02.22.17 Chase AMPS @ +11.5 193, Shot at 6:30, +1 194,, +2 196, +3 183, PMPS 213, +2 163, +4 123

Status
Not open for further replies.
163 giving 0.1u and LC food

I haven't started a new thread, yet. My mouse isn't working and and the pad on the laptop is touchy. Where are 2 double A batteries when you need them? :eek:
 
Last edited:
I would just add to what Karen said, if he is dropping significantly(lower than 140) at +1 I would recommend you give him some MC for his meal, to flatten him out, as you have to go to work.
If he is the same or has come up a bit after the food then stick with your LC meal.
 
I would just add to what Karen said, if he is dropping significantly(lower than 140) at +1 I would recommend you give him some MC for his meal, to flatten him out, as you have to go to work.
If he is the same or has come up a bit after the food then stick with your LC meal.
Thank you for giving me that 140 number. That helps me more than anything, right now. OK... about to test.
 
I think a snack of LC is fine to keep him flat and test again at +2:)
OK... well he eats 4 cans of FF a day. In the morning, especially, I have been giving him half a can at a time. Remember.... if he drops I have MC food and HC food, which he LOVES, and he will eat at ANY given time.

I just gave him half of one can.
 
Ok, when are you leaving for work..after +2 or +3? I assume you will also leave food out for him while you're gone...correct?
 
Marje said that 50 - 120 is a good number, but that is a big drop, for only an hour. :(
It is a big drop and he has probably just onset.

Because you have to leave at +3ish
Can you check him again at +2.5?
If his numbers are still dropping, then some more MC then, and it will give you one more chance to check before leaving.
He is in safe numbers and if you were able to stay then I would go for just the test at +3, so being a little bit more cautious, so you can steer him with the food a little more proactively.
 
I have NO idea how my dates in the SS got off. Today is the 23rd, not the 24th. I don't have time to figure it out and fix it. I have to get in the shower. Must leave immediately after I get the +3. Can you tell me what I should leave down, LC or MC.... like an example of a number. I have frozen MC and LC, so I can put either down when I leave. I will have to leave within a few minutes after his +3 because yesterday I was late to work. :(
 
It is a big drop and he has probably just onset.

Because you have to leave at +3ish
Can you check him again at +2.5?
If his numbers are still dropping, then some more MC then, and it will give you one more chance to check before leaving.
He is in safe numbers and if you were able to stay then I would go for just the test at +3, so being a little bit more cautious, so you can steer him with the food a little more proactively.
I will do my best. I have to get ready for work. Tomorrow I will start getting ready for work earlier, just in case this happens. I will jump in the shower and then test at +2.5.... will then post.
 
If for some crazy reason he was around 60, because you have to leave, I would bump him up with some HC,

If he has dropped at +3 I would leave MC at +3 so if he is lower than 99.
If he has dropped at +3 and is between 85-70, I would leave some MC out for him to nibble on through the day. Better to be safe.

If he has levelled out at +3 you could go with MC at +3 and LC snacks to nibble on.

If he has come up, over 110 @ +3, then LC at +3 and LC snacks.
 
Given the amount of food you've given him this morning and he still dropped to 99 I would leave out MC since you can't be home. Honestly I think you should reduce his dose to a "drop" tonight. Having to constantly feed MC says to me he needs a lower dose. Having to give MC all the time is not allowing to see the real picture but is needed since you need to work. Sure others will disagree about reducing but that's my opinion. The other option is to keep the .1 dose, keep using the MC and over the weekend while you home just got to all LC when you can monitor to see what he's doing.

Don't worry about any of this now Sandi, I'm just putting thoughts out there.
 
And on SLGS he earned a reduction to the "drop" of insulin tonight. Basically Sandi, you will push the plunger in firmly, insert the needed into the Lantus and release. It will suck up a "drop" of insulin. This is all good stuff, nerve wracking but he's super close to being OTJ.
 
And on SLGS he earned a reduction to the "drop" of insulin tonight. Basically Sandi, you will push the plunger in firmly, insert the needed into the Lantus and release. It will suck up a "drop" of insulin. This is all good stuff, nerve wracking but he's super close to being OTJ.
OMG... OTJ?? Could it be? I'm crying, now. This has been very nerve racking but SO worth it if it means he will be healthier. I guess his pancreas has healed some. :woot:

What must his number at PMPS be in order to give him the drop of insulin? And... what will I feed him?
 
If he's high enough to shoot tonight regardless of how high you'll be reducing the dose to a drop at PMPS.
She could hold the dose if he was high(high yellow or more perhaps), and shoot through the bounce? Reducing in the morning?
Just thinking of trying to give fragile Mr P as much support as possible to give Chase the best chance at a strong remission, with yellows still in the picture so recently just thinking of trying to molly coddle those Beta cells.

I used MC a lot to manage George's early part of the curve to control the bouncing and flatten him out, it is nerve wracking, even more so for Sandi because of work, but I do think that by keeping hold of doses for as long as it was safe to do so has really helped with his remission.
 
+3 is 78 Do I feed MC and then leave MC down, Gil? Or Feed MC and leave out LC?

I'm so sorry... haven't had time to start a new thread. Will try to fix this at work.
 
Sandi, I think I would give him some HC now, that 72 is awful close to the cutoff, a decent amount to abort this cycle.
Check at +3, give him some HC then as well, then and then leave out some MC for him to snack on.
78 at +3 So I will give him some more HC (he will ONLY lick the gravy off), and leave down some frozen MC? I hope that's right. I have to leave in 5 minutes.
 
I would give him some HC and leave MC down, he hasn't come up yet from the HC, so I think giving a little extra HC might be just the ticket for safeties sake.
The gravy is where the carbs are.
Maybe leave some MC down as well for him, something more substantial for him to munch on while his food defrosts.
 
Respectfully Gill, I understand your suggestion and the points about using MC. However I disagree in the case for Chase and it's just my opinion for the following reason.

1- we don't know if that yellow was a result of a bounce yesterday considering he dropped pretty good last night.
2 - Chase is a very newly diagnosed kitty that was eating dry but was removed 3 weeks ago
3 - I would not shoot through the bounce tonight because Sandi cannot monitor much during the day or late at night. If tomorrow was Saturday and she could watch him more I might think differently
4 - This morning's AMPS could also be a bounce as he was still dropping at +4 last night
5- Today is the 7th cycle on .1 and he's obviously holding the dose just fine
 
With talk of reducing or withholding his dose tonight, altogether, I will make a point of getting on her at work to read this again and try to absorb. Although... I'm VERY busy at work. Thank you BOTH for staying with me through the morning. cat_wings>o
 
I agree with all your points @Doodles & Karen , I just think that she should see where he is before deciding.

Ability to monitor is a very important factor.
FWIW, given his response this morning I do think the reduction is worth trying, but if he was in the pink tonight...... I would err to shooting through that, and taking the reduction in the morning.

I don't think the number this morning was a bounce, it looks more like the end of the cycle, and judging by the +1 and +2 it looks like Chase was getting good duration and overlap.
As for yesterdays yellow pmps, the preceding cycle looks pretty flat, (of course we can't be sure), but given again that he dropped at +2, looks like he came in flat and then dropped at onset.

Knowing Chase, he'll be low blue anyways, so shooting through a bounce may be a mute point.:rolleyes:

At the end of the day Sandi holds the syringe and she can make an informed choice.
 
Exciting stuff. This boy definitely wants OTJ and I can't wait to see what his number is tonight. I think he is ready for a drop of insulin too because of dropping this fast and early in the cycle even with MC and HC food.
 
Hi... oh my gosh... I hope someone is here. Chase's BG at PMPS is 232.
Been waiting for you Sandi :) I would still bring his dose down to a drop tonight. You had to give him quite a bit of food this morning including MC & HC and he earned the reduction by going below 90 today. With the drop dose...push the plunger in firmly, insert into Lantus and release. Feed LC food.
 
Cool Beans Sandi! As I said a few days ago, I think this boy could be off the juice before you even know what his patterns are. That's my story and I am sticking to it. :cat::p
 
Sandi, if you see this before you shot, when you do shoot hold the plunger into Chase skin and count to 6-7 and keep the plunger depressed as you pull the syringe out of his skin. This prevents the drop from being sucked back into the syringe.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top