03/02 Rupert PMPS 131,+1,194, +2 225, +4 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=65068&p=706777#p706777

yesterdays ride:

AMPS 345.6
+2 221.4
+6 84.6
PMPS 165.6
+1 176.4
+2 151.2
+4 275.4

Interested to see how quickly he clears this bounce this time.

if he keeps bouncing like this is it an indication that I should lower the dose or do I wait until he dives below 50??

He came and got me as usual this morning right on time, eaten half a can of SurfNTurf (merrick), looks sleek and shiny and happy. I'm going btb for an hour methinks!

Hoping this red floor visit doesn't last too long!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421 - expected bounce I guess

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me, but I also hope rupert clears this bounce quickly .. come on down from there! Have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421 - expected bounce I guess

C'mon down,Rupert, I'm waiting for you on the yeller floor right now. :smile:
Your traveling buddy, Checkers
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417

ok. so we wanted him to go slow.. but not THAT slow! still on the red floor. wonder what lunchtime's (+6) will show today. Hopefully he clears but in a slightly more sensible fashion. sigh. he's had a bit more Merrick, some raw ground beef treat, and is back on the couch as per usual. Seems bright and happy. Had a game of 'chase the zap strap' for a few minutes so his co-ordination, 'cat like' senses all seem to be working. He was a bit cat(2)_steam about this last ear poke.. growled and threatened me with a claw.. poor guy. I bet his ears are getting pretty sore. amazed how well he IS taking all of this. Several other kitty household members would NOT be so compliant!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417

I hope Rupert gets bored up there and comes down to more comfortable floors. I can't answer your dosing question, but if you put a question in your subject, you'll draw the attention of those who can. Good luck.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417

Pip & Rupert said:
if he keeps bouncing like this is it an indication that I should lower the dose or do I wait until he dives below 50??

I'm not an advocate of reducing without seeing the signal. There is a chance he *may* have gone lower than 85 yesterday however he may not have.

He doesn't stay high too long. If he is going below 50 while you aren't looking, I'm sure the opportunity to catch it will present itself again.
Like maybe tonight. . . ;-)
TGIF
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417,+6 122

well, nice to see the blue again so quickly... sort of.... hm.... seems that Rupert isn't really developing a curve so much as a viciously steep half-pipe!

so.. again.... concensus on the doseage? stay the same at f1.5? reduce maybe to a plain 1.5? thoughts appreciated. Even though he's clearing these bounces pretty quickly now, I'm thinking it would be better to have less bounce, more stability, even if it means some days in yellow instead of blue?? opinions appreciated.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417,+6 122

I agree 100% with Sandy. I don't think reducing his dose is the answer unless he earns the reduction. Some cats are just really bouncy.....look at some SSs like Mannie's, Tess's, JD, Checkers. It's interesting to note on Mannie's SS that he is one who responds better over time; the longer Michelle holds his dose, the less he bounces and the more blue he gets.

For our Gracie, I see less bouncing and lower bounce numbers when I increase her dose but I can ride the edge more with her because I have a TON of data, we generally know her trends, AND there are two of us here to monitor her....she's rarely alone unless she's bounced back up. But if you look at her SS, you'll see that once she gets over NDW from a dosecrease, her bouncing decreases. You can scroll back to early Feb and I also just gave her a dosecrease on 2/28 and she's doing better. She is a bouncer but mostly in response to really low numbers (30s/40s). When I decrease her dose in response to a low number, if she's not really ready, she starts bouncing again. Please note that she is on levemir and so her onset, nadir, duration are different than lantus.

I point all that out to you simply as an example of how more insulin can often soften out the bounces. But you have to be able to do more testing and that is just not possible with your and DH's work schedule. In that case, you have to be patient. It might help to control his drops with food management as fast drops also initiate bouncing and he can drop quite a bit from PS to +2.

One thing that concerns me on your SS is the number of times you have shot without getting a PS number. Even if you get a +11 and it is high, you still need a PS test. Some cats can drop off alot at the end of their cycle (my Gracie is one of them). On 2/22, you got a +11in the 200s, no PMPS test, and by +3, he was at 49.

Please let us know if you have other questions or need more info. I'm sure others may have other input as well.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417,+6 122

hi pip! i, too, am not a fan of decreasing the dose until you see tests of less than 50! the bouncing seems to go with the territory, but the longer they are stable on a particular dose, the bouncing usually decreases. their body starts sensing that even though rupert hasn't been in the 80/90's too often recently, he's going there now and not dying. eventually rupert's liver *should* stop getting so excited over these green numbers. right now it looks like he's bouncing and clearing very quickly - like within a day - and that is a great sign.

when you change the dose it's common to see more wonky numbers - so i would just hold at the current dose still. it actually looks like a dose that's just about right. seeing greens on it is great.

marje is right about the preshot tests. safety is always our first concern.

hang in there! as the ss fills in we're learning even more about how rupert works.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417,+6 122

thanx guys! f1.5 it is again tonight. I'm hoping that these slightly longer stays in the blues and greens is a good sign and as you say, his liver is learning not to panic so much!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,+2, 417,+6 122

WOW!!! he's sure seeing some action...I LOVE seeing them respond this quickly!

Rupert is taking the fight to his FD!!!!!!

celi

reading-cat.gif
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose ??

some nice blue surfing by Rupie this afternoon. Wonder if he dipped his toes in the green water at all?

we've shot a 126 two days ago, so we have shot lower than this before. He had a big bounce as a result of the greens from that 126 shot...

I shall be able to watch him closely all night so I think I should be okay to go with his regular f1.5 since we seem to finally be making some headway.

thoughts? am I right in thinking that THIS is the stage where things start to get exciting, scary but also where the breakthru's occur??? is there ANY reason I should go a regular 1.5 instead of the fat? thoughts please.....I think know what the answer is, but need some confirmation, we are still vERY new at this!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

Pip: hmmmm....well, Sandy, Julie, and I all said to hold the dose until he earns a reduction. You hold the syringe but we are giving you our suggestions based on protocol and experience.

A 131 is a nice PMPS but eventually, with help and encouragement, you will be shooting the 50s if you want to do TR. Doing TR requires monitoring among many other things. The only other recommendation I could make is that if you
would like to be more conservative, which is absolutely fine, then the SLGS might be better or you might feel more comfortable in Relaxed Lantus. You are always welcome in TR but he's not at a number right
now that would be even close to reducing in TR.

Wish we had those crystal balls but cats are so unpredictable that it's hard to say what Rupert might do tonight. His liver might decide he needs more LTS and he might pop up tonight. Or he might decide to come
down tonight. We just have to take it a cycle at a time and see what he's going to do and then give you some options.

One of the great things about keeping your subject line up to date, which you do (thank you) is that we can quickly see if we need to pop in because numbers are too low. We also look at SSs quite often and if it looks
to us like he might need an increase or reduction, we try to let the bean know.

Sometimes you gotta just sit back and let the cat lead the dance. ;-) :-D
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

thanx for the insight. I am fully prepared to dose the f1.5, just wanted that final clarification from a few of the people who have 'been there, done that' a bit more than me! here goes!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

Pip & Rupert said:
we've shot a 126 two days ago, so we have shot lower than this before. He had a big bounce as a result of the greens from that 126 shot...

I shall be able to watch him closely all night so I think I should be okay to go with his regular f1.5 since we seem to finally be making some headway.

thoughts? am I right in thinking that THIS is the stage where things start to get exciting, scary but also where the breakthru's occur??? is there ANY reason I should go a regular 1.5 instead of the fat?
I had a feeling there would be action tonight. . .

From what you say, it sounds like the planets have aligned. . . :cool:
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

Great!! I would, at the minimum, get a +2 but since this is the second time you've shot a lower number, you can also get a +1 and try to get some data on whether he gets a food spike or not. When you shot the 126, he was clearing a bounce from overnight. He's clearing a bounce today as well but he's either been surfing since +6 or went up and got a second dip.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

I completely agree with the input you've gotten from Marje, Sandy, and Julie. the TR protocol is geared to bring BG numbers down as quickly and safely as possible. Reducing a dose prematurely may work. In general, though, all it does is cause your cat to lose all of that good forward momentum.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131, dose???

now i'm thinking this is exciting and i should pop some popcorn and watch The Rupert Show tonight! :lol:

we love it when kitties start to settle down!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131,+1,194

so, up at +1, food spike? all is good. He wsa really tough to get the test on though. hopefully he'll be okay with it in an hour. a 174 gives us some decent 'wiggle' room. will attempt a +2. He's cleaning his paw on the couch and giving me the stink eye right now.

thanx for all your support. I am beginning to feel like things are coming together and also beginning to understand this process. So wish there was another way to get BG readings, as I'm sure everyone does. Just seems so mean. Rupert is super tolerant really, but I can really understand why he might start to get a little cat(2)_steam

lets hope he hangs on to the edge of the blue floor a little longer!
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131,+1,194

i tell myself it can't hurt too much. punkin comes and asks to be tested - and if it truly hurt, surely he wouldn't. if you think about cats when they get in fights they always get their ears torn up. i've heard that their ears don't have as many nerves as other parts of the body.

the +2 will tell you where Rupert is aiming tonight. it's a great help in figuring out what's coming next.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert AMPS 421,,+6 122,PMPS 131,+1,194

+2, and 225. so he's heading up..... hope he doesn't bounce quite as high for tomorrow! Still, must admit I"m a little relieved that he isn't heading seriously downwards at this time of the evening! so, a bit of red, a bit of blue, suspected green, more blue and now some yelllow! Will try to test him at +4 to see what's going on, really hoping he surfs yellow overnight. He seems pretty sleep this evening.. but then again.. he's a cat! how can you tell if they are more sleepy than usual! tee he. He's eaten a good dinner, I will give him some snappy tom to appease his mood, it's little or no carb, he's had some surfNturf (3%) earlier, so I think he has enough on board to help slow him down if he does decide to dive again.
 
Re: 03/02 Rupert PMPS 131,+1,194, +2 225.+4, 261

hanging on to the yellow. Looking at past data, I'm anticipating a big fat red tomorrow morning... but time will tell! Have a good night everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top