02/03 Spacey PMPS=138, +3=55 increase might have been wrong

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spacey & Ella

Active Member
Link to yesterday

I have no idea how spacey is feeling today. First I had the idea that she is bit unhappy, but actually she is doing everything: eating, drinking, grooming, sleeping, walking. So maybe I'm just panicking over nothing. Hubby is also sick, so could be transference. :lol:
I did increase her dose though. She is getting up again. So she is now on 0.25.

Is it normal for a cat in this bg-range to still drink a lot? I see Chewie almost never drink. But her I do, even with the water I mix through the food.
Could it be that infection has something to do with that?

Well, the AB works two weeks. When it isn't better after that, I'm off to the vet again I suppose.
 
Re: 02/03 Spacey AMPS=120; PMPS=138 increased dose

My sugarkitty continued to drink water even with the added water to his food, and to this day he still drinks from his water-well. I think it may be possible that he just likes water. :-D Especially since he loves to let the water run down his forehead, down his nose and into his mouth.... :lol:

Keep an eye out, and if everything else is ruled out, perhaps your kitteh just likes water!

Nice bloos!
 
Re: 02/03 Spacey AMPS=120; PMPS=138 increased dose

Hi again Ella, found your condo finally. Others will know more, but somewhere when Tess was first dx I read that it is normal for cats to drink up to 2/3 cup (157.33 cc) a day. We've been measuring the water when we refresh it every morning, don't know if you can do anything like that w/ more than 1 cat. Tess seems to like having a drink after eating or a test. Habit maybe. Her thing is to dip her paw in and lick the water off that! :roll:

ed: oops, messed up the conversion, corrected
 
Re: 02/03 Spacey AMPS=120; PMPS=138 increased dose

I notice Latte drinks when she drops a lot. Something to keep track of and see if that is true for Spacey.

I hate to harp on it... ohmygod_smile , but excessive drinking can also be a sign of kidney disease... :sad: Considering the history with metacam and the timing of symptoms (including the infection), it really would not hurt to get a kidney panel done if you go back in to the vet at some point. Remember, if any damage has been done, stopping the metacam will not reverse it. Though it IS still a good idea to discontinue its use. Im glad to see you are finding alternatives and hope they are helping.

Okay...I will try and promise not to say anymore...sorry.

And yes, it could be a zillion other things as well.

Sorry hubby is not feeling well. Hope you dont catch it! Glad to hear Spacey is eating. Thats so important and probably a big weight off your shoulder.
 
Re: 02/03 Spacey AMPS=120; PMPS=138 increased dose

Thanks Carolyn for your response.
I'm very aware that kidney disease could be an issue. I lost her brother to crf. Maybe it's in the family? :sad:

I absolutely will keep it in mind! Promise.
 
A couple of observations...

Even if it is just by a drop of insulin, you are making frequent changes to Spacey's dose. A dose is maintained for at least 6 cycles and with numbers in the greens, an increase would generally not be advised. Please review the dosing protocol at the top of the Board.
 
So I don't increase even if her numbers get blue again??
Pff.. I'll never remember this.
I wanted to stay on 0.25 now for a couple of cycles, but I guess that's of the menu??
 
Well, yeah, of course. I thought I'm still in phase 2. Seems I'm in phase 3. That means I only increase again when >200. Yes?
Okay... tomorrow again back to 0.1 and holding till ... ever or over 200.
 
I know the time difference can be challenging since most of us are across the ocean. If you have questions with dose (we ALL have questions about dose), if you post that you want advice or have a question, the very experienced beans here will lend a hand. The dosing protocol can be confusing and often it takes several experienced sets of eyes to see trends and sort out how to maximize the protocol for your kitty.
 
I agree with Sienne.
I would stick to the 0.1 for now because you are getting bloos and greens.
Nice day for Spacey!
 
keep testing tonight and we'll know whether the 0.25 is definitely too much or not. So far it looks ok. What did you feed to bring him up from 55 to 75?

Low 100's are ok, remember we're looking at nadirs. I have a feeling that if you had gotten some more spot checks in the middle of the cycles, you would have seen a lot more green and might not have been tempted to increase the dose. Always grab a nadir test or two before increasing the dose because you don't want to accidentally go too low.
 
Thanks all of you for your advice.
If in the future I'm tempted I'll ask first!

I also forgot about the nadirs. :sad:
Think I'm getting negligent.... :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top