03/17 Misty PMPS 230 +4 58 +5 58 AMPS 47 (hypo?)

rowena

Member Since 2019
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/03-17-misty-pmps-230-4-58-hypo.260744/#post-2926185
I just did Misty’s preshot test and she is 47. She is very hungry, possibly because she didn’t eat 2 hrs before her shot time because I was asleep and she’d eaten the food I left out. I’m just so tired and she wouldn’t let me retest again during the night.
I didn’t give insulin. I don’t know what to do about her shot. She’s eaten so I will retest in 30mins or so.
@Bron and Sheba (GA) -you know our history - what do you think?
Anyone?
 
Last edited:
Next time you get a low number like that, don't feed, but wait 20 minutes and retest so you can find out if she's going up or down without the influence of food. God job keeping an eye on your baby.
 
Next time you get a low number like that, don't feed, but wait 20 minutes and retest so you can find out if she's going up or down without the influence of food. God job keeping an eye on your baby.
Sorry, I panicked when she was low. You live and learn.

thank you
 
Personally, I don't like it. She's not usually that low at Pre-Shot time. She was green last night and you don't know exactly how low she may have dropped. If it were my cat, I would skip this dose or give a reduced dose of like one half. Either way, you need to keep monitoring because she has a depot of insulin that will influence this cycle for sure. You risk her going back in to yellow and pink again... but that's better than the alternative. Perhaps Tiffany will stop by and say differently.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
At what level do you panic and give food? Versus waiting
Thanks
Well, if you wait 20 minutes and keep an eye on her it would be okay not to feed. If you saw any strange behavior (other than her being ravenous) you could intervene. If she were below 40, I would test again to make sure I did not have a bad strip (it happens sometimes) and if I still got that low reading I would not delay and would feed immediately. In fact, I probably would feed a medium carb food and then test again in 20 minutes to make sure I was getting the desired response to the carbs (increasing BG). Then, of course, you'd have to keep up with regular testing until you knew you were in the clear.
 
Any time you get an uncharacteristically low number, just do a quick retest to make sure you don't have a bad strip (or a super high number that's not normal, too.)
 
I have to go out of the house now. Good luck. I will stop by later to check in on you and see how you and your sweet Misty are doing. :-)
 
Hi Rowena, I’m just surfacing and seeing this.
I would skip the dose as well….given her history of hypos….and you finding it hard to test her….and keep monitoring when you can. And we don’t know how low she went during the night.
You also need to reduce the dose back to 3 units at the next dose.
She will bounce for sure but I would stick with the 3 units for a while and it looks like she will eventually get off the trampoline and start giving you some decent numbers.
I think that is the safest thing you can do. If she was a cat you could easily test you might be able to give her a 1/2 dose and monitor closely but she’s not.
 
Hi Rowena, I’m just surfacing and seeing this.
I would skip the dose as well….given her history of hypos….and you finding it hard to test her….and keep monitoring when you can. And we don’t know how low she went during the night.
You also need to reduce the dose back to 3 units at the next dose.
She will bounce for sure but I would stick with the 3 units for a while and it looks like she will eventually get off the trampoline and start giving you some decent numbers.
I think that is the safest thing you can do. If she was a cat you could easily test you might be able to give her a 1/2 dose and monitor closely but she’s not.
Thanks so much Bron
shes hungry again, so I will give her more food and keep an eye on her. I managed to buy a few more broths, but am waiting on some I bought online. I do have to go out to buy more strips today, but I will definitely keep an eye on her and skip the dose.
 
Thanks so much Bron
shes hungry again, so I will give her more food and keep an eye on her. I managed to buy a few more broths, but am waiting on some I bought online. I do have to go out to buy more strips today, but I will definitely keep an eye on her and skip the dose.
I just tested her again. It’s what should have been +5 and she was 6.9 (or 124). So she’s back in the blue.
She was not happy about being tested and it was pure luck that I got it. I hope she will go back to her semi compliant self later.

Tonight at what PMPS would it be safe to give her 3u?

My kids love the trampoline too, but this bouncing is scary. I figure this low followed the high that came after the initial low after the dose increase to 3.25u.
 
So far she’s not bouncing high like I thought she might.
What time is the PMPS due? Post with the BG and we can tell you if it is safe to go ahead and shoot. I’m sure it will be.
 
So far she’s not bouncing high like I thought she might.
What time is the PMPS due? Post with the BG and we can tell you if it is safe to go ahead and shoot. I’m sure it will be.
I’ll have to do the PMPS at 8.30 because it took me half an hour to find some food for her to eat at 6.30! I had to boil some chicken tenderloins. I wish I knew what was going on with her. I feel a bit like she’s playing me because she knows if she doesn't eat her food I give her chicken, but then I don’t think she’s that cunning. Who knows?
 
I’ll have to do the PMPS at 8.30 because it took me half an hour to find some food for her to eat at 6.30! I had to boil some chicken tenderloins. I wish I knew what was going on with her. I feel a bit like she’s playing me because she knows if she doesn't eat her food I give her chicken, but then I don’t think she’s that cunning. Who knows?
Ok I’ll see you 8.30.. She’s a bright kitty:D
 
Ok I’ll see you 8.30.. She’s a bright kitty:D
I had a lot of trouble testing her, but she’s 22.7 (409). I’m guessing I give 3u. I don’t know how I’m going to go at monitoring her. Looks like we may have to go to the vet to get the libre on.
 
I had a lot of trouble testing her, but she’s 22.7 (409). I’m guessing I give 3u. I don’t know how I’m going to go at monitoring her. Looks like we may have to go to the vet to get the libre on.
You are doing a great job monitoring her. You must give your self some credit.
Yes I would give the 3 units. She is bouncing from the very low number this morning and possibly last night and she didn’t get any insulin this morning. She could bounce for a few cycles but she will come back down at some point. It looks like around the 3 unit mark is what she needs. Let’s see what she does over the next several days. Keep in touch.
 
Back
Top