? 02/22 Molly AMPS 364 Question regarding Cerenia

Adrienne & Molly (GA)

Member Since 2019
Yesterday
I skipped last night, but now regretting it. Molly doesn’t have an appetite this morning. Still has diarrhea but looks like it’s starting to form. I thought that the Cerenia was suppose to help with appetite?
I have basically given up! @Suzanne & Darcy any suggestions?
 
I think I will stop giving Molly the Cerenia? She was at least eating when she wasn’t on it. This morning she had a very small appetite. She wants to eat but doesn’t.
Suggestions?
 
And why did you skip last night, because she wasn’t eating? I don’t see anything in the PMPS for last night. What was her number?
 
She probably feels blah in pink? I see she had a few pinks in the last month. Have you any notes or anything to tell you if it affects her appetite (either making her eat less or eat more?)
 
I don’t like the hunching over! And the doc said when he x-rayed her that he did not see a bunch of stool backed up in there, right? Or just a little? I can look back… was that Sunday? Or Saturday?
 
It depends sometimes more on pink, but alot of the time she eats less. I gave her the pill pocket treats this morning, she could eat the whole bag of those.
 
upload_2022-2-22_7-29-58.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-2-22_7-29-58.jpeg
    upload_2022-2-22_7-29-58.jpeg
    113 KB · Views: 251
And yes, you probably should not have skipped but perhaps should have given her a reduced dose - even half her normal amount- just so she got some insulin. But that’s past now and I am sure she will get back on track.

What do you try to tempt her with when she doesn’t want to eat as much. Is there any food that she really likes? (Even…. And I am going to say a bad word now… kibble.)
 
And yes, you probably should not have skipped but perhaps should have given her a reduced dose - even half her normal amount- just so she got some insulin. But that’s past now and I am sure she will get back on track.

What do you try to tempt her with when she doesn’t want to eat as much. Is there any food that she really likes? (Even…. And I am going to say a bad word now… kibble.)
She likes those pill pocket treats, she moves my hand to get to them. I could try kibble but the other day she wasn't interested in it.
 
He said he saw loose stool and lots of gas? She probably has gas pains then. How much diarrhea is she having? Every day? Multiple times a day? Completely flat watery diarrhea or is it getting some shape?

What has she been eating? Just Fancy Feast.
 
He said he saw loose stool and lots of gas? She probably has gas pains then. How much diarrhea is she having? Every day? Multiple times a day? Completely flat watery diarrhea or is it getting some shape?

What has she been eating? Just Fancy Feast.
Yes, lots of loose stool and gas. No diarrhea yesterday, but this morning a little and then she went again, and there was more. looked like it was starting to form in the middle.
She's been eating Fancy feast beef pate, she had quite a bit of chicken that I cooked yesterday and the fancy feast gravy ( chicken).
 
If she’s been having diarrhea for several days, then I don’t understand the advice of the vet to keep giving her the Miralax. How much Miralax is she getting and how often? I would understand it if the vet saw a bunch of really hard, impacted stool in there, but he said he didn’t see that.
 
Did you leave food out for her this morning? I hope at lunch time when you check up on her that she will have eaten it. Maybe this morning she just had a painful gas bubble in there and it is backed up behind some stool that she still needs to pass. And you say she’s drinking water this morning so that’s good.
 
If she’s been having diarrhea for several days, then I don’t understand the advice of the vet to keep giving her the Miralax. How much Miralax is she getting and how often? I would understand it if the vet saw a bunch of really hard, impacted stool in there, but he said he didn’t see that.
She said to continue with 1/4 tsp and I don't understand the cerenia she wasn't puking on twice within a week.
 
Did you leave food out for her this morning? I hope at lunch time when you check up on her that she will have eaten it. Maybe this morning she just had a painful gas bubble in there and it is backed up behind some stool that she still needs to pass. And you say she’s drinking water this morning so that’s good.
Yes, I left out two kinds of food, the pate and the gravy. She had some water this morning. along with a couple treats.
 
I think I will stop giving Molly the Cerenia? She was at least eating when she wasn’t on it. This morning she had a very small appetite. She wants to eat but doesn’t.
Suggestions?
Well, you can always try stopping it. If she starts vomiting again you can always re-start it. If she shows signs of nausea, you can try Ondansetron (Rx from vet) but if this keeps up you will want to find out why she is feeling this way.
 
I am sorry not to be of more help. I hope this is going to go away. If it’s just constipation related then she should be able to get over it soon I hope. But it doesn’t sound like they thought she was badly constipated.

If Molly were my cat and she keeps on like this, I would schedule her for an abdominal ultrasound to be done by someone with a lot of experience doing them. I mean, they can add in appetite stimulants even, but the real question is, why is she feeling like this.

See how she does today and this week. If things don’t improve, you can reevaluate the situation.

It is so upsetting when they don’t eat - and for a diabetic cat it’s much worse.
 
Oh yes, the Slippery Elm Bark powder can be bought at health food stores or on Amazon. Do some reading about it first. It can be really good for all kinds of GI upsets including constipation, diarrhea and excess stomach acid. But you need to get it in them. Probably syringing in a little bit (you mix it with water and some people boil it). It’s kind of gel-like and it coats the digestive tract and is very soothing. Let me send you a link about it.
 
The vet thinks where I stopped giving her the Miralax. That she got constipated, and then I kept doubling her dose with the miralax caused the gas and diarrhea.
Okay, I can see that. Maybe. But the vet didn’t say she had a lot of hard stool. You can keep trying it. See what happens. It doesn’t seem to be hurting her - and maybe she is starting to form a stool?
 
Okay, I can see that. Maybe. But the vet didn’t say she had a lot of hard stool. You can keep trying it. See what happens. It doesn’t seem to be hurting her - and maybe she is starting to form a stool?
She called a reverse affect, I don't know really what to do. She was back to her old self Sunday, I don't know. So I can reduce dose if she's not eating?
 
Last edited:
Miralax is given dose to effect. I wonder if you need to cut back to 1/8 teaspoon? I’d also consider seeing a vet that’s a boarded internal medicine as I would want the cause if this doesn’t resolve soon.:bighug:
 
Miralax is given dose to effect. I wonder if you need to cut back to 1/8 teaspoon? I’d also consider seeing a vet that’s a boarded internal medicine as I would want the cause if this doesn’t resolve soon.:bighug:
Okay, I'll reduce the dose of the miralax. I am also going to stop the Cerenia and see what happens.
 
She had a wellness check up on January 29/22. Blood work wouldn't that have shown in the panel? what are the symptoms of pancreatitis? what can be done for it?
There’s a special blood test for it, the SpecfPL. It’s sent to the lab. The vets have a quick SNAP test but it just gives a positive or negative and not a number so if in the gray zone you would not know. Also it is only worth doing if symptomatic as otherwise it will likely be negative on both tests. It’s very common for diabetic cats. Max had chronic pancreatitis for years and might have led to him becoming diabetic.

Symptoms vary from cat to cat. Some just don’t feel right and spend time in the meatball position. Other symptoms are pain, nausea, inappetence, diarrhea, constipation, and vomiting. We have a whole handbook on it.
 
Two options for diarrhea are slippery elm bark or s. boullardi. Try this website for details on how to use. I have bought SEB (slippery elm bark) in BC at a pet food store in the past, though you can also get it at vitamin shops.

I am a much bigger fan of onsansetron than Cerenia for nausea unless there is vomiting, though usually you have to convince the vets to write the prescription. You get the script filled at any human pharmacy. It is pricey, do shop around as there are big price ranges. Also, you want the generic.
 
Two options for diarrhea are slippery elm bark or s. boullardi. Try this website for details on how to use. I have bought SEB (slippery elm bark) in BC at a pet food store in the past, though you can also get it at vitamin shops.

I am a much bigger fan of onsansetron than Cerenia for nausea unless there is vomiting, though usually you have to convince the vets to write the prescription. You get the script filled at any human pharmacy. It is pricey, do shop around as there are big price ranges. Also, you want the generic.

I still don't understand why the Cerenia was prescribed. She wasn't puking every day, first was last Saturday and Sunday. Feb 12& 13th where I stopped giving her the Miralax or Restoralax is when I noticed little poops in the litter box. So I started giving her the laxative again. When it wasn't working I doubled up on the laxative, now she has diarrhea and gas.
 
A lot of vets give Cerenia as their first choice for nausea or vomiting. Vomits shouldn't happen more than once a month. Also, it has a bit of anti-inflammatory properties.
 
Back
Top