02/27 Blaze PMPS/110

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/02-25-blaze-pmps-157-2-191-3-196-4-229.259855/

This morning Blaze didn't eat but he usually eats within the hour after the shot. Not today. about 45 minutes after the shot he ate a tiny bit of medium carb and I gave him a Cerenia because he started to show signs of nausea. About 20/30 minutes later he threw everything up. I didn't see the pink capsule in the vomit...so I hope it had a chance to absorb a bit.
Blaze has been throwing up everything he tries to eat all morning now. I am hoping this is a hair ball...he hasn't had one in more than a month.
Keeping an eye on his sugar...which is going down. We are at +4 now/88.
 
Hi Paola, it’s been a while since we talked about this but has he had an ultrasound to rule out GI issues? Hairballs contrary to common belief are not normal. Sometimes my civière will throw up right after I give her Cerenia. Then I give her another dose and she is fine afterwards.
 
Blaze hasn't had an ultrasound, no. He has had hairballs since he was little.
I will think about this and if I decide to go ahead and do one, it will have to be during the March break when I am off work. I am gonna get him to eat again and see what happens...
 
Both of mine were pukers too until I realized it was the kibble I was feeding them that irritated their stomachs the most and then recently that they both have intestinal inflammation via ultrasound. In my Ruby it became small cell lymphoma after a biopsy. My Olive who gets regular Cerenia only had an ultrasound but I am treating her as though she has IBD. If you’re feeding Blaze fish, I would try to eliminate that as a first step as many cats have fish allergies.
 
Blaze won't eat anything that is not fish...I have tried many many times but because he is on insulin I want him to eat...my problem is also that I am not home during the day so I need to know he is eating something when I don't monitor. He just went to his bowl and he is eating some higher carbs....I hope he keeps it down. Gonna give him a Cerenia in the morning again.
 
Nice numbers.:D Then I read the condo. :( I think I would make an appointment with a board certified radiologist for March. You can always cancel it but they often need to be booked in advance. Will he eat cooked chicken or turkey? Beef perhaps? You need to find something other than fish that he will eat. Only fish can cause more than just food intolerances. :bighug:
 
Nice numbers.:D Then I read the condo. :( I think I would make an appointment with a board certified radiologist for March. You can always cancel it but they often need to be booked in advance. Will he eat cooked chicken or turkey? Beef perhaps? You need to find something other than fish that he will eat. Only fish can cause more than just food intolerances. :bighug:
I am gonna call the vet this week. He feels better now. He is eating a bit and keeping it down. The nausea signs have stopped too. Hopefully a little bit of cerenia got into his system after all.
 
Both of mine regurgitated a whole meal this week on different days. It happens occasionally. One does have occasional hairballs prior. It happens. I just am concerned with Blaze eating only fish and of course since he needs insulin. I’m glad he’s doing better. Is he an over groomer? I think when that happens they consume so much fur they have to vomit. That’s the case with Mocha.
 
Yes Blaze is literally OCD about grooming. Sometimes I actually put my hand so he takes breaks. He goes to town and he is so particular on how he does it. When I put my hand there, he puts his chin on it and waits for me to move it then he resumes.
I know that eating only fish is not good...I have been accepting the fact that he only wants that because I worry about him not eating when I am not home.
 
You have no choice right now because he has to eat. Maybe when in break you can try again to find anything else he likes. The excessive grooming makes hairball vomit impossible to avoid us my theory. I know they are supposed to be able to poop out fur but it seems to me when there’s that much it just is impossible.
 
Yes I agree with you. He has always been an excessive groomer since he was tiny. Ash is on chemo and looses tons of hair but he doesn't groom as much and I don't remember the last time he had a hair ball....and it was a super tiny one too.
 
Nice numbers.:D Then I read the condo. :( I think I would make an appointment with a board certified radiologist for March. You can always cancel it but they often need to be booked in advance. Will he eat cooked chicken or turkey? Beef perhaps? You need to find something other than fish that he will eat. Only fish can cause more than just food intolerances. :bighug:
Could you share more about fish/food intolerance? My kitty seems to prefer fish and I want him to eat on his own...but I don't want to cause more issues than already exist. Thanks
 
I understand about him needing to eat. When you are home and can watch him, maybe you could try putting chicken or beef food in the bowl and then topping it with fish? That’s often how I get my picky eaters to accept something other than fish. I use the tuna pouches of Weruva BFF as enticements. They have flavors with other proteins like turkey mixed in. I call it ketchup on the hamburger. :) I put a spoonful on top and smear it over the other food. They are eager to eat the tuna and then they realize the stuff underneath isn’t so bad so they eat that too.
 
Yes, I have tried that but as soon as he smells something "suspicious" he will walk away, even if it is topped with fish. I will try again in 2 weeks, when I have a week off work
 
@tiffmaxee
His PMPS is low still...What do you suggest to do? He has been very picky eating after all the vomit today but he has been going to the bowl (for very small amounts). He hasn't vomited in a while. I am going to need the sleep because I am going to work tomorrow. I am not sure what to do
 
Spoke too soon....he is walking away from the bowl now...I had given him a cerenia but he may have thrown up some....but I don't feel comfortable giving a other one because I am not sure if he dies have some in his system already
 
He ate a bit here and there for about 3 hours but very little. He did keep it down though. But when I tried to feed for the shot he walked away. The **** would be now but he is nit eating. He gets 6 MG of cerenia. When he was getting 8 it was too much...
 
Poor Blaze. I would not give more cerenia either. I wish you had ondansetron because you could try it as it works differently so both can be given. With him being low and not eating and you not able to stay up I would skip tonight. .
 
**** is shot...not sure what happened there, i was typing on my phone. He just ate a little bit...and went back to sleep
If he’s eating you could perhaps give a token dose but do what makes you comfortable. If you aren’t sure he will eat I still think it best to skip.
 
I was just on the phone with my cousin and he finally found a big animal vet that takes care of small animals as well. He is going to speak to her this week and he told me she could prescribe the ondasentron and even the cerenia for whenever I need. Will keep you posted on this one
 
If he’s eating you could perhaps give a token dose but do what makes you comfortable. If you aren’t sure he will eat I still think it best to skip.
yes I am going to skip tonight...he is being way too unpredictable with his eating and nausea today and I work tomorrow :(
 
I am so so happy, he just called, that was really good news. He even said that through her, I can get anything I need, he will help.
 
Back
Top