03/28 Henry AMPS 84 +3.5 78 PMPS 96 +3.5 83 +5.5 80

  1. BG Reading @ AMPS +3.5 is (78)
  2. Fed 1.2oz of 7% Carb
  3. Next BG Reading @ PMPS
 
Last edited:
  1. BG Reading @ PMPS is (96)
  2. Preshot Dosage =1.25 units
  3. Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb @PMPS
  4. Next BG Reading @ PMPS +3.5
 
Last edited:
  1. BG Reading @ PMPS +3.5 is (83)
  2. Fed 1.2oz of 7% Carb
  3. Next BG Reading @ PMPS +5.5
 
Last edited:
  1. BG Reading @ PMPS +5.5 is (80)
  2. Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb
  3. Next BG Reading @ AMPS Tomorrow
 
Last edited:
Robert, have you thought about feeding Henry some lower carb food? Wondering if that would help to bring his numbers a bit lower overall and prevent those blue preshots. 7% is pretty high. There's a lot of food out there that is 4% and lower that might be worth trying.
 
Robert, have you thought about feeding Henry some lower carb food? Wondering if that would help to bring his numbers a bit lower overall and prevent those blue preshots. 7% is pretty high. There's a lot of food out there that is 4% and lower that might be worth trying.

Sure I'm open for food suggestions

One major problem will Henry eat it?

The food Henry is fed now is Fancy Feast Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Feast Wet Cat Food

Protein 11%
Crude fat 5%
Crude Fiber 1.5%
Moisture 78%
Ash 3%

1.5% is calculated with this formula from on-line ==> http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

Plug those in and you get 1.5% carbs

This is the food Henry has been fed for the last three months or more
 
I tried Tuna (four feedings one per day for four days I have this in the notes highlighted in red) which has no carbs and it did not change his numbers probably because the Turkey and Giblets is 1.5%
 
Sorry, I was confused by your note on each test "Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb." I assumed the food you are feeding is 7% carb. Ruby used to eat FF Turkey & Giblets and the carb is actually 4.5% (add all of the percentages you listed except for ash and subtract that number from 100 to get net carbs). You could probably find something lower than that though on this list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384

A lot of Tiki Cat is 0 carbs as are the Fancy Feast Naturals. But of course it's a question as to whether or not they will be accepted by Henry's discerning palate. :) It might take a while for food changes to make a difference in numbers so maybe stick with it for more than 4 days?
 
No Katherine the 7% is what I got from another on line calculator and I just give up on these calculators because of some many different results so I just stuck with the 7%

I did not know which figure to use so I chose the highest figure and stuck with it which was 7%
 
Sorry, I was confused by your note on each test "Fed 1.6oz of 7% Carb." I assumed the food you are feeding is 7% carb. Ruby used to eat FF Turkey & Giblets and the carb is actually 4.5% (add all of the percentages you listed except for ash and subtract that number from 100 to get net carbs). You could probably find something lower than that though on this list: https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...m6PPfEUz9YmzMGMxkmcBk6uRR0/edit#gid=113878384

A lot of Tiki Cat is 0 carbs as are the Fancy Feast Naturals. But of course it's a question as to whether or not they will be accepted by Henry's discerning palate. :) It might take a while for food changes to make a difference in numbers so maybe stick with it for more than 4 days?

Katherine Thank You for the link

Hey I looked up Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets ==> Line 561 and it had the carbs listed as 2%
 
Katherine Thank You for the link

Hey I looked up Fancy Feast Turkey and Giblets ==> Line 561 and it had the carbs listed as 2%
Yes, I saw that too. I thought perhaps this list wasn't very up to date. Cat food manufacturers change formulas all the time. I came to 4.5% from the numbers you listed on the Guaranteed Analysis but it seems that getting carbs percentages is far from a perfect science. I was relieved when I started feeding Ruby food from Weruva because they publish their own data about carb percentages on their website so I never had to figure it out on my own.
 
Yes, I saw that too. I thought perhaps this list wasn't very up to date. Cat food manufacturers change formulas all the time. I came to 4.5% from the numbers you listed on the Guaranteed Analysis but it seems that getting carbs percentages is far from a perfect science. I was relieved when I started feeding Ruby food from Weruva because they publish their own data about carb percentages on their website so I never had to figure it out on my own.

Katherine

The Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets under the DRY MATTER FORMULA (excludes the water content in can) is 7%
 
Sure I'm open for food suggestions

One major problem will Henry eat it?

The food Henry is fed now is Fancy Feast Classic Pate Turkey & Giblets Feast Wet Cat Food

Protein 11%
Crude fat 5%
Crude Fiber 1.5%
Moisture 78%
Ash 3%

1.5% is calculated with this formula from on-line ==> http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

Plug those in and you get 1.5% carbs

This is the food Henry has been fed for the last three months or more
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.
 
This is the kind of calculator I suggest you do not use if you only have guaranteed analysis values.

Chat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate

Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.


Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
You are now chatting with Thaltal.


You
at 15:20, Apr 1:


What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert

Thaltal
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?


Thaltal
at 15:21, Apr 1:
That's a great question. Let me find that for you.


Thaltal
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%


You
at 15:24, Apr 1:


Thank You

sprites_v1.png
 
Chat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate

Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.


Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
You are now chatting with Thaltal.


You
at 15:20, Apr 1:


What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert

Thaltal
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?


Thaltal
at 15:21, Apr 1:
That's a great question. Let me find that for you.


Thaltal
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%


You
at 15:24, Apr 1:


Thank You

sprites_v1.png
I plug the % on the back of Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate into this online calculator

http://fnae.org/carbcalorie.html

It calculated 1.5% too
 
Chat with Purina about the carbs in Turkey & Giblets Pate

Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Welcome to Purina! Please wait for a Pet Advisor to respond. We will be with you momentarily.


Info
at 15:20, Apr 1:
You are now chatting with Thaltal.


You
at 15:20, Apr 1:


What is the % CARBS in Fancy Feast Turkey & Giblets Pate? Name is Robert

Thaltal
at 15:20, Apr 1:
Hi, this is Thaltal. How can I help you today?


Thaltal
at 15:21, Apr 1:
That's a great question. Let me find that for you.


Thaltal
at 15:24, Apr 1:
Guaranteed Analysis for carbs is 1.5%


You
at 15:24, Apr 1:


Thank You

sprites_v1.png
That’s not the number you should ask for. You need to ask for the as-fed or dry matter basis. The GAs tell you nothing,
 
Back
Top