LizzieInTexas
Member Since 2016
Now is playing
What was your indication that Babu had diabetes? You know sometimes, especially this early, with diet change and a little insulin help the pancreas starts working again. Fingers crossed!
Now is playing
What was your indication that Babu had diabetes? You know sometimes, especially this early, with diet change and a little insulin help the pancreas starts working again. Fingers crossed!
Was he prescribed steroids during that time? That will bring on FD sometimes. I think it was a factor with Gizmo.
You hold the syringe. 0.50 will drain the depot a bit more and could give you and Babu a little break but it is your call. You know how to manage with food and you can monitor and test. Do you have plenty of strips and HC food?No. I gave only insulin. The vet gave him the first day and infusion. And he made some shots for 3 days.
+78 at +14:30. I'm afraid to give it 0.75u. I do not know what to do. I'm thinking of 0.5u . What do you say?
You hold the syringe. 0.50 will drain the depot a bit more and could give you and Babu a little break but it is your call. You know how to manage with food and you can monitor and test. Do you have plenty of strips and HC food?
78 is considered a normal BG number for a cat. And is a shootable number.I'll wait 30 minutes more. I have plenty food, but I do not know if Babulica wants to eat them
78 is considered a normal BG number for a cat. And is a shootable number.
Read over this while we wait
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/
Current situation:
78 @ +12:30
69 @ +13
67 @ +13:30
64 @ +14:30
78 @ +15
Currently hold food and shot.
Dinu - is that correct?^^ Just trying to get all the info on one new post for those who might be looking.
By stalling it is already like a dose decrease. If you are more confortable shooting 0.5u I say go ahead and get a final PS test, feed and shoot.
78 is considered a normal BG number for a cat. And is a shootable number.
Read over this while we wait
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/
I would go ahead and feed and shoot. Your choice on 0.5U or 0.75U.
Get a final PS test.
Sometimes kitties have what is called a double dip at the end of they cycle - that could be what you are seeing.


Ok. Just realize that new number (+15.5) will be food influenced.
Will there be any issue in shooting PM shot at +12 hours from when you do shoot this morning? Keep that in mind when making the decision.
I don't understand this?I passed in PM with 1 hour and 43 minutes (right now)
I don't understand this?
At next test it will be +3.5 hours from when the shot should have been - correct?
I don't understand this?
At next test it will be +3.5 hours from when the shot should have been - correct?

Wow Dinu, Babulica is keeping you on your toes. I dont have enough experience for any specific advice, but you and Maria are doing an awesome job![]()
We only give injections and measure the BG. Babulica does the rest
I don't know what to tell you to do. I think just skip this shot. Monitor through the day and pick back up tonight at regular time. That would also allow other, more experienced eyes on this.+15:30 87
I don't know what to tell you to do. I think just skip this shot. Monitor through the day and pick back up tonight at regular time. That would also allow other, more experienced eyes on this.
That was not much of a food bump.
Can you change your title? Current date, AMBG +12 78, +12.5 69, ...(etc) No shot or skip shot.Next test in 1 hour![]()
Hey There Babulica's Dad. Whew he is giving you a run with his last few cycles ! Unless he comes up to at least 90 and your schedule allows you to be off by 3 + hours , I would just skip the shot and resume at your normal shot time tonight .
Hey There Babulica's Dad. Whew he is giving you a run with his last few cycles ! Unless he comes up to at least 90 and your schedule allows you to be off by 3 + hours , I would just skip the shot and resume at your normal shot time tonight .
If your schedule allows you to do it (meaning, you can give him his next dose 12 hours from now), then you should be ok to shoot. As for the amount, its up to you. If you feel comfortable shooting 0.75u, then go for it. We already know you are good about monitoring and have supplies. I'd hate for kitty to lose the nice momentum he has by completely skipping.+16:30 118 . Now is definitely climb. What do you say, to give 0.75?
Lantus and Levemir both fall into the category of “depot drugs.” Pharmacologically, the two insulins work in different ways, but both have the characteristic of being absorbed slowly by the body. The result is an extended action. These insulins tend to display a cumulative effect, meaning that what happens in one cycle can affect the next cycle, or even the next several days. This is part of what allows Lantus and Levemir to create those beautiful, flat curves, so it is worthwhile to spend the time to understand the depot.
After you inject it into your subcutaneous tissue, the acidic solution is neutralized by your body to a neutral pH. Because glargine is not soluble at a neutral pH, it precipitates out into a form that's not soluble in subcutaneous fat, and there forms a relatively insoluble depot. From that pool, or depot, of precipitated glargine in the tissues, small amounts slowly move back into solution over time and then to the bloodstream.
If your schedule allows you to do it (meaning, you can give him his next dose 12 hours from now), then you should be ok to shoot. As for the amount, its up to you. If you feel comfortable shooting 0.75u, then go for it. We already know you are good about monitoring and have supplies. I'd hate for kitty to lose the nice momentum he has by completely skipping.
(But maybe Bobbie will have a different opinion.)
Get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be and remember that now your next shot will be 12 hours from this one which will be at 3:15 AMI gave about 0.65u - 0.70u (a little less than 0.75u) at 3:15 PM.

Get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be and remember that now your next shot will be 12 hours from this one which will be at 3:15 AM![]()
x 2Change your title to:
03/10 Babulica AMPS 118 (+16.5), +2 xxx (<- add to title as the day/tests continue)
Hope he keeps surfing for you!![]()
Ok, so he may go down again (normal cycle) or the next test may show he is on the rise still (which can be expected because his body is still getting use to going lower).+2 134
Ok, so he may go down again (normal cycle) or the next test may show he is on the rise still (which can be expected because his body is still getting use to going lower).
I think doing the next test at +4 should be go. (Though, remember, I am no "expert". ha ha)
Ok, so he may go down again (normal cycle) or the next test may show he is on the rise still (which can be expected because his body is still getting use to going lower).
I think doing the next test at +4 should be go. (Though, remember, I am no "expert". ha ha)
Yes, Marje. They used the AT SS, but never used a pet meter. He removed the line that said it was for AT.The spreadsheets are formatted differently so when you first did the spreadsheet, did you use the one for Pet Meters instead of the one for human meters? Is it correct that you never used a pet meter, only a human meter?
Looks like Babulica is coming down slowly again. I don't see that "Godzilla bounce" you were worried about, thank goodness!
How does Babulica feel about all this testing? Or does he just like getting the treats I assume you're giving him?
That is good. It's not easy to do, and you are lucky Babulica is so cooperative. It certainly takes some stress out of the situation.So far Babulica says nothing. Luckily he stand quiet . His ears look good. I became an expert at prick gentle.
That is good. It's not easy to do, and you are lucky Babulica is so cooperative. It certainly takes some stress out of the situation.