Because what's being happening with Micio latelyYou have shot preshots lower than 84 before. Is there a reason you don’t want to give the full dose?
I’ve just read what happened on the SS remarks column. Can’t believe the vet won’t see you….I’d definitely get a new vet too!Because what's being happening with Micio lately
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-28-22-micio-amps-72-skipped-the-shot.261259/
He just ate and tested him again and he's at 75 now. Not comfortable to shoot at all right nowI’ve just read what happened on the SS remarks column. Can’t believe the vet won’t see you….I’d definitely get a new vet too!
What dose would you be comfortable giving?
Ok. I think it might be wise to skip the dose. This happened a couple of days ago and he got back on track ok.He just ate and tested him again and he's at 75 now. Not comfortable to shoot at all right now
Ok. I think it might be wise to skip the dose. This happened a couple of days ago and he got back on track ok.
How does he seem to you today.? Poor boy has been through a lot the last few days.
Are you still giving the Cabergoline?
BTW, I don't think that 84 was right, not enough blood on the strip test cause Micio was getting nervous at feeding time and don't think I got that right. I tested him again right after he ate and it was back to 75. I'd rather to shot Micio on "higher/safer" numbers for now till I get him to a vetYou have shot preshots lower than 84 before. Is there a reason you don’t want to give the full dose?

No more ethics, very disappointing.I’m just amazed how offhand some vets are especially with cats who have complex issues. I was very lucky with Sheba’s vet. There were two of them and both were great. If I ever had an issue with Sheba and especially if she was not eating, they would always fit me in that day. They have both retired now and I am vet hunting myself. Have tried a couple but am not sure if I like them enough to go back.
I’m sorry you have so much going on at the moment with both your kitties.
Is there a vet a bit further afield who would be worth going to? It is ridiculous for them to expect you to wait weeks for an apt when you have a diabetic kitty on two new medications who is having problems with the meds. Where are their ethics?
You must be tired.![]()
Rather than having to skip, I think it's better to reduce his dose. I'd try 7.5 units next.
Maybe try posting in the Feline Health forum for "good vet near Indianapolis", might be able to find a member with a recommendation near you. I'd also call back the clinic that said he's too complicated for them if they'd at least give a referral to the IM vet. Neko's vet was really good at letting me know when Neko got "beyond her pay grade" and referring me to the IM.
I understand the importance of taking care of Micio proteinuria, bp and heart but what if he is allergic to benazepril and causes him seizures?I'm not sure how comfortable you are, but being between a rock and hard place, if it were me I'd start the Benazepril back up at half the dose he was last getting. I don't think it's good to let him to too long without it.
The cab can certainly wait.
Another though, virtual consultations, possibly even out of state? I'm not sure on state board rules. I imagine vets would be hesitant to do that, but maybe an IM or endocrinologist?
Well now I'm a little confused, it is used to handle high blood pressure....or rather, one of the side effects is lowered blood pressure/possible hypotension.Benazapril isn't what is used to handle high blood pressure. It didn't impact Neko that way.
Amlodipine is the go to for high Bp. But Benazepril can have mild BP lowering effects. I have read of a connection between constipation and straining and seizures…. So I am just throwing that out there as food for thought too.
What was Micio’s blood pressure? Was it tested more than once to make sure it wasn’t Vet stress? Neko first time was over 220, when her normal was in the 140’s. Appointment delay due to vet emergency, barking dogs in waiting room, one who sniffer her cage, incompetent tech not familiar with Doppler. Even the vet called it an epic fail and didn’t charge for the attempt.
If he does have high BP, he might need amlodipine in addition to one of the others.
Not nearly as easy as BG readings. And way more expensive. Tagging @tiffmaxee who looked into this.may consider to purchase a bp monitor for pets myself if I can get more accurate bp readings at home.
You need that with the Doppler.My vet uses a sphygmomanometer for general BP checking.