? 02/19 Tinka 58 +8 (LC),59 +9,67 +10.5,77 PMPS (LC),86 +12.75 (shot),77 +1.75 (HC),103 +3, 128 +4

Status
Not open for further replies.

TanyaG

Member Since 2016
Hi all hope you're having a happy Sunday :) So yesterday we saw yellow all day which was likely a bounce from Tinka surfing the green lagoon the night before. Was hoping to see blue today but wasn't expecting that she'd have that low a value this morning of 103 at AMPS. It now makes sense as she kept me awake about 2 hours last night she was obviously dropping low and probably wanting food.

My DH actually did Tinka's BG, food and shot this morning so I have only just been told now he shot at 103. Unfortunately he thought a +4 would be OK as the next test. Needless to say I had a mini freak out and urged him to get in that +4 right now as I was concerned she may have dropped below 50. When shooting low numbers we usually get in a minimum of +2, +3 etc. Usually we try for a +1 as well. Which was the instructions I'd given but he got confused. Anyways her +4 is now 67 so thankfully she's safe. Great to be seeing green but it is still fairly early in the cycle so DH has now given her some LC food to start curving her up or helping her surf. I am here now too and will be home for a good portion of the day so we can monitor her as much as needed.

Yesterday's condo - http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/1899392/
 
Last edited:
Well guess that answers yesterdays question on bounce versus steroid;)
Yesterdays thread
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/1899392/

Nice Bounce clearing action from Tinka:D:D:D
Thanks Gill yip that def answers that question! Im really glad the yellows yesterday were from the bounce and not from the steroid as unfort we need to use the steroid a little while longer. So I'm really pleased to see her clearing it. I wonder if she dropped lower than 103 in the night as she was pestering me for a few hours before AMPS.

DH gave her some LC food at +4. Sooo test again at +5 in 20 mins. If she's the same we'll wait but if she's lower we could either feed some more LC to curve her or wait to see if she'll take a reduction. She's due a full feed usually around this time so I think we'll go ahead and feed her some LC to help her curve. I think this dose is working pretty well for her, although is is requiring a fair amount of monitoring.
 
Last edited:
I'm glad to see we were right about bouncing and the steroid doesn't seem to be the issue. Meanwhile, Tinka sure likes the lagoon! :D

Don't worry too much about what might have happened last night. You can drive yourself crazy with that. Just learn from it all and apply what you have learned going forward.

Surf safely, Tinka!
 
Ok so +4 she was 67 and we fed her 14g LC. Now she's 58 at +5. She's due her lunch feed typically btwn now and an hours time so we've gone ahead and fed her, a little less as we fed her some at +4 and also don't want to over feed in case she needs more food in a little while. Hopefully she'll get a good bump after this and surf for a while. I do wonder though with the lower greens is she maybe looking for a dose reduction? Or just liking to surf low.
 
I'm glad to see we were right about bouncing and the steroid doesn't seem to be the issue. Meanwhile, Tinka sure likes the lagoon! :D

Don't worry too much about what might have happened last night. You can drive yourself crazy with that. Just learn from it all and apply what you have learned going forward.

Surf safely, Tinka!
Thanks Tricia I'm really pleased it's not the steroid! Sue sure is enjoying lagoon surfing! I'm loving the greens just finding with her surfing low it's requiring quite a lot of monitoring till late hours in the AM and then also closer monitoring during the day which has been really tiring.

Wondering if she's looking for a dose reduction or just likes the lagoon surfing. I guess a part of me would like to see her earn a reduction to see if a lower dose is more manageable, but at the same time I don't want to regress on our progress.
 
I wonder if she dropped lower than 103 in the night as she was pestering me for a few hours before AMPS.
I used to make myself crazy asking those questions LOL, I don't think she did, but we'll never know.
I do wonder though with the lower greens is she maybe looking for a dose reduction? Or just liking to surf low.
She's looking great on this dose, she'll let you know soon enough.
For the time being enjoy the surf :D:D:D

images
 
I do wonder though with the lower greens is she maybe looking for a dose reduction? Or just liking to surf low.
It's hard to say. Since you haven't had a really hard time keeping her above 50, I'd say she's just enjoying the ride. She will let you know when she's serious about less juice. Keep doing what you're doing. She is really looking good.

Clearing the bounce so quickly means her body is adjusting to the lower numbers, too. Another good thing.

Don't be too hard on DH. It's awesome that he is helping. Tell him I said good job on running with our saying "shoot low to stay low"!
;)
 
I used to make myself crazy asking those questions LOL, I don't think she did, but we'll never know.

She's looking great on this dose, she'll let you know soon enough.
For the time being enjoy the surf :D:D:D

images
Great thanks Gill that's good to know, it's encouraging :) Hee, hee love the pic!!
 
It's hard to say. Since you haven't had a really hard time keeping her above 50, I'd say she's just enjoying the ride. She will let you know when she's serious about less juice. Keep doing what you're doing. She is really looking good.

Clearing the bounce so quickly means her body is adjusting to the lower numbers, too. Another good thing.

Don't be too hard on DH. It's awesome that he is helping. Tell him I said good job on running with our saying "shoot low to stay low"!
;)
Thanks Tricia that's really helpful to know:) Im encouraged that she's doing really well. Makes all the close monitoring worth it. Thank you I told DH he was pleased :)
 
Ok so I just took Tinka's +6 was hoping for a food bump as I feed her a full meal of LC, but she's the same as +5 which is 58. She is also acting starving trying to get into her treats which she rarely does. So I've just fed her another 3 tsp LC.
 
Awesome surf! :D Those 50's surfs are a little hard on the beans though. Neko once did a 53 surf for three hours in a row in the middle of the night. :rolleyes:

Kudos to DH for letting you get the sleep in. :cool:
 
Awesome surf! :D Those 50's surfs are a little hard on the beans though. Neko once did a 53 surf for three hours in a row in the middle of the night. :rolleyes:

Kudos to DH for letting you get the sleep in. :cool:
Thanks so much Wendy! Testing again in 10 mins. If she's round the same, can I just wait or do I need to feed her LC again?

Yes very grateful for the sleep in the AM, although I was up till 4am again this time with my own health issues. It's apparently Tinka and my new bedtime.
 
What would she normally get at this time of day? She's getting to the last half of her cycle where the insulin should be starting to wane. I forgot to mention that Neko sustained her 53's surf on pieces of freeze dried salmon.
 
What would she normally get at this time of day? She's getting to the last half of her cycle where the insulin should be starting to wane. I forgot to mention that Neko sustained her 53's surf on pieces of freeze dried salmon.
Ok so she's 56 at +7. She's been all over the map with her readings past few weeks. Examples of +6 and +7 on this dose are 252, 160, 112, 115, 77. She's still acting really hungry. Should I feed more or wait?
 
I forgot to mention that Neko sustained her 53's surf on pieces of freeze dried salmon.
That is a good idea! Saves serving up warmed raw food every hour. She usually gets a freeze dried duck or lamb treat as w reward for BG. I'll feed her a few extra now then. How many did you feed?
 
I just fed a couple. You do want her to still be hungry for dinner. It's OK if you want to give a small amount of LC at this point. Last thing you want is her dropping to close to PMPS. Tinka really likes those 50's!
 
I just fed a couple. You do want her to still be hungry for dinner. It's OK if you want to give a small amount of LC at this point. Last thing you want is her dropping to close to PMPS. Tinka really likes those 50's!
Thanks Wendy! I'm really so pleased we're seeing all these healing green's but yes she has her mama's full attention checking up on her so much as she's surfs the 50's! Was hoping to maybe go out for a bit but we'll see how she's doing at the next few tests, may have to stay in. If she drops at +8 in 20 mins then I'll feed her some more raw food to pick her up a bit.
 
Just got in a +8 and she's still lagoon surfing at 58. I'm gona feed her 2 tsp raw food and few LC treats to try help her curve up. If I feed more she may not eat much at dinner. Hopefully she'll pick up before PMPS so we dont have to shoot so low.
 
Just took her +9 and she's still surfing the lagoon at 59. I'm getting a little concerned she may still be really low for PMPS. If also fed her some LC on the hour. I can try some more LC now, but I just hope she'll still be hungry by PMPS. What do you all think?
 
Me personally, I would wait and see what PMPS is. If you are nervous, get a +11.5 and post for advice.
 
What a wonderful healing cycle today for Tinka!!

China used to do long surfs like that too....she'd go from 49 to 51....back and forth for hours.....Everyone kept telling her that a 70's surf was just as good as a 50's surf, but she was going to do it "Her way"!
 
What a wonderful healing cycle today for Tinka!!

China used to do long surfs like that too....she'd go from 49 to 51....back and forth for hours.....Everyone kept telling her that a 70's surf was just as good as a 50's surf, but she was going to do it "Her way"!
Thanks Chris yes she's def seeing a lot of low green's lately which is great! I'm just pretty tired from the close monitoring. I'm a bit concerned she's going to be really low at PMPS. Lowest we have shot at is 4.1. Not sure if she'll curve up that much. Trying to debate whether to feed her more or wait. I've given her a fair amount of extra food today though already so I'm concerned she wont eat much tonight and we may well see low values if we shooting low so will likey need her to eat some extra LC.
 
I wouldn't....she's in nice safe numbers and has had quite a bit of "extra" food today....I'd save the room in her stomach for tonight....it could be a long night
Sorry I just cross - posted. How low could we potentially shoot tonight then? In the 50's?
 
Experienced people shoot anything above 50. It will depend on your comfort zone, ability to monitor and supplies.
 
Experienced people shoot anything above 50. It will depend on your comfort zone, ability to monitor and supplies.
Generally since shooting low the past 2 weeks we have had to montior Tinka till +6 or +7 which is around 3am. So ideally I'd prefer not to do that, however if we don't shoot low what are our other options? Can we shoot a lower dose? Or skip a dose? I'm concerned that skipping a dose would cause her to spike high later and I'd prefer not to do that. We have plenty of supplies. I'll feel pretty confident in the 70's as we've have shot the lowest at 74, as long as I have some online support on here. The 60's and 50's would be a whole new experience but if you and others who are experienced feel its a shootable number we can go for it. We'll just have to suck it up then and not get that much sleep.
 
Nice to see that little bump. It is entirely possible to shoot a lower dose or skip. I occasionally did a temprary reduced dose for a couple of cycles so I could get some sleep. Gotta take care of you to take care of Tinka. Any chance it taking shifts with someone else for the overnight tests? I found I operated much better if I got three hours naps in.
 
Nice to see that little bump. It is entirely possible to shoot a lower dose or skip. I occasionally did a temprary reduced dose for a couple of cycles so I could get some sleep. Gotta take care of you to take care of Tinka. Any chance it taking shifts with someone else for the overnight tests? I found I operated much better if I got three hours naps in.
Thanks Wendy. I think we're both really exhausted and could really do with not having a super late night. I'll wait to see what she is in 30 mins time as that'll be her PMPS. Maybe we could shoot a reduced dose.
 
Keep in mind that if you only reduce a little bit, the depot may make the first part of the cycle like shooting the full dose. Tinka will recover, whatever you do.:bighug:
 
Keep in mind that if you only reduce a little bit, the depot may make the first part of the cycle like shooting the full dose. Tinka will recover, whatever you do.:bighug:
Thanks Wendy she is now 77 at PMPS. Glad she has come up a bit, but still a pretty low shoot. So if we shoot a redosed shot it wont take affect though on this cycle? Or is that only if its a small reduction? What sort of reduced dose shot should I do if we her to pick up a bit into higher greens or blue so we hopefully don't have to have another late night of monitoring?
 
Last edited:
You've shot lower before, but my crystal ball is foggy tonight as to what Tinka will do. A reduced dose could take effect, but not until maybe half way through the cycle. A half dose may keep her safer. But she could also bounce tonight and be safe anyway.
 
You've shot lower before, but my crystal ball is foggy tonight as to what Tinka will do. A reduced dose could take effect, but not until maybe half way through the cycle. A half dose may keep her safer. But she could also bounce tonight and be safe anyway.
Awe gosh its so hard to know what to do. How about shooting 2u now instead of 2.5? Or is 1.75 better?
 
Ok we're gona go with 2 as have been stalling for a little while now so prob need to make a decision. Hope thats ok :) Its all so new!
 
Since you are stalling, you might want to test again. I can't give you a guarantee on dose to shoot. If she's coming up a lot, you might even be able to go full dose.
 
Since you are stalling, you might want to test again. I can't give you a guarantee on dose to shoot. If she's coming up a lot, you might even be able to go full dose.
We just shot 2, but I'll get quick BG in now so we know which way she's going.
 
She's not eaten all her dinner and we gave her less than usual. I think all the extra LC food from helping her surf her AM cycle has led to her not being so hungry this eve. So I think a reduced dose was safer as she may not eat any extra food over this cyle. If she drops early we may have to use a drop honey in a tsp food as I don't think I'll be able to get her to eat more than once or max twice this eve. She just wants to sleep.
 
So at +12 / PMPS she was 77. We then fed her and waited around 45mins then shot as we were trying to decide on the reduced dose amount. A few mins after shooting we took her BG again which was 86. What would I put the 86 down as? As its not a +1 as that would be an hour after shooting which would be in 45 mins time. But its also not a PMPS as that was taken earlier and then we fed her? We usually take her PMPS then shoot within 20 mins. Thanks!
 
You could put 77@+12 in the +11 column, then put 86@12.75 in the PMPS column as it was closer to your shot time. Or stack both in the PMPS column.
 
You could put 77@+12 in the +11 column, then put 86@12.75 in the PMPS column as it was closer to your shot time. Or stack both in the PMPS column.
Thank you Wendy I did the latter. She's now 77 at +1.75 so looks like she's still surfing and not much of a food bump. I'm not sure if she'll eat much more so I'm going to give 1 tsp food and a drop of honey to help curve her up so we can get into some better values earlier on tonight as its already 10.30pm now.
 
Hi Tanya.

I see Tinka kept you busy today. Looks like she may be starting a bounce tonight. If possible, I'd get one more test, just to be sure she's really serious about heading up before you turn in. Keep in mind tomorrow that she is clearing her bounces pretty quickly.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top