LizzieInTexas
Member Since 2016
02/25
AMPS=238, +2=305, +4=267
POSSIBLE FUR SHOT
Hubby got up and TFS this morning. He thinks it may have been a fur shot.
Here is what happened - Gizmo came in and woke me up about the normal time I get up to get up and start his morning routine. I was still in bed and I told him that daddy was coming and I was going to sleep in. He was purring and loving. I reached out to pet him on the side (in the dark) and he snapped at me - this alarmed me so I woke up a bit more and tried again, I half sat up and reached out for him and petted him down his side again and he snapped at me again. Got up and talked with hubby a bit and told him I was concerned and what had happened.
Gizmo was a complete pain for him. Wouldn't sit still for the BG test and then when he went to shoot he jerked and snapped at hubby. Hubby said he smelled insulin on his fur right after. I smelled him when I got up and there may be a very faint smell (so maybe he got some in?).
At the +2 test Gizmo was again obnoxious and temperamental with hubby. I got up shortly there after. I tested the +4 with no issues. I gave him 0.3mL Torbogisic (sp?). He also got a Canna in his AMPS food. After I tested and gave him the pain meds I put him down and felt along his sides and stomach (fairly firmly) with no reaction from Gizmo.
He is eating and drinking. Currently waiting on his +4.5 food (sitting beside his food bowl).
With the possible fur shot and the discussion of a dose increase yesterday - should go ahead and dosecrease tonight? I don't know what the protocol is for fur shots and dose increases - I was going to wait and time the dose increase a bit better (for me) but wasn't anticipating a fur shot.
*note - not sure how much I trust the +2 reading, especially given the temperament and that it was hubby (he just doesn't have as much experience) and then given the +4 reading.
AMPS=238, +2=305, +4=267
POSSIBLE FUR SHOT
Hubby got up and TFS this morning. He thinks it may have been a fur shot.
Here is what happened - Gizmo came in and woke me up about the normal time I get up to get up and start his morning routine. I was still in bed and I told him that daddy was coming and I was going to sleep in. He was purring and loving. I reached out to pet him on the side (in the dark) and he snapped at me - this alarmed me so I woke up a bit more and tried again, I half sat up and reached out for him and petted him down his side again and he snapped at me again. Got up and talked with hubby a bit and told him I was concerned and what had happened.
Gizmo was a complete pain for him. Wouldn't sit still for the BG test and then when he went to shoot he jerked and snapped at hubby. Hubby said he smelled insulin on his fur right after. I smelled him when I got up and there may be a very faint smell (so maybe he got some in?).
At the +2 test Gizmo was again obnoxious and temperamental with hubby. I got up shortly there after. I tested the +4 with no issues. I gave him 0.3mL Torbogisic (sp?). He also got a Canna in his AMPS food. After I tested and gave him the pain meds I put him down and felt along his sides and stomach (fairly firmly) with no reaction from Gizmo.
He is eating and drinking. Currently waiting on his +4.5 food (sitting beside his food bowl).
With the possible fur shot and the discussion of a dose increase yesterday - should go ahead and dosecrease tonight? I don't know what the protocol is for fur shots and dose increases - I was going to wait and time the dose increase a bit better (for me) but wasn't anticipating a fur shot.
*note - not sure how much I trust the +2 reading, especially given the temperament and that it was hubby (he just doesn't have as much experience) and then given the +4 reading.
