04-04 Allie AMPS 177

Breelynne

Member Since 2023
Well Allie had her lowest reading this morning and it freaked me out.

I took her BS at 7:33AM and it was 177 lowest reading yet. I waited about 30 mins. and I should have checked it again but fed her almost a whole can of FF Pate tested at 8:35 and her BS was 420 :(
I gave her shot @ 8:37AM but shorted it by .5 she is @ 3.75 units twice a day so I shot 3.25.

At 10:43AM her BS was 358 but I was leaving home for a few hours fed her 1/4 can of food canned.
Arrived home and tested her BS was 229 at 1:43PM and of course she wanted to eat so I gave her FF Salmon naturals and at 3:17PM her BS was 340.

She used to eat at 8AM-4PM-10PM and had dry out all the time before her diagnosis. I have a second cat that is 2 years younger but overweight so she is also put on a lower carb diet.

Since Allie's diagnosis, she wants to eat at different times of the day.
8AM Was always both of their feeding times but now because there is not dry out all the time she comes back at 10AM - 2PM - 4PM - 6PM (this puts her at the cut off time before her PMPS) 8PM at her shot time and then at 10PM. I leave some food out until midnight but she hardly eats after 10PM.

I am having a tough time where she eats to much during the day and not enough at night.
I need help scheduling feeding since I can't always be home during the day to fed her when she wants food. How do we manage this. She barely touches the dry, my other cat eats that vs the canned for snacks. I did buy some young Again but now I am rethinking that because it's higher in calories which I like for Allie but not my other cat Cassie.

Any guidance would be helpful I have the next 4 days off where I can be her 24 hours a day if need be.

I'm new at posting and understand that I post each day here with her numbers and the link to the previous thread?
 
Welcome to LLB. Here’s the last post I think that you do want to put when starting your first post of the day.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-perfect-the-spreadsheet.275356/#post-3061421

While lower than you have shot 177 is a good and safe bg. I fed 3 mini meals each cycle and stopped feeding around nadir. Do you have a timed feeder? It’s fine for her to eat more during the day. You only need to pick up food 2 hours before shot time at first. She likely is bouncing from being lower than she is used to combined with a food bump.

Stalling was a good idea. However when you stall, DON’T feed. The point of stalling is to make sure the bg is not still dropping.
 
Thanks for the welcome and your link. Do I use that same link each time? I am copy and pasting notes!
That must be Max, cutie :)

Looks like you have been here for a while, no doubt you've helped many sugar kitties.

I'm just worried when I can't be here for hours at a time. I don't have a timed feeder but I was looking at them. I have the 2 cats so I'm not sure who would get to the feeder first. I have Young Again here and was going to use it but both cats get sick on just half a tablespoon. I currently use Dr. Elsey's Chicken but my sugar kitty doesn't seem to care for it. I have 4 days to see if I need feeders or if I can free feed.

Looking for Allie's nadir and it seems to be 6-8 hours in? That is right about the time she really begs for food 6PM at night, of course 2 hours before her PM shot @ 8:PM.

Lesson learned! Stalling is good. Give it 30 mins and test again. If it goes down do I give a reduced dose? If it goes up, she gets the full dose?

While I was replying to you I gave her 1/2 TBS of Young Again today and now she has loose stools! I've never had that with her. What should I do??
 
Is there a reason why you just don’t feed the wet food and ditch the dry? I know there are feeders that work with a collar chip and only the cat wearing it can open it. I never used one because Max was a scaredy cat and very routine oriented and my only cat when he became diabetic.

At first we suggest not shooting a full dose if under 200 but gradually reduce the no shot/reduced number as you gather data. This morning had you not fed and stalled and you didn’t drop you would shoot a full dose. Since she has been on insulin a few months 170 would have been safe to shoot a full dose provided you could monitor. The dose you shot wasn’t decreased enough if you needed to leave. You would then have been better shooting 1.0.
Which dry food has she been eating?
 
Is there a reason why you just don’t feed the wet food and ditch the dry? I know there are feeders that work with a collar chip and only the cat wearing it can open it. I never used one because Max was a scaredy cat and very routine oriented and my only cat when he became diabetic.

At first we suggest not shooting a full dose if under 200 but gradually reduce the no shot/reduced number as you gather data. This morning had you not fed and stalled and you didn’t drop you would shoot a full dose. Since she has been on insulin a few months 170 would have been safe to shoot a full dose provided you could monitor. The dose you shot wasn’t decreased enough if you needed to leave. You would then have been better shooting 1.0.
Which dry food has she been eating?

Allie my sugar kitty would be OK on canned but they are both so darn picky. I swear I opened 7 cans of food the other night, can't go through 7 cans at each feeding...The TNR colony loves me bunches! LOL Anything that looks like real food she wants nothing to do with it.

I saw those collars and feeders but my Cassie cat is like Max, every detail in the house is noted and if anything is out of place, she freaks...That is NOT supposed to be there. She hides under my covers when someone comes in the home which is not very often. Her mom really engrained the feral into her. Allie might not mind, she honestly comes to the kitchen and watches am set up her testing and her shot, no problem mom let's do this so I can eat!

I was hoping the dry would be an option when I am gone like life was before (even though it's not). Allie wants canned for feedings, she went off dry before being diagnosed, think she knew it was making her not feel well. I thought the food went bad, but I've fed and kept that food the same way for many years....Cassie is fine with the dry in between meals, she actually prefers it. The timed feeders have ice packs I worry cold food may upset her stomach?
Guess I could always put a camera on the foods...I have them on the litter boxes.

Should have listened to my instincts and shot the full dose but I guess better safe than sorry. I know now and that is what matters! I know 170 is still higher. This is a learning curve for me. She may eat a little of the Dr Elsey's chicken but not much, think she thinks it's going to make her feel yucky again. I was wanting Young Again to try but after she ate 1/2 TBS she got those soft stools as did the cat so that is going back, not worth it. I'm lucky Allie has an iron belly! I like the zero carbs and calorie count. She was 14 lbs at diagnosis and is holding at 12.3-12.4.

Sorry for the long post! Thanks for listening and helping!

Like I said I have the next 4 day to stay home all the time and try to get a system into place and find someone for shots if something happens to me.
 
Yes that is correct, So when you do your new thread for today (4-5) you will link this thread 4-4) to today's

I'm waiting until noon for her +4 number. She was high this morning but she had those loose stools last night tested her at about 1:30 AM.

Which link would I use going forward?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-04-allie-amps-177.276086/#post-3061612
or
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-perfect-the-spreadsheet.275356/#post-3061421
 
I'm waiting until noon for her +4 number. She was high this morning but she had those loose stools last night tested her at about 1:30 AM.

Which link would I use going forward?
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/04-04-allie-amps-177.276086/#post-3061612
or
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-perfect-the-spreadsheet.275356/#post-3061421
Hi Breelynne you would link the 4-4 date to your new post today.
I have heard the Young Again dry caused loose stools in a lot of kitties
@Breelynne
 
Last edited:
Hi Breelynne you would link the 4-4 date to your new post today.
I have heard the Young Again dry caused loose stools in a lot of kitties
@Breelynne

Diane, I'd say that is a fact. I am sending it back, both cats only had 1/2 Tablespoon and both had a reaction. Poor Allie is still with an upset stomach but she is still eating and drinking water. I'm trying to mix in fresh baked chicken in FF pate chicken because she won't eat the fresh baked chicken it on it's own. Her numbers are a little higher today :(
 
Back
Top