02/15 Felix's dose help

Liliana Iliana

Member Since 2025
Hello
I wanted to ask you when should I start counting the 7 days of greens to start reducing dose but this morning blue numbers show up! So i am not sure if it is the case! That why i am looking for advice! Probably because of the pain 🤔 bg went a little bit over 100. I give him meloxicam and I hope it will improve.
Result from puncture on 02/05 came back and it is terrifying for us! ORAL SQUAMOUS CELL carcinoma 😭😭😭 At the moment I am trying to find another vet for a second opinion.
I was hoping at list one think, diabetes being under control, will give me a reson to be happy but I am not sure now. Looking at Felix's SS, can anyone with diabetes experience longer then mine, tell me what is the next step and when?
 
I am so sorry to hear about the oral squamous cell carcinoma diagnosis. :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Is it interfering with his eating?

I suspect the reduction from 0.75 units may have failed. The previous reductions earned could have been influenced by the larger previous dose. The larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. For example that 38 on 2/11 could have been from the 1.25 unit depot.

Here is the link to your previous post here: 02/11 Felix BG dropped again under 50! Dose help
 
I am so sorry to hear about the oral squamous cell carcinoma diagnosis. :bighug::bighug::bighug:. Is it interfering with his eating?

I suspect the reduction from 0.75 units may have failed. The previous reductions earned could have been influenced by the larger previous dose. The larger dose can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. For example that 38 on 2/11 could have been from the 1.25 unit depot.

Here is the link to your previous post here: 02/11 Felix BG dropped again under 50! Dose help
Yes, it's interfering with his eating, but not all the time. I have to go back to .75 next shot?
 
Whether you go back to 0.75 units depends on what your goals are for Felix at this point. With the recent diagnosis you may decide that fairly well regulated is a good goal and you aren't as focussed on remission. Has the vet suggested any next steps to deal with the carcinoma?
 
Vet said pain and inflammation control and antibiotics if necessary! That why I looked for another opinion. They suggest CT scan and histology. Depending on this new vet will decide what kind of citostatic to prescribe.
But I have to go far away (300 km). Plan is to go this week. As for diabetes my gol is to get him in remission if possible
 
OK, you should also consider your ability to monitor while you are travelling. His numbers now are pretty good and you could stick with this dose for a few days while you travel, then increase when back home again.
 
OK, you should also consider your ability to monitor while you are travelling. His numbers now are pretty good and you could stick with this dose for a few days while you travel, then increase when back home again.
I will think about this. I am used to test and feed Felix when travelling, in the car. 😊 But Probably for ct scan he will be sedated so maybe is good idea to stick with .5 until after procedure!
 
Back
Top