02/20 MISSY PMPS 110, +1.5 101, +2.5 59, +3 56, +3.5 58, +4.5 58

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Missy & Tammy, Feb 20, 2021.

  1. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
  2. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Good morning. Lc only.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Missy & Tammy like this.
  3. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    And feed at +1 as well.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  4. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hi Bhooma... got it... LC at +1
    I don't have to leave this morning so test at +1.5? :)
     
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. Test at +1.5! :)
     
  6. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    +1.5 128...


    AMPS 149... fed LC at PS and +1.. dropping nicely. More LC? Test 1 hour?
     
  7. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    I know you guys are busy....I am just going to feed on the hour. So she didn't get more LC at +1.5. I will feed her at +2 and test again in one hour..then I am back on schedule. Hope this is the right call. ;)
     
  8. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hi Tammy, sorry. Just lost of track of time. You are absolutely on the right track.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    +2.5 test?
     
  10. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    PMPS 110...
    Going to feed a mix of LC/MC as I did last night. :)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Same at +1. Test at +1.5
     
  12. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hi Bhooma.... Good Morning... hope you got some sleep and your little Bandit behaved herself. ;)

    I just gave her 1 tsp of LC. Didn't know if I should carb her up seeing she is flat. It's not too late I can still give her 1/4 - 1/2 tsp if you think I should. :)
     
  13. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She might dive at onset like she did last night. Yesterday's 63 was at PMPS +1.5 (onset) but your SS says +1.
     
  14. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    She didn't dive...
    Darn it... you're right!! :(
    Luckily she didn't dive... she's 101 now.
    Havent fed her yet... what are you thinking? :)
     
  15. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    yesterday we fed at +1... tested at +1.5... and then fed again at +1.5 (at least I'm pretty sure thats what we did... i went back and looked at the notes to see what we did)
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  16. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes. I remember :) But I went and looked too! :)
    Feed LC at +2 and test at +2.5?
     
  17. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok.... sorry I'm being a pain... and a bit confused :confused:

    I have only fed PMPS and +1
    Should I feed her now as well. I'm at +1.75. Last meal was at +1 LC :nailbiting: but she didnt dive thankfully.
     
  18. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Sorry. I meant feed at +2 - I know you've fed at PMPS and +1 and she's kinda flat. :)
    Thought you could test at +2.5 (one hour from the last test).

    Hopefully she is bouncing and you can get some sleep!
     
  19. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok good... I'm not on my game tonight :confused:... I just tested her just to be safe seeing I screwed this hour up... she is 74. So.... I will feed LC and test at +2.5.

    My forum is kinda slow and has been stalling a bit... just so ya know. :)
     
  20. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Oh very nice - another cycle of green! How lovely! 74 at +1.75 or +2?

    Sounds like me this morning. I want more sleep.
     
  21. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    LOL...I bet you need more sleep...same here. :blackeye:
    So that 74 was at +2
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  22. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hey Bhooma....
    She's dropping more... now 59 at +2.5
    What do I feed? :)
     
  23. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    LC! Higher carbs only if she drops below 50 :)
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.
  24. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Done... I test in 20 min now.. +3
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  25. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    +3 is 56... :woot:
    What should I feed?
     
  26. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    LC! and test in half an hour.

    Is this your lowest number so far? :D
     
  27. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    gotcha... its getting exciting again ;)
     
  28. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    i never thought i'd see this day! when you find the 50s exciting! :bighug:
     
  29. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    I know right :rolleyes:
    I used to always read you guys talking about greens being ADDICTIVE... and I was like :eek:
    now I know what you mean... Maybe she will earn her reduction tonight. :D
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  30. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    OMG +3.5 is 58...:arghh: what the heck...
     
  31. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    she will flatten out now. probably stay in these levels. another soon of LC and test in an hour.

    59, 56, 58 are all flat. good old meter variance!
     
  32. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok great :facepalm:
    Sooooo that means no reduction tonight I guess :confused:
     
  33. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I think you have the +9 and +10 BG numbers in the wrong line.....maybe they were last nights numbers but are in tonight’s cycle.
     
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    She could still drop again
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  35. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    yah I do... thank you... I just shoved them in there quick to get Bhooma a US number. Thanks for the reminder. I will go fix them now. :)
     
  36. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    +4.5 58...:banghead:
    :D:D:D
     
  37. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    She's really going to drag this out, isn't she?! Want to take a nap and test in a couple of hours?
     
  38. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    A couple of hours? :eek: Can I leave her that long being so low?
    I have stuff to do still.... I won't be going to bed yet or napping :smuggrin:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  39. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    LOL. Did you get another test?
     
  40. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Sorry forgot to post... +5.5 74
    I fed LC and may get one more just to be sure. Thank you again for always being there and for all your support. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  41. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Hi Elise or Bhooma **darn it :oops: I just noticed I posted into the wrong message**

    Seeing Missy earned a reduction today :p I was doing a bit of research and have a few questions. :bookworm:

    1. When do I reduce the dose? For the next cycle which would be this PMPS or tomorrow morning AMPS?
    2. I copied a section below from the TR protocol and it mentions shaving the dose down rather than reducing it by a full quarter. This is her first reduction on TR. She did have a reduction on SLGS but it wasn't very successful and we ended up increasing the dose again. So that is why I am asking. I guess maybe there isn't enough history of reductions with Missy to know full well how she will hold it. What are your thoughts on this for her?

    Thank you for all your help and support!!! :bighug::bighug:

    @tiffmaxee
    @Bandit's Mom

    Reducing the dose:

    The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Basaglar, & Levemir ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
    • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
    • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
    • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
    • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2021
  42. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Hi. Just finished my workout and seeing this. You will reduce tonight so her new dose will be 1.0. Since she has not been diabetic very long take the full reduction. Unlike SLGS, if her numbers go up there’s no set amount of time to wait to go back up if the reduction fails. She might bounce but since she wasn’t under 50 too long she might just not miss a beat.
     
  43. Missy & Tammy

    Missy & Tammy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2020
    Ok perfect.... thank you!! I will reduce at PMPS :)
     
  44. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    She’s surfing nicely. Maybe the little bit of hc was a good idea. Next time she drops under 50, if early in the cycle give hc. If at +5 or later you can try mc if you want. If not up in 20-30 then a little hc.
     
    Missy & Tammy likes this.

Share This Page