02/24 Cleo AMPS=453 +2=421 PMPS=301 +2=352 +4=198 ???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Delia

Member Since 2014
Yesterday
02/23 Recap
AMPS=332
+2=294
PMPS=183
+2=307
+4=297

I don't know if Cleo passes her day and night in yellow or in pink, maybe tonight I should take a test at about +6.

Julie, thank you to remember me that I should increase to +3.25, but I have a question. Looking at Cleo's spreadsheet and considering NDW and bouncing, which day would be the best to make the increase to have an active cycle on friday night or saturday? As some of you know, I'm a full time worker and I can't monitor during the am cycle. I read the sticky about TR with full time job. Some of you increase on Thursday, some on Saturday. In your opinion, which would be the best day for Cleo?

Another question: probably friday I will be late from work and not able to give her pm shot on time. What should I do? Skip? Give a reduced dose when I'm at home, give the normal dose?

Thank you in advance!

Delia
 
No dosing advice from me, but I am going to have to say that it would be the ECID rule as far as when the active cycle would be after the increase. Looking at your spreadsheet it looks like after you increased to 3 units you saw a bit more action the very next cycle and the follow two. But who is to say that that would be the same case this time.

I am sure someone else will have a more definitive answer.
 
Tina, thank you!
Wendy, I don't know how late I will be. May be one, two, tree hours, maybe more, maybe less... really I don't know.
 
Looks to me like she seems to show the "fullest" effects of the dose increase on about the 3rd-4th cycle after the increase. That's been the case when you increased the last two times. If you want it to fall on Saturday morning, maybe I'd do the increase on Thursday night or even Friday morning.

It's not a very exact science though, I'm just doing the best I can looking at her spreadsheet. @Wendy&Neko is better at seeing this type of thing than I am. Maybe she'll have some wisdom to offer.

As far as Friday goes, I think you can make some of the decision based upon how high she is when you get home. There is more flexibility in shooting a little early/late than we used to think. If you get home Friday night within about 3 hours of the shot, I'd go ahead and give the shot then. On Saturday morning, you could check her at her regular shot time and if she's high enough, it might be ok to shoot. When you shoot early, it acts a bit like a dose increase because you are increasing the overlap between the previous shot and the onset of the current shot. So the cycles overlap a bit. Shooting at +10 can be a great technique for helping get control of blood sugar if it's done in the right circumstances. Whether or not that's the case on Saturday morning, we'd only know by looking at her tests at that time. But consider it's a possibility.

If she's running low on Saturday morning, then you might want to shoot at +12 from Friday night and work your way backwards to get on schedule on Monday morning.

So you have options.
 
I agree with Julie - Cleo seems to really start working an increase on the 3rd or 4th cycle. Starting Thursday night or Friday morning with the increase would work. However, the possible delay on Friday is going to impact things. If you are 1.5 hours or less late on Friday night, I'd just shoot when you get home, then make up 1/2 hour each of Saturday AM, Sunday AM, and Monday AM to put you back on time. You do have a little bit of time to play with in the morning, as you do get a +2. You could make that a +1.5 on Monday morning and get back on time with also moving your schedule back another 1/2 hour on Tuesday AM. That would take care of you getting home two hours late on Friday.

You can shoot earlier on Saturday morning as Julie describes, but I'd want to see Cleo in at least the high 300's before doing so. Get a +10 or +11 if you think that might be the new PS time. You can always post here and ask if you are uncertain. One of us North American west coast people might still be up then.
 
Another possibility that people do sometimes when they've got a conflict at shot time is doing two 18 hour cycles. So if you are significantly late on Friday night, you could shoot 6 hours late (making that Friday day cycle 18 hours between the morning shot and the next one.) Then you skip the Saturday morning shot and shoot Saturday night, making that cycle 18 hours long as well.

The disadvantage of doing that is that it's not going to be helpful when you're trying to increase the dose and have the response seen on Saturday.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top