Carol & Rico
Member Since 2023
please check ss for details
@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Lori C & Tango
@Wendy&Neko
@Yanna
@Chris & China (GA)
@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom
@Lori C & Tango
Yes, his pupils are dilated and tries to get into dark corners, behind furniture.I saw your SS. Please test again in 20 mins? Is he still showing any symptoms?
Just give him more syrup and test again in 20 mins.Yes, his pupils are dilated and tries to get into dark corners, behind furniture.
No vets availableQuick summary for members who aren't logged in to see the SS:
AMPS 119, normal dose
+4 55, hypo symptoms
+6 64
+7 54, retested 10 minutes later 43, syrup given tested 62
Keep giving syrup and / or high carb food and retest. Is your vet open today? If not, is there a vet ER you can go to if your cat's bg won't rise to a more healthy level or symptoms continue?
Quick summary for members who aren't logged in to see the SS:
AMPS 119, normal dose
+4 55, hypo symptoms
+6 64
+7 54, retested 10 minutes later 43, syrup given tested 62
Keep giving syrup and / or high carb food and retest. Is your vet open today? If not, is there a vet ER you can go to if your cat's bg won't rise to a more healthy level or symptoms continue?
I wrote the times in the note section. didn't know how to write 10'later.With low numbers, give a teaspoon or two of something high carb -- gravy type food, honey, syrup -- and retest in 15 to 20 min to see if numbers are rising. It looks like you're doing everything right. Just keep giving a small amount of syrup and retesting until numbers are in a safe range.
I'm not clear on what the notation means on your spreadsheet (i.e, +10'). You can indicate where you are in the cycle by decimals: 15 min after the hour would be +7.25, 30 min after would be +7.5.
Just apply some honey/syrup to his lips/gums. Did you get another test after the 62?You'll have to guide me through this!!! He refuses to eat - how can I give him HC food?
I wrote the times in the note section. didn't know how to write 10'later.
Can you give the vet office a call anyways? There's usually an after hours voicemail message with info on who to call for emergencies.
Tomorrow, give the vet a call and give an update on today's hypo episode, what changes to the dose needs to be made if any, and further info on how to handle after hours hypo and other urgent health issues.
Just apply some honey/syrup to his lips/gums. Did you get another test after the 62?
What you are doing is right. Just keep giving HC or syrup on his lips/gums if he won't eat HC and test every 20 mins till his BG comes up safely.I called. He told me to give him sugar!
more syrup on the lips/gums and test in 20 mins.At +8 he's down to 52 again.
What you are doing is right. Just keep giving HC or syrup on his lips/gums if he won't eat HC and test every 20 mins till his BG comes up safely.
If you have high carb gravy based food, you can try to syringe the gravy mixed with syrup into your cat.
Remember to breathe and relax. I know you're panicking right now but you need to be calm and work on testing and getting syrup into the cat. Did the vet give you any other instructions on what to do IF you can't get bgs up with syrup or if symptoms get worse?
NOOOOO! His only advice was "give him some sugar!"![]()
![]()



That's good he ate a bitI put him in
I put him in the bathroom. He slowly ate a bit of Gourmet Gold. I will test himin 15' again! I think I should skip his dose tonight. Do you agree? Or should I give him just a token dose?
That's good he ate a bit
Let's see how your cat recovers and what PMPS is. The more experienced members can suggest what to do for PMPS. Personally I would skip insulin to be safe and just deal with the higher bgs the next day.
If I were you, I'd be finding a new vet after this hypo episode is over.
That's what I would do. Raise his BG a bit more54 at this test. Do I carry on testing him every 20' until he gets to 100?
Do Ikeep feedinghoney and HC food?
That's what I would do. Raise his BG a bit more
If he wants to eat feed him mc or syringe feed him mc liquid
Where in the cycle are you now? Your SS says +8.25, but if the PMPS is in 2.5 hours, it should be +9.5?
No need for a new condo since this is today's condo.
First, please keep in mind that Rico is in safe numbers. With TR, dose reductions occur when numbers for a newly diagnosed cat like Rico drop below 50. It can be unnerving to us when this happens and if Rico isn't all that used to low numbers, his body may respond the way it did today. You are doing a great job at managing/steering the numbers. If you look at the sticky, we urge caregivers to not become complacent -- and you're not! You may need to give a bit more high carb to bump the numbers up a bit especially if you're more comfortable with Rico being in the 60s+ vs the 50s.
With his numbers dropping below 50, Rico gets a dose reduction this evening to 2.5u. However, don't be surprised if his numbers bounce. Unless Rico's numbers are not at a level where it's safe to shoot, you will want to give him his PM dose. (If you're not sure what to do, post and ask for help.) Remember, the more time he spends in normal range numbers, the more his body will become accustomed to being back in normal numbers. With TR, the conventional wisdom is, "Shoot low to stay low."
While your vet may not have stated it clearly, his/her advice was not theoretically incorrect. Giving something sugar-like is exactly what you're doing. "Sugar" is anything that is high in carbs. At the vet's office they likely use a dextrose solution -- it's a simple sugar. Medical professionals forget that not everyone uses 'medical-speak.' In addition, most people have sugar at home. They may not have corn syrup or something similar like maple syrup or honey. Anyone can mix sugar in water and make a sugar solution.
So this is +8? Test again in 30 mins. No more syrup needed for now.Just tested him again. 76.
Do you want to let him out of the bathroom now that he is in higher numbers?MORE SYMPTOMS: DIARRHEA (LIGHT BROWN) AND HE'S FACING THE BATHROOM TILES (TRYING TO CLIMB ON THEM???)
So this is +8? Test again in 30 mins. No more syrup needed for now.
Do you want to let him out of the bathroom now that he is in higher numbers?
Numbers below 50 are not safe to shoot. It doesn't matter how experienced you are, don't shoot numbers below 50. (Having made that mistake, I do not recommend it!)
However, I encourage members to work their way down to shooting low numbers. If you recall, we tell someone new to feline diabetes and to TR to post and ask for help if you have a pre-shot number of 150. It allows an experienced member to walk someone who's new through the process. The longer you're here, the more comfortable you become at shooting low. Looking at Rico's spreadsheet, you've shot as low as 53. You should be able to shoot any number above 50. (You really are doing a great job!)
That's a relief. I'm sure that symptopatic hypo must have scared him!He seems to be doing better (at least his eyes are almost back to normal) but still wants to hide.
It's later in the cycle so he might not need syrup to keep him in safe numbers. Will he eat some of his usual LC food?What worries me is that as soon as I stopped giving him the syrup, he went down from 76 to 68 in only 30 minutes.
I’m glad he’s doing better. I would keep a close eye on his behavior over the next several hours and be sure he doesn’t have any residual symptoms. While most cats handle the 40s with no hypo symptoms, occasionally we see one with concerning behavior in the 40s.
One other thing I’d like to suggest is that you get a +2 test every single cycle that you are at home. It will tell you whether he’s going to drop or not so you can be prepared and not surprised.
I took the 911 down for you so you don’t have one more thing to deal with but it would be good if you could change the subject line to the standard so members don’t worry & they can focus on helping others since you have eyes on him here.
Thank you, Carol.
So this is +8? Test again in 30 mins. No more syrup needed for now.
Do you want to let him out of the bathroom now that he is in higher numbers?
I’m glad he’s doing better. I would keep a close eye on his behavior over the next several hours and be sure he doesn’t have any residual symptoms. While most cats handle the 40s with no hypo symptoms, occasionally we see one with concerning behavior in the 40s.
One other thing I’d like to suggest is that you get a +2 test every single cycle that you are at home. It will tell you whether he’s going to drop or not so you can be prepared and not surprised.
I took the 911 down for you so you don’t have one more thing to deal with but it would be good if you could change the subject line to the standard so members don’t worry & they can focus on helping others since you have eyes on him here.
Thank you, Carol.
The difference between 76 and 68 is negligible. There is a 20% error factor between any test due to issues with measurement. The 76 and 68 are essentially the same number.
If he had HC an hour ago, the PMPS is food influenced. If you wait and shoot later, can your schedule accommodate the delay?
How is he doing?
No feeding while stalling. If you won’t be able to stay up, I personally would skip unless you see a bounce after waiting the two hours. I know others might disagree. This choice would be for you to be able to function tomorrow and not because a skip is needed necessarily.
Is he seeing okay now? or just going around the house by habit?
Don't feed. I presume the last meal he had was at +11? Let's see if he drops again at +13 once the carbs wear off.
Yes. The reduction was earned and for safety reasons since you can’t monitor please skip.61 at +13. He started dropping his numbers again. Is it OK if I skip tonight and start with -0.25 in the morning?