03/07/10 MeowMeow +13.15 AMPS 87 +6 46

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

So you know from Libby's note yesterday, you can not feed and stall for 15 - 20 min. then retest. You may need to do this several times.

Do you have strips and HC food in the house (just in case you may need it)?
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

i retested and it is 61 now. the only hc food i have is dry. i haven't been able to get the can yet.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

are u going to be around for the next few hours?

u kinda wanna stay away from the dry, it takes longer to get in and longer to get out of their system..
do u have karo or honey? for very low numbers - usually in low 40's and under.

can u retest and post again?
How is MeowMeow doing while u stall?
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

MeowMeow is acting fine even running and playing. I retested at 30 min and it is up to 84. My husband is going to get the hc can soon and more strips and I'm gonna stick around and keep an eye on him. yes I have the karo syrup on hand also.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

I'm thinking one more retest, which would be about 45min to an hour since the AMPS of 70 right?


anyone else? help.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

Good! It's looking like numbers are on their way up. Test again in 15 min. Once MeowMeow is near or at 100, I think you are fine to shoot as long as you will be around today to monitor.

Remember, the clock for your PM shot begins once you shoot. PM shot will be 12 hours from your AM shot time. We can adjust if you need to get back on schedule but we can deal with that later.

BTW, you can add maple syrup, honey, Karo, etc. to LC food (you just need a few drops - literally), if you are out of HC or MC.

I need to get to the airport. Ronnie is here and will lend you a hand.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

Just gonna post what Libby said yesterday , is good info!


when you're faced with a preshot reading you're uncomfortable shooting, the choices are:

1) stall, without feeding, for 15-30 minutes and test again. Repeat until the number rises to a number you are comfortable shooting, then shoot full dose.

2) shoot a reduced dose on time.

3) skip the shot.

#1 is usually best if you are home and able to monitor. Any time you shoot your lowest preshot reading, our "rule" is that you would get a +1 and +2 test after that to see how MeowMeow is responding to the dose. By doing that, if he does go lower than you want, you'll know about it in plenty of time to feed him (low carb or high carb) and bring the numbers back up. If you're not going to be home or if you cannot stall without making a big mess of your schedule, #2 can be a good option (choose the dose that makes you comfortable). Shooting at least some insulin will help keep the bounce from going quite as high and will keep something in the shed. #3 is the least preferred, although sometimes there is little choice.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

Thank you everyone for your help. I did print out that info from yesterday. I thought i was ready but didn't expect it to be this low after yesterdays situation. When i do give him his am shot do i give the full dose still? I assume from the responses i received earlier a full dose would be ok.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

based on the fact that you'll be home to monitor for a few hours, then yes, and after an hour since shot, definitely grab a +1 to start and post

and send hubby out to get some kitty fuds! :lol:

let's see what the retest is now - which is about one hour since the first AMPS of 70

once you shoot, u can feed MeowMeow
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

I see u got a 90 at one hour stall, are u waiting a bit more?
getting the hang of it? :-D
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

I was waiting for an hour and 15 but now it is at 87 so i'm gonna go ahead and give him his dose and keep an eye on him.
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

ok, so we got the shot in at +13.15, so ur subject line would read : +13.15 AMPS 87
you'll grab a +1 an hour from the shot.

is MeowMeow eating ok? u want to make sure he is eating ok for the first couple of hours, or at least grazing.

I've gotta run out for errands this afternoon, but others are around - just holler nice and loud in ur subject line if u need help ok?

u did great this morning Mrs D! :-D
 
Re: 03/07/10 MeowMeow amps 70 help again

Thank you so much for all your help!!!! Yes MeowMeow is eating fine acting normal. I will test in an hour and go from there. Thank you again!!! :smile:
 
RE-POST FROM 2ND CONDO OPENED TODAY

mrsd4ever said:
03/07/10 MeowMeow +13.15 AMPS 87 +6 46

MeowMeow's numbers haven't came up and stayed up yet today. I've given him the higher carb food and treats and he is acting fine. I have been reading the info on shot placement and wonder if that can be why his numbers came down so low on the same dosage amount. Even though his numbers seem to contradict what others have experienced. We have been all along been shooting on the sides of his chest or belly and my husband has even shot in his flank however the past several injections I did I did in the scruff of his neck. It seems the scruff shots have produced lower numbers.

He doesn't have a lot of fat on him since he lost the weight so it can be difficult shooting on his sides so I tried the scruff which was actually easier. Should I continue shooting the scruff with a reduced dose or go back to the sides with the same dose? I was leaning more to keeping the same dose and staying on the side

If you take a look at the dosing protocol, you will see that a number below 50 earns a dose decrease by 0.25u. So, MeowMeow's new dose will be 1.0u. I think you can shoot wherever you are most comfortable and is most comfortable for your kitty.

With the 46, could you please re-test in 15 min. and post your numbers?
 
I peeked at your spreadsheet and saw a +7~56, is that your most recent reading? If so, can you check again an hour after that test?

As Sienne posted, Meow Meow earned a dose reduction for tonight!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top