Ok here we go again. I'm going to retest in a few minutes but what should I do about his dose this morning? I don't understand how it can be that low again.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8313
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8313
when you're faced with a preshot reading you're uncomfortable shooting, the choices are:
1) stall, without feeding, for 15-30 minutes and test again. Repeat until the number rises to a number you are comfortable shooting, then shoot full dose.
2) shoot a reduced dose on time.
3) skip the shot.
#1 is usually best if you are home and able to monitor. Any time you shoot your lowest preshot reading, our "rule" is that you would get a +1 and +2 test after that to see how MeowMeow is responding to the dose. By doing that, if he does go lower than you want, you'll know about it in plenty of time to feed him (low carb or high carb) and bring the numbers back up. If you're not going to be home or if you cannot stall without making a big mess of your schedule, #2 can be a good option (choose the dose that makes you comfortable). Shooting at least some insulin will help keep the bounce from going quite as high and will keep something in the shed. #3 is the least preferred, although sometimes there is little choice.
mrsd4ever said:03/07/10 MeowMeow +13.15 AMPS 87 +6 46
MeowMeow's numbers haven't came up and stayed up yet today. I've given him the higher carb food and treats and he is acting fine. I have been reading the info on shot placement and wonder if that can be why his numbers came down so low on the same dosage amount. Even though his numbers seem to contradict what others have experienced. We have been all along been shooting on the sides of his chest or belly and my husband has even shot in his flank however the past several injections I did I did in the scruff of his neck. It seems the scruff shots have produced lower numbers.
He doesn't have a lot of fat on him since he lost the weight so it can be difficult shooting on his sides so I tried the scruff which was actually easier. Should I continue shooting the scruff with a reduced dose or go back to the sides with the same dose? I was leaning more to keeping the same dose and staying on the side