Golf2015
Member Since 2020
- BG Reading @ AMPS is (84)
- Preshot Dosage =1.25 units
- Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb
- Next BG Reading @ AMPS +3.5
Previous Thread
Last edited:
Robert, have you thought about feeding Henry some lower carb food? Wondering if that would help to bring his numbers a bit lower overall and prevent those blue preshots. 7% is pretty high. There's a lot of food out there that is 4% and lower that might be worth trying.
Sorry, I was confused by your note on each test "Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb." I assumed the food you are feeding is 7% carb. Ruby used to eat FF Turkey & Giblets and the carb is actually 4.5% (add all of the percentages you listed except for ash and subtract that number from 100 to get net carbs). You could probably find something lower than that though on this list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384
A lot of Tiki Cat is 0 carbs as are the Fancy Feast Naturals. But of course it's a question as to whether or not they will be accepted by Henry's discerning palate.It might take a while for food changes to make a difference in numbers so maybe stick with it for more than 4 days?
Yes, I saw that too. I thought perhaps this list wasn't very up to date. Cat food manufacturers change formulas all the time. I came to 4.5% from the numbers you listed on the Guaranteed Analysis but it seems that getting carbs percentages is far from a perfect science. I was relieved when I started feeding Ruby food from Weruva because they publish their own data about carb percentages on their website so I never had to figure it out on my own.Katherine Thank You for the link
Hey I looked up Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets ==> Line 561 and it had the carbs listed as 2%
Yes, I saw that too. I thought perhaps this list wasn't very up to date. Cat food manufacturers change formulas all the time. I came to 4.5% from the numbers you listed on the Guaranteed Analysis but it seems that getting carbs percentages is far from a perfect science. I was relieved when I started feeding Ruby food from Weruva because they publish their own data about carb percentages on their website so I never had to figure it out on my own.
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.Sure I'm open for food suggestions
One major problem will Henry eat it?
The food Henry is fed now is Fancy Feast Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Feast Wet Cat Food
Protein 11%
Crude fat 5%
Crude Fiber 1.5%
Moisture 78%
Ash 3%
1.5% is calculated with this formula from on-line ==> http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html
Plug those in and you get 1.5% carbs
This is the food Henry has been fed for the last three months or more
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.
I plug the % on the back of Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate into this online calculatorChat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate
Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.
Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
You are now chatting with Thaltal.
You
at 15:20, Apr 1:
What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert
Thaltal
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?
Thaltal
at 15:21, Apr 1:
That's a great question. Let me find that for you.
Thaltal
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%
You
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Thank You
![]()
That’s not the number you should ask for. You need to ask for the as-fed or dry matter basis. The GAs tell you nothing,Chat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate
Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.
Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
You are now chatting with Thaltal.
You
at 15:20, Apr 1:
What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert
Thaltal
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?
Thaltal
at 15:21, Apr 1:
That's a great question. Let me find that for you.
Thaltal
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%
You
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Thank You
![]()