02/11 Felix BG dropped again under 50! Dose help

Advice is a little beyond me, but a bit more info might help. It says you gave him some LC food when he was at 50 today. Is that what you did yesterday, too? Do you have MC and/or HC on hand?

@Christie & Maverick @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Sienne and Gabby (GA)
I give him his normal food and 3-4 drops of syrup when he was 41. Then I test him every 20-30 min and give him just a little bit of his LC food. I considered I don't have to give him MC or HC food because his number started to rise slowly and didn't dropped anymore. Yesterday I did the same. Yesterday I caught the drop at +6 and today at +8. I have HC food.
 
I'm not sure if sticking to LC food and then repeatedly reducing his dose is the best way to handle these lows, but I also don't really have the experience to be confident with that. I hope someone who knows more is able to come along soon and provide input.
We experience drops before last 2 and I did use HC food, not much just a teaspoon and numbers went high and they stayed high. So I was thinking, since I am able to test and monitoring Felix I can try only to feed him little by little with his regular food but only if he is alert and is not keeping dropping into hypo! I also learn to shot low into green numbers hoping he will stay on green. For tonight shot I give him the reduction. Now I hope he won't bounce!
 
The likelihood is that the depot hasn't quite caught up to the dose reduction. Remember, the depot has to play catch up. You're doing great at feeding the curve to keep Felix in safe numbers.

A teaspoon of HC can be a lot depending on what HC you're using. A teaspoon of honey or corn syrup is probably way more carbs that gravy from canned food. I would typically use only a couple of drops of syrup and then re-test.
 
The likelihood is that the depot hasn't quite caught up to the dose reduction. Remember, the depot has to play catch up. You're doing great at feeding the curve to keep Felix in safe numbers.

A teaspoon of HC can be a lot depending on what HC you're using. A teaspoon of honey or corn syrup is probably way more carbs that gravy from canned food. I would typically use only a couple of drops of syrup and then re-test.
This is what I did at 41. I give few drops of syrup but I give him 1 tsp of his normal food and I test again in 20 min. Then I was keep testing every 20 min or 30. PMPS was 83. As for today reduction, it won't probably hold being so soon, but I hope. The HC I have is Whiskas with gravy sos and if I had to use it, I would have just used the gravy
 
Back
Top