03/31 Furball AMPS=365 PMPS=282

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=92114

Furball was happy & purry this morning. She is bouncing from dipping into blue last night. Her PMPS +2.5 was 189. It would have been nice to be able to get a mid cycle test last night, but it is the start of allergy season. If I don't get my sleep, I will get sick.

Furball's last reduction didn't work and I took her back up to the 1.5 units where she was giving me nice blues and greens before. Now all she is doing is bouncing. Will she settle back into this dose or do I need to increase or decrease the dose? I can measure a dose between 1.5 units and 1.25 units with the calipers if I need to. Thanks for your advice.

Happy Easter everyone.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

It's hard to tell because you don't have a lot of mid-cycle tests and that's what we base the dosing on is the nadir.
From looking at what you have, it looks like she does need a dose increase. Let's see what she does today, and also see what other opinions you receive today. Can you get mid-cycle tests today?
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Hello and good morning!

I know we are not really supposed to give advice in regards to other people's kitties in dosing. Every Cat is Different, so I can only tell you what I would do if that was my Stella's chart. I would raise it by .5 most people suggest .25. You have to always make your own decision. I try to avoid pink because it is as harmful as a hypo kitty. Hyper kitties have another set of problems. Only you have the 'live' living breathing cat in front of you. Most kitties hide illness in their body and you have to notice very microscopic changes in their eyes. Most often times that is how I can tell what to do with Stella.

If you have time to do a curve (get a read every two hours) that would give some great information.

Again, you are the best judge on how to proceed. I look forward to seeing what you decide. Good luck!!!
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Hi Carla, just stepping in to say hello. Good luck on the dose and looks like you're already getting some good feedback. Have a wonderful day.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

I won't be able to get many extra tests in today because it is Easter. I will be visiting family most of the afternoon.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Mary & Stella said:
I can only tell you what I would do if that was my Stella's chart. I would raise it by .5 most people suggest .25. You have to always make your own decision. I try to avoid pink because it is as harmful as a hypo kitty. Hyper kitties have another set of problems.
I have to respectfully disagree.

The reason we use the Tight Regulation Protocol is that it is an aggressive approach to dosing. However, and I can't emphasize this enough, it is safe in that doses are arrived at in a systematic manner. If the nadir is below 300, an increase of 0.25u is recommended. Larger increases occur if the nadirs are mostly above 300 (or the cat is on a very large dose of insulin). Furball's nadirs are largely in the 200s.

Furthermore, Carla is following SLGS. Based on those guidelines, increases are made in increments of 0.25u.

While there can be long term effects of diabetes on end organs, the danger is by no means as acute as risking hypoglycemia. Hypoglycemia can kill quickly or cause other injury such as starving the brain due to lack of glucose. If you were to ask me to choose whether I would want my cat's BG in the hypoglycemic range for a day or in hyperglycemic numbers for a day there is no question -- I'd opt for the high numbers.
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

You won't hear any argument from me. :lol: Please look at my SS and you will see we did .25 and after the 5th cycle added another .25 (.5) total.

As I said Carla, it is your cat and you know your cat. Happy Easter!
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Happy Easter Carla. I wish you luck with whatever you decide to do with dosing. Furball, lets come down for a blue surf today, ok?

Have a great day,
Kathie
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Morning Carla ~O) ~O) ~O)

Good luck with your dose decision. If it were me, I'd give Furball time to settle into this dose. With Mannie, it takes sometime, often a week, for him to settle. If things don't settle ina couple of days, perhaps an increase is in order. Good luck!

Happy Easter to you - enjoy the time with family. :-D
 
Re: 03/31 Furball AMPS=365 Dose Question

Carla

Wishing you and your family

BGenhkpCUAA_g0R.jpg:thumb


From Marje, Mike, Gus, Gracie, and Tobey

You can fatten her dose a bit if you'd like to see if it will bring down the numbers. Good luck, Carla.
 
Thanks everyone for your thoughts on Furball's dose. I kept the dose the same tonight. I may fatten it in a couple of days. I don't like to increase at the beginning of the week because I have to go back to work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top