03/12/20 Thomas J. +12? 63 +13.5? 66, +14? 58, +14.5 59, +15.25 67, +15.75 59, +16.25 69, +16.5 61

Should I give a few pieces of dry food to see if he'll rise?
I would hold it up to his mouth in something in case he can't get low enough to pick it up and about tomorrow morning what time do you normally shoot
If its low ask for advice but I know you are exhausted and I would probably skip or a more experienced member might say to give a drop dose
Give him the dry food now
 
I would hold it up to his mouth in something in case he can't get low enough to pick it up and about tomorrow morning what time do you normally shoot
If its low ask for advice but I know you are exhausted and I would probably skip or a more experienced member might say to give a drop dose
Give him the dry food now
6:30 a.m. in 3 hours. I will give him dry food. I will most likely skip. Thank you for all of the help.
 
I think it was something about it taking longer to leave the system so wet food is preferred.
Yes you're right
6:30 a.m. in 3 hours. I will give him dry food. I will most likely skip. Thank you for all of the help.
I would skip but still test him a few times even without giving insulin.
I hope you get some sleep in the next hour or so and Thomas also
 
I think it was something about it taking longer to leave the system so wet food is preferred.
Yes dry food will take longer to leave the system.
Don’t you have any higher carb wet.?
He’s probably staying low as a combination of the anaesthetic and the half dose given by the vet in the middle of the am cycle. You must be exhausted.

Don’t make the decision yet about the morning dose as it’s a few hours off but if you are exhausted and he’s still low you may need to skip.
 
Yes dry food will take longer to leave the system.
Don’t you have any higher carb wet.?
He’s probably staying low as a combination of the anaesthetic and the half dose given by the vet in the middle of the am cycle. You must be exhausted.

Don’t make the decision yet about the morning dose as it’s a few hours off but if you are exhausted and he’s still low you may need to skip.
I only have 15% and 20%, I've used both and he's not responding much. I even gave a couple drops of corn syrup and still not much of a reaction. I gave some dry food just to test how he reacts to it. He hasn't had any since he was diagnosed. I'll be testing again soon.
 
He's not even napping. I haven't seen him blink. Only closes them when I pet him but always opens them back up. Hopefully the anesthesia will wear off soon.
 
When you have gone past the +12 and you don’t give insulin....the +1 becomes +13 and the +3 becomes +15.

All you can do really is keep testing and offering food or syrup if needed. I think you will be skipping the am dose by the look of those numbers. You are doing an excellent job with him. I’ll be around for the next 3 hours or so.
 
When you have gone past the +12 and you don’t give insulin....the +1 becomes +13 and the +3 becomes +15.

All you can do really is keep testing and offering food or syrup if needed. I think you will be skipping the am dose by the look of those numbers. You are doing an excellent job with him. I’ll be around for the next 3 hours or so.
That's what I was going to do at first but changed my mind. I'll fix it on my SS. I think he's at least rising with the dry food and I don't mind it staying in his system for a while if that means he'll stay at a decent number. Yeah, most likely a skip. Thank you.
 
Nevermind. He dropped again. He refuses to eat anymore. Fed a bit of corn syrup and rubbed it on his gums.
 
Gonna start my new daily thread. He's at 64. I wonder hold long it takes for anesthesia to wear off. He went and peed at least, negative ketone test. That's something good at least.
 
Back
Top