03/20 Richard AMPS 254 +4 394 +7 396 PMPS 369

Alex&Richard

Member Since 2026
03/18

Something weird is going on with Richard's BG since the CGM was removed. Haven't seen spikes past 400 since increasing the dose to 0.75U, but yesterday got one. He ate a lot yesterday though, and even past +6 (a bowl of boiled beef at around +9, but it is almost 0 crabs, right?), which could be a reason... Or he really don't like going below 250. Today's AMPS was one of the lowest of all time, he ate a normal amount of food, but BG mid day is almost 400 again. Id' expect numbers to drop after the shot, not to spike like this 😲

Bouncing? Could he be dropping low at some point? Would you recommend any specific spot checks to try to clarify the picture?

Today is the 6th day on 0.75U, so need to decide soon either to continue the dose for a while more, or increase to 1U.

Best regards,
Alex
 
03/18

Something weird is going on with Richard's BG since the CGM was removed. Haven't seen spikes past 400 since increasing the dose to 0.75U, but yesterday got one. He ate a lot yesterday though, and even past +6 (a bowl of boiled beef at around +9, but it is almost 0 crabs, right?), which could be a reason... Or he really don't like going below 250. Today's AMPS was one of the lowest of all time, he ate a normal amount of food, but BG mid day is almost 400 again. Id' expect numbers to drop after the shot, not to spike like this 😲

Bouncing? Could he be dropping low at some point? Would you recommend any specific spot checks to try to clarify the picture?

Today is the 6th day on 0.75U, so need to decide soon either to continue the dose for a while more, or increase to 1U.

Best regards,
Alex
Hi Alex, it’s good you are seeing a lower amps!
It’s very possible Richard is dropping overnight and you’re not seeing it now that the Cgm is gone.
You could do a few spot checks overnight to see if he’s dropping (around +6) or so.
Lots of cats bounce after dropping to lower BGs.

My cat likes to drop overnight then she bounces in the am cycle (see her spreadsheet, we use a Libre so you can see all of her bgs on there).

They don’t always drop after their shot, it depends on the cycle (if bouncing).
 
(a bowl of boiled beef at around +9, but it is almost 0 crabs, right?)
... I don't have much to add to Ivy's ideas (I think she's spot on), but I have no idea what this means and I'm really curious! 😅 Is the thing about crabs an expression?

Hard to see a pattern after one or two odd cycles, but more data is always a help. Best of luck with nighttime spot checks!
 
... I don't have much to add to Ivy's ideas (I think she's spot on), but I have no idea what this means and I'm really curious! 😅 Is the thing about crabs an expression?

Hard to see a pattern after one or two odd cycles, but more data is always a help. Best of luck with nighttime spot checks!
Haha 😂 I've meant "carbs". Boiled beef is just protein and fat, no carbs, if I'm not mistaken.

I probably will try to make some extra checks in 2-3 hours after getting a number close to 250, just to see if it is lower. Maybe will try to get extra one late night/early morning as well.
 
Haha 😂 I've meant "carbs". Boiled beef is just protein and fat, no carbs, if I'm not mistaken.'
Oh of course! I'm so out of it, I was like ... maybe this is some Lithuanian idiom I'm not familiar with ... trust me to go straight for unlikely nerdy explanations instead of recognizing a simple typo.

I probably will try to make some extra checks in 2-3 hours after getting a number close to 250, just to see if it is lower. Maybe will try to get extra one late night/early morning as well.
Best of luck, I hope it works out! Trying to wake up in the middle of the night to do testing sounds so hard to me, but I know plenty of folks do it (and I admire it very much).
 
Back
Top