03/01 Dax AMPS 158 PMPS 205

I'm looking at the time and assuming it's too late to shoot now to keep on your regular schedule. The next time you have a question like this and need help in a timely fashion, put the "?" prefix before your title because folks will scan for those first and your post won't end up sinking down in the list and getting "lost". ;)

You shot a 4.1 (74) back on the 23rd although with so little data back then that would not have been recommended. We generally recommend no shot with a pre-shot under 8.3 (150) until you have some data and then you can gradually reduce your no shot limit. So while you could have given the 1.5u this morning, in a situation like this where you are feeling uncomfortable about shooting, you can stall for 30 minutes without feeding and retest to see if BG is rising on its own. Since you can't monitor him today, and given the low BG yesterday, I can certainly understand your concern.

You always have the option of giving a more reduced shot and leaving food out for Dax to eat should he need/want it.
 
Ass long as their isn’t DKA or ketones in the recent history, a skip is fine until you have more data to shoot lower numbers.

The other thing that will help get you advice on what to do is to pick a dosing method you want to follow, and put TR or SLGS in your signature. The two dosing methods differ slightly in their approach tonshooting low numbers and people will want to know at a glance which you are following.
 
Ass long as their isn’t DKA or ketones in the recent history, a skip is fine until you have more data to shoot lower numbers.

The other thing that will help get you advice on what to do is to pick a dosing method you want to follow, and put TR or SLGS in your signature. The two dosing methods differ slightly in their approach tonshooting low numbers and people will want to know at a glance which you are following.

Thank you both, I left my phone at home today so I could not respond in a timely fashion. I did skip the shot this morning as well just because I was weary of the dip last night and no one being home to monitor him. I did leave some food out for him this morning and will be checking him again when I get home. I find wrapping him up like a burrito is helping much more as he doesn't struggle and fight so much.
 
He's back up again so I will be lowering his dose down to 1.5, hopefully this will help keep him in check.
 
Paws crossed this is a dose you can shoot twice a day. How is Dax feeling/acting these days? We are always interested in how the kitty is doing. They are so much more than their numbers.

Love the name Dax by the way. The shelter I voluteered/part time worked at had a kitty named Dax. He came in at 5 weeks, found in the woods, and it looked like something had run over his back end. He had to have his tail amputated. A Burmese that stayed tiny, and a shelter favourite. The name brings up fond memories.
 
He seems to be feeling much better than when I brought him to the vet last week. Hes jumping up on the futon to sleep with me, he does still find my house stairs a little too steep so I have just been sleeping in my living room with him lol. But he has been eating and drinking fine. He is not as active as he used to be but since starting the insulin he seems to be gaining that back slowly as he did play with his sister a few times since starting. He is the same cuddle bug hes always been, just cranky when it comes to testing time lol
 
Sounds like a pretty good Dax report overall. :) Changes take time, but it's good to see them.
 
Back
Top