Jodey&Eddie&Blue
Member Since 2021
Good morning,
Here is Eddie yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-27-eddie-amps-284-4-373-8-328-pmps-362-8-306.274696/
I had an appointment with the radiation oncologist from VCA Victoria regarding Eddie, his post-SRT status and his Prednisolone dose, which is currently 2.5mg/2x daily.
I told her that I was not going to subject Eddie to any more imaging since he would not be a candidate for any more interventions even if there was regrowth. She agreed.
As for the Prednisolone, she strongly recommended keeping him on 2.5/2x daily for one more month and then if he is not showing any neurological concerns to reduce the dose to 2.5mg/1x daily. Her immediate concern is what she called "early delayed reaction" (EDR) to radiation, which she says can happen in the 4-5 month period following SRT. Eddie is now today 4 months post-SRT.
She emphasized that endocrine response to SRT is varied to the extent that it doesn't necessarily result in insulin reduction or for that matter cessation. She asked that I contact her in one month and report on Eddie: pretty much the 5Rs. She was pleased that he was not displaying any neurological signs and that he was eatiing, drinking, kittyboxing in a good way.
I will, therefore, keep Eddie on the current Prednisolone dose for another month and check in at that time.
At this point, I'm thinking we may, however, have to go from 13.75u to 14u.
@Wendy&Neko
Here is Eddie yesterday:
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-27-eddie-amps-284-4-373-8-328-pmps-362-8-306.274696/
I had an appointment with the radiation oncologist from VCA Victoria regarding Eddie, his post-SRT status and his Prednisolone dose, which is currently 2.5mg/2x daily.
I told her that I was not going to subject Eddie to any more imaging since he would not be a candidate for any more interventions even if there was regrowth. She agreed.
As for the Prednisolone, she strongly recommended keeping him on 2.5/2x daily for one more month and then if he is not showing any neurological concerns to reduce the dose to 2.5mg/1x daily. Her immediate concern is what she called "early delayed reaction" (EDR) to radiation, which she says can happen in the 4-5 month period following SRT. Eddie is now today 4 months post-SRT.
She emphasized that endocrine response to SRT is varied to the extent that it doesn't necessarily result in insulin reduction or for that matter cessation. She asked that I contact her in one month and report on Eddie: pretty much the 5Rs. She was pleased that he was not displaying any neurological signs and that he was eatiing, drinking, kittyboxing in a good way.
I will, therefore, keep Eddie on the current Prednisolone dose for another month and check in at that time.
At this point, I'm thinking we may, however, have to go from 13.75u to 14u.
@Wendy&Neko
Last edited:

hold onto that and let's all send out prayers and keep positive! I'm a firm believer in positive out is positive back! (Even though I do sometimes get to the end of my rope...but just braid more rope and keep going)