time and before Alexa alerts that it is time for his insulin.
 
Back
Top