03/16 Cleo AMPS=391 +1.5=407 +6=319 PMPS=383 +2=419 +4=455 Dosecrease

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

03/15 Recap
AMPS=239
+2=369
+4=322
+6=349
+9=293
PMPS=303
+2=381
+4=338
+7=502
+11=425

Good morning!
Numbers was really strange during the weekend. I don't know what to do, if it is a bounce and now it is clearing, unfortunately I can't monitor because I have to leave from home in a minute.
I give DH the task to test when he come back to home for lunch, that is am +6 +7, this calm me a lot.

I was thinking that on 3/9 - when she goes under 50 - I gave a (partially) fur shot. So the dose that bring her to 40 was not 3.25u but a lower dose. Can this make some sense for you?

It so hard to let her alone... - I'm so distrait! While I was writing this, I let an open can of food on the sink... When I realized it I ran in the kitchen and found Cleo that was licking as fast as she could the food. :)

I whish you a very good start of the week!!!

 
Paws crossed she starts to break that bounce today and you see nicer numbers tonight. It's so great that DH can get that mid day test in!

Kitties get so hungry when they are in higher numbers. We learned to keep very clean kitchen counter tops back when Neko was high a lot.
 
Hi Delia

In relation to your mentioning Cleo going under 40 in the cycle you gave a partial fur shot I shall try to make some sense of it for you - lantus is a depot insulin so that each shot you give is not an individual dose for the cycle, i.e. You do not start or finish a lantus cycle with zero insulin on board because there is a depot (storage shed) of lantus there in the kitty. The cycle that you gave the partial fur shot would also have been affected by the 4-6 shots you gave in the previous cycles. Often people see no effect from a reduce dose in the cycle that they shoot it, they see the effect in subsequent cycles.

Hope that makes sense. If not there is a sticky at the top of this forum 'what is the insulin depot?' that may explain it better for you :)
 
Wendy, I usually leave the kitchen counter clean or close the kitchen door, because Cleo has always been a food robber :)
Serryn, thank you for your explanation. Now it makes sense to me. Maybe then I should increase the dose. But if with 3.25u Cleo went under 50, this will happen again. I mean that if increase the dose to 3.25, this was the dose that made she go low. It isn't?
 
The thing with insulin is that it's a hormone not like other medicines where the same dose will give the same effect. Insulin needs change so just because 3.25 took her under 50 last week doesn't mean it will do it this week and if you leave the increases too long they get more used to the higher numbers again and it gets harder to bring them down again and they will need even more insulin. If you don't have any joy this cycle I would definitely increase for the next.
 
Good advice, Delia, from the others. They have a much better understanding of all this than I do!

Just stopping in to offer encouragement. It's a tough dance. Lots of moving parts. We just keep plugging along until those parts align.

And yes, FD kitties can have an almost insatiable hunger at times. I've got Polly trying to lick clean the feeding plates in the sink after I've picked them up from the cats' meals. She once pried the lid off a tub of butter I'd left sitting out and was licking away at that goodness.

I've also had to take Polly back up to a dose after a reduction. Yup, it happens. And so does the anxiety about leaving them. Near a year into this dance, I still have moments at work when I wish desperately there were two of me. One at home, one at work.

Hang in there.

Marilyn and Polly
 
The morning cycle was high, so as Serryn suggested I've increased the dose to 3.25u at pm shot.
I wish desperately there were two of me. One at home, one at work.
Marilyn, thank you for encouragement, I always need and appreciate them. I wish there were two of me too. :)
 
Is she bouncing again???:eek: How it is possible? pm+4 is 455, higher than pmps and pm+2. Why?:(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top