02/20 MISSY PMPS 110, +1.5 101, +2.5 59, +3 56, +3.5 58, +4.5 58

+1.5 128...


AMPS 149... fed LC at PS and +1.. dropping nicely. More LC? Test 1 hour?
I know you guys are busy....I am just going to feed on the hour. So she didn't get more LC at +1.5. I will feed her at +2 and test again in one hour..then I am back on schedule. Hope this is the right call. ;)
 
Same at +1. Test at +1.5
Hi Bhooma.... Good Morning... hope you got some sleep and your little Bandit behaved herself. ;)

I just gave her 1 tsp of LC. Didn't know if I should carb her up seeing she is flat. It's not too late I can still give her 1/4 - 1/2 tsp if you think I should. :)
 
Ok.... sorry I'm being a pain... and a bit confused :confused:

I have only fed PMPS and +1
Should I feed her now as well. I'm at +1.75. Last meal was at +1 LC :nailbiting: but she didnt dive thankfully.

Sorry. I meant feed at +2 - I know you've fed at PMPS and +1 and she's kinda flat. :-)
Thought you could test at +2.5 (one hour from the last test).

Hopefully she is bouncing and you can get some sleep!
 
Sorry. I meant feed at +2 - I know you've fed at PMPS and +1 and she's kinda flat. :)
Thought you could test at +2.5 (one hour from the last test).

Hopefully she is bouncing and you can get some sleep!
Ok good... I'm not on my game tonight :confused:... I just tested her just to be safe seeing I screwed this hour up... she is 74. So.... I will feed LC and test at +2.5.

My forum is kinda slow and has been stalling a bit... just so ya know. :)
 
she will flatten out now. probably stay in these levels. another soon of LC and test in an hour.

59, 56, 58 are all flat. good old meter variance!
 
Hi Elise or Bhooma **darn it :oops: I just noticed I posted into the wrong message**

Seeing Missy earned a reduction today :p I was doing a bit of research and have a few questions. :bookworm:

1. When do I reduce the dose? For the next cycle which would be this PMPS or tomorrow morning AMPS?
2. I copied a section below from the TR protocol and it mentions shaving the dose down rather than reducing it by a full quarter. This is her first reduction on TR. She did have a reduction on SLGS but it wasn't very successful and we ended up increasing the dose again. So that is why I am asking. I guess maybe there isn't enough history of reductions with Missy to know full well how she will hold it. What are your thoughts on this for her?

Thank you for all your help and support!!! :bighug::bighug:

@tiffmaxee
@Bandit's Mom

Reducing the dose:

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
 
Last edited:
Hi. Just finished my workout and seeing this. You will reduce tonight so her new dose will be 1.0. Since she has not been diabetic very long take the full reduction. Unlike SLGS, if her numbers go up there’s no set amount of time to wait to go back up if the reduction fails. She might bounce but since she wasn’t under 50 too long she might just not miss a beat.
 
Hi. Just finished my workout and seeing this. You will reduce tonight so her new dose will be 1.0. Since she has not been diabetic very long take the full reduction. Unlike SLGS, if her numbers go up there’s no set amount of time to wait to go back up if the reduction fails. She might bounce but since she wasn’t under 50 too long she might just not miss a beat.
Ok perfect.... thank you!! I will reduce at PMPS :)
 
She’s surfing nicely. Maybe the little bit of hc was a good idea. Next time she drops under 50, if early in the cycle give hc. If at +5 or later you can try mc if you want. If not up in 20-30 then a little hc.
 
Back
Top