03/31/22 MICIO: AMBG 75 no shot

He just ate and tested him again and he's at 75 now. Not comfortable to shoot at all right now
Ok. I think it might be wise to skip the dose. This happened a couple of days ago and he got back on track ok.
How does he seem to you today.? Poor boy has been through a lot the last few days.
Are you still giving the Cabergoline?
 
Ok. I think it might be wise to skip the dose. This happened a couple of days ago and he got back on track ok.
How does he seem to you today.? Poor boy has been through a lot the last few days.
Are you still giving the Cabergoline?

Finally, a little break...spent the night awake monitoring Micio, just fed him, just poop the biggest amount ever and no seizure, doing ok and resting now.
Meanwhile, I was also taking care of my other cat which has IBD and just vomited while having bloody diarrhea (2nd time in 2 days) and all this is happening at the same time as Micio's ordeal.....I swear, going to have an aneurism soon!

No more seizures for Micio since the other night, pretty sure either the combination of the 2 meds or just one of them caused that. I stopped both 'till I'll hear from the vet...Oh, wait, I don't really have a vet...again! right when I needed the most.
It took me a long time to find (what I thought) a reputable vet clinic as my old vet just retired and pretty much left me on the limbo with Micio's situation.
When Micio started having seizures couple of days ago, I called the new vet but they said the care Dr. is out all week and no way to contact him so they were going to have another vet to call me and let me know what to do with the meds; instead, they called back saying the other doctors at the same clinic won't do anything because Micio is not their patient and his case is too "complex" right now and I have to go to the ER. Next available app. would be 0n April 14th with a whatever doctor or would have to wait 'till middle of May to see the care Dr..
Yesterday I called the ER hospital (which happens to have specialties doctors) and see if I could have an app. with the same IM I've seen before but they said I need a referral from my vet (which is not available till May?) and so I'm currently looking for another vet but not easy to find cause no many at all accept new patients.
Just can't believe this is happening, both of my cats need care...cannot afford to go to the ER every single time...I'm completely at a loss and don't know where to turn my head. Just need a reliable vet. Will continue to look now
 
You have shot preshots lower than 84 before. Is there a reason you don’t want to give the full dose?
BTW, I don't think that 84 was right, not enough blood on the strip test cause Micio was getting nervous at feeding time and don't think I got that right. I tested him again right after he ate and it was back to 75. I'd rather to shot Micio on "higher/safer" numbers for now till I get him to a vet
 
I’m just amazed how offhand some vets are especially with cats who have complex issues. I was very lucky with Sheba’s vet. There were two of them and both were great. If I ever had an issue with Sheba and especially if she was not eating, they would always fit me in that day. They have both retired now and I am vet hunting myself. Have tried a couple but am not sure if I like them enough to go back.

I’m sorry you have so much going on at the moment with both your kitties.
Is there a vet a bit further afield who would be worth going to? It is ridiculous for them to expect you to wait weeks for an apt when you have a diabetic kitty on two new medications who is having problems with the meds. Where are their ethics?
You must be tired. :bighug:
 
I’m just amazed how offhand some vets are especially with cats who have complex issues. I was very lucky with Sheba’s vet. There were two of them and both were great. If I ever had an issue with Sheba and especially if she was not eating, they would always fit me in that day. They have both retired now and I am vet hunting myself. Have tried a couple but am not sure if I like them enough to go back.

I’m sorry you have so much going on at the moment with both your kitties.
Is there a vet a bit further afield who would be worth going to? It is ridiculous for them to expect you to wait weeks for an apt when you have a diabetic kitty on two new medications who is having problems with the meds. Where are their ethics?
You must be tired. :bighug:
No more ethics, very disappointing.
Thank you for your support
 
Last edited:
Rather than having to skip, I think it's better to reduce his dose. I'd try 7.5 units next.

Maybe try posting in the Feline Health forum for "good vet near Indianapolis", might be able to find a member with a recommendation near you. I'd also call back the clinic that said he's too complicated for them if they'd at least give a referral to the IM vet. Neko's vet was really good at letting me know when Neko got "beyond her pay grade" and referring me to the IM.
 
Rather than having to skip, I think it's better to reduce his dose. I'd try 7.5 units next.

Maybe try posting in the Feline Health forum for "good vet near Indianapolis", might be able to find a member with a recommendation near you. I'd also call back the clinic that said he's too complicated for them if they'd at least give a referral to the IM vet. Neko's vet was really good at letting me know when Neko got "beyond her pay grade" and referring me to the IM.

Right, thought about another reduction...most likely tonight he's good to go for it. Tnx
Already called the ER and they told me the IM I've seen before is pretty booked up and looking at 4-6 week at least. Will try calling the vet again, still looking for a new one though
 
I'm not sure how comfortable you are, but being between a rock and hard place, if it were me I'd start the Benazepril back up at half the dose he was last getting. I don't think it's good to let him to too long without it.

The cab can certainly wait.

Another though, virtual consultations, possibly even out of state? I'm not sure on state board rules. I imagine vets would be hesitant to do that, but maybe an IM or endocrinologist?
 
I'm not sure how comfortable you are, but being between a rock and hard place, if it were me I'd start the Benazepril back up at half the dose he was last getting. I don't think it's good to let him to too long without it.

The cab can certainly wait.

Another though, virtual consultations, possibly even out of state? I'm not sure on state board rules. I imagine vets would be hesitant to do that, but maybe an IM or endocrinologist?
I understand the importance of taking care of Micio proteinuria, bp and heart but what if he is allergic to benazepril and causes him seizures?
He's back to almost normal today, may want to give another couple of days and maybe try Benazepril again: Micio is lb14.3, he started at 5Mg daily ( 1/2 pill every 12 hours), you're suggesting 2.5Mg per day correct? What's the minimum amount that could be given to begin with?
 
The lowest dose I see is 0.12mg/lb once or twice a day, so 1.7mg. I'm guessing it might be hard to break up the pill that way? Would probably need it compounded, maybe the vet would at least do that for you?

I will fully admit I am no vet or vet tech, doctor, etc. But it seems to me it just dropped his blood pressure too far, and it's a darn shame they wouldn't even see him to do something as simple as take blood pressure.

As someone with low blood pressure, yes using the litterbox could be enough physical exertion for him to black out/pass out like the seizures you're describing if it is his blood pressure that's the problem. And same with the weakness/slow moving. When I first sit up, especially in the morning, I lose vision for about 10 seconds. I have to wait about a minute to be able to stand up, and even then I'm wobbly and lightheaded for a few minutes til my heart really gets moving. It can happen any time of day if I'm relaxing and then get up to move, or something physically exerting.

If he was allergic I think you'd have seen other issues - anaphylaxis/breathing issues, hives/itchy/swelling. Lethargy is always a possible marker though.
 
Benazapril isn't what is used to handle high blood pressure. It didn't impact Neko that way.
Well now I'm a little confused, it is used to handle high blood pressure....or rather, one of the side effects is lowered blood pressure/possible hypotension.
 
Usually amlodipine is the go to for high BP. Neko's dose was also smaller for most of her life, and she was about the same size as Micio, just not as high urine protein/creatinine ratio.
 
Amlodipine is the go to for high Bp. But Benazepril can have mild BP lowering effects. I have read of a connection between constipation and straining and seizures…. So I am just throwing that out there as food for thought too.
 
So, how do we know what's best for Micio...Benazepril, Amlodipine or Semintra? One thing I noticed while he wasn't feeling good was his pupils were very big most of the times and now, that he's back to 100% normal, they're normal. Usually, when I take him to the vet and he's scared and BP is higher his pupils ill be bigger...little confused now
 
Amlodipine is the go to for high Bp. But Benazepril can have mild BP lowering effects. I have read of a connection between constipation and straining and seizures…. So I am just throwing that out there as food for thought too.

Would love to know more about the connection between constipation-straining and seizures...although, the seizures only happened in conjunction while still giving Beanzepril and Cabergoline, but in the past it happened before that he vomit after straining a bit
 
What was Micio’s blood pressure? Was it tested more than once to make sure it wasn’t Vet stress? Neko first time was over 220, when her normal was in the 140’s. Appointment delay due to vet emergency, barking dogs in waiting room, one who sniffer her cage, incompetent tech not familiar with Doppler. Even the vet called it an epic fail and didn’t charge for the attempt.

If he does have high BP, he might need amlodipine in addition to one of the others.
 
What was Micio’s blood pressure? Was it tested more than once to make sure it wasn’t Vet stress? Neko first time was over 220, when her normal was in the 140’s. Appointment delay due to vet emergency, barking dogs in waiting room, one who sniffer her cage, incompetent tech not familiar with Doppler. Even the vet called it an epic fail and didn’t charge for the attempt.

If he does have high BP, he might need amlodipine in addition to one of the others.

When I took MIcio for his first appointment at the new vet on 16 March, we didn't wait too long at the waiting room and it wasn't crowded at all; then we moved to the exam room and, by the time the nurse did her routine things ( fill out form and take his weight) and Dr. came to take his bp, Micio wasn't as nervous as he used to be at the older clinic at all. BP was 172/107, Dr. said may have been a bit higher due to the visit but not too bad and I agreed.
I did ask him to look into Benazepril to possibly help Micio with proteinuria and bp and he agreed to it and said he was going to make sure those meds were going to be a good fit for him without interactions; next thing he okey the meds and I started Micio on those meds as per the Dr.'s directions.
As my last attempt, since the vet supposed to be back next Monday, I'll call and ask to talk to him in order to have some direction on the meds.
Also may consider to purchase a bp monitor for pets myself if I can get more accurate bp readings at home.
 
This is the one that I have for checking my kitties' Blood Pressure. It's about $50.00 It can be tricky and takes some practice. You put the BP cuff at the base of their tail. If you take the readings on a regular basis, then it should give you an idea of where your kitty is and if the BP is rising or falling, etc. Then you can compare with the vet's readings, which may be more accurate, but it is definitely helpful if you have a cat with kidney disease or another disease where high blood pressure is a problem.
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B075CVM9R6/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
I actually bought a Doppler like the vets use. I got a refurbished one but still with all the parts was still quite expensive. It was only used once at my vet’s office because Max developed CHF and was gone fast. At the time the cheap ones didn’t work but many say they do now. Tanyascrf has information on them.
 
I bought this unit because it was listed on by Tanya’s felinecrf.org site. It was being used by a lot of the members with success.
 
My vet uses a sphygmomanometer for general BP checking. They use a doppler during surgeries, of course - continual monitoring
 
Back
Top