02/26 Gizmo PMPS=282, +2=286, +4=299

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Member Since 2016
02/25

AMPS=238, +2=305, +4=267
POSSIBLE FUR SHOT

Hubby got up and TFS this morning. He thinks it may have been a fur shot.

Here is what happened - Gizmo came in and woke me up about the normal time I get up to get up and start his morning routine. I was still in bed and I told him that daddy was coming and I was going to sleep in. He was purring and loving. I reached out to pet him on the side (in the dark) and he snapped at me - this alarmed me so I woke up a bit more and tried again, I half sat up and reached out for him and petted him down his side again and he snapped at me again. Got up and talked with hubby a bit and told him I was concerned and what had happened.

Gizmo was a complete pain for him. Wouldn't sit still for the BG test and then when he went to shoot he jerked and snapped at hubby. Hubby said he smelled insulin on his fur right after. I smelled him when I got up and there may be a very faint smell (so maybe he got some in?).

At the +2 test Gizmo was again obnoxious and temperamental with hubby. I got up shortly there after. I tested the +4 with no issues. I gave him 0.3mL Torbogisic (sp?). He also got a Canna in his AMPS food. After I tested and gave him the pain meds I put him down and felt along his sides and stomach (fairly firmly) with no reaction from Gizmo.

He is eating and drinking. Currently waiting on his +4.5 food (sitting beside his food bowl).

With the possible fur shot and the discussion of a dose increase yesterday - should go ahead and dosecrease tonight? I don't know what the protocol is for fur shots and dose increases - I was going to wait and time the dose increase a bit better (for me) but wasn't anticipating a fur shot.

*note - not sure how much I trust the +2 reading, especially given the temperament and that it was hubby (he just doesn't have as much experience) and then given the +4 reading.
 
I think you have room to go up to 1u tonight regardless of the PFS. Even a drop can smell so who knows how much he got. Hope he's feeling better and glad to hear he's eating etc.
 
I think you have room to go up to 1u tonight regardless of the PFS. Even a drop can smell so who knows how much he got. Hope he's feeling better and glad to hear he's eating etc.
Thanks Karen. :bighug:

I am worried about his pain but as long as he is eating and drinking and getting pain meds that is all I can do.

BTW - have I said lately how much I hate pancreatitis? :mad::(

Will do dosecrease tonight. Right now he is eating his +4.5. I will get a +5.5 (nadir) and then I am going to let him be until +11.

Hope you can get out and enjoy your day. I am going to try and do the same. It is beautiful day here too.
 
Strange, I wanted to check him for dehydration and I usually pinch/squeeze starting at the back/scruff of the neck and kinda message down his back a ways and when I got to between his shoulders he winced and hunched down. Maybe pain is not pancreatitis or maybe both? Anyway he seems ok with hydration and I am just going to give 0.3mL pain meds every 6 hours today and another Canna with tonight's meal.
 
How old is Gizmo? I can't find it.

One thing that can cause a lot of pain for older cats ( 10 + ) is arthritis which can be confirmed by x-ray.
It's what I dealt with and the major reason Shadow was ready to be done. ( she had a unique situation)
They hide it so well and they often don't want to be touched, especially where it hurts.
You can test the shoulders by holding their paws/elbows and pushing upward.... any reaction at all can mean a lot of pain.

I learned that cats that jump down from high places can cause themselves arthritis in their later years.
Mine used to jump down from a 9 ft platform when she was young..... I didn't realize that it would later cause her problems....
It was really the only thing that would have caused her to have arthritis in her front shoulders. But that wasn't the bad one for her, it was her rear pelvis that made her miserable from an injury as a kitten.
 
How old is Gizmo
13

I suspect arthritis. He has been on Joint Purr-FectionLiquid 2x/day for about 4 months. He still jumps down from the back of the couches and up/down from the desks. Not much I can do to stop him though I do lift him down after testing and shooting.

Any suggestions on anything better to give him to easy it if arthritis? He has crf/ckd so that has to be a consideration when medicating.
 
Good luck with the dosecrease. I hope the meds are helping and Gizmo is feeling better. Sending prayers.
Thanks Carla:bighug:. Pain meds seem to be helping. Will just give on a regular basis today and then tomorrow am/pm and go from there and see how he is.
 
yes.
ask your vet about you ( cheaper) giving him adequan shots....
i used the same insulin syringe because of the finer needle instead of the harpoon syringes they gave.
you start out giving 25mL every week.... for a month and then go to every 2 weeks... and finally to once a month.
the cheapest place I got it was from www.diamondbackdrugs.com

it does far better than those joint supplements....
it was developed for horses.... then they tried it on dogs.... and then some vets started on cats....
it helped my girl ... also Neko was on a version of it. ( and Sheba)

it got my Shadow playing again.... but it turned out it helped only 3 legs....
not the bad one... since she had no joint there ( head of femur was completely sheared off when she was a kitten)
 
yes.
ask your vet about you ( cheaper) giving him adequan shots....
Thank you! Do you think they would require x-rays before treatment? (Vet also suspects A). It may be that this latest cold front triggered the arthritis more than what he has normally been dealing with or it is both (A&panc). It has warmed up and will stay warmer all week so will see if that helps too.
 
they make cat heating pads.
i bought this one https://www.amazon.com/dp/B000S9M2V8/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
about 5 years ago and it's still going strong.
Heat is good for arthritis and this one won't get too hot like a human version.
That might give him someplace to go when he's aching.... and if he really likes it, he'll be there a lot. Most cats do like warmth.

and no, you don't have to do the x-ray.... you can wait until you have another reason to and ask them to pay attention if they see arthritis later on.

I think most vets are willing to give adequan a try because the proof is whether or not they feel better after they've had it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top